We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Japanese-Brazilian experience in Lagoa”
Review of Restaurante Ki

Restaurante Ki
Ranked #223 of 13,659 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern Japanese restaurant, with traditional roots Restaurant Ki, specialized in Japanese cuisine, offers a remarkable gastronomic proposal in Rio de Janeiro. Experienced Chef Omura is behind the sushi bar and responsible for the menu that offers a variety of traditional and distinct oriental dishes based on beef; fish; seafood; vegetarian; exotic delicacies as well as contemporary recipes enjoyed either at the bar or at a table. With fresh and seasonal ingredients Ki wants to indulge clients seeking an exquisite gastronomic experience, with elaborate freshly made recipes. Improvisation is one of the most remarkable traits of Japanese cuisine and this is characteristic of Omura. At Ki you will be able to experience a fusion of tradition and modern variants, in a revitalized menu, never neglecting the essence of Nipponese cuisine. Ki serves the dishes on lovely exclusive handmade ceramics. Do look at the sake list with premium labels. Some are artisanal, with a wide range of types of rice, different polishing ratios and some award winning labels. Ki is located on charming Fonte da Saudade Street with its gorgeous trees and parallel to the Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. For 4 years, the comfortable 2 floor corner house allows clients to choose a table on one of the three balconies or one of the 5 tatami tables, 2 of them private and can sit 90 people. Ki has been shortlisted twice by the Comer & Beber guide of Veja Rio Magazine and in 2013 and 2014 received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Japanese-Brazilian experience in Lagoa”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, drinks and a friendly atmosphere. In a good location and reasonably priced. We went with one of our friends who wasn't a big sushi fan. They also have other Japanese dishes that were delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
KLinnet, We are glad that you enjoed Ki and that your friend who does not enjoy sushi was able to enjoy the meal. At Ki we have an extensive menu in order to cater to all our clients. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    71
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great service and great food. Nice ambiance, too. The last time I was there I had a mix of different apetizers. It was so good I decided to order more apetizers as a main dish! The cocktails are wonderful. Next time I'm in Rio, I want to go there again and order the combinado specially created by the chef, which is always a surprise. It is certain to have a good time and a lovely meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Ana Hello! We are ery happy that you enjoyed out appetisers and our drinks. We hope to see you bak at Ki soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We had the Combinado 2 with 48 peaces of different sushi and fish for two persons. I must say every peace vas a pleasure. Everything was fresh and of very good quality.

Helpful?
Thank andrijaf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am glad you liked your combinado. At Ki we receive new fish everyday and that is what is used for our combinados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Janpanese”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a very nice dinner at Restaurante Ki. We had a huge plate of warm, salty edamame, a large sushi platter, some harumaki and dessert. The saki cucumber martinis and saki caipirinha were delicious. It's located in the very lovely Lagoa neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Eileen thank you very much for your review. At Ki we strive to make our customers happy. As requested by many of our clients we will have a menu in English shortly so on your next visit you should already have it available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
“The Best!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great food, service and environment. The best Japanese in Rio for sure. I recommend to everyone. They also have delivery if are not in the mood to go out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We deliver to all addresses in "Zona Sul".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ki also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing