We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Food”
Review of Restaurante Ki

Restaurante Ki
Ranked #242 of 13,709 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Japanese restaurant, with traditional roots Restaurant Ki, specialized in Japanese cuisine, offers a remarkable gastronomic proposal in Rio de Janeiro. Experienced Chef Omura is behind the sushi bar and responsible for the menu that offers a variety of traditional and distinct oriental dishes based on beef; fish; seafood; vegetarian; exotic delicacies as well as contemporary recipes enjoyed either at the bar or at a table. With fresh and seasonal ingredients Ki wants to indulge clients seeking an exquisite gastronomic experience, with elaborate freshly made recipes. Improvisation is one of the most remarkable traits of Japanese cuisine and this is characteristic of Omura. At Ki you will be able to experience a fusion of tradition and modern variants, in a revitalized menu, never neglecting the essence of Nipponese cuisine. Ki serves the dishes on lovely exclusive handmade ceramics. Do look at the sake list with premium labels. Some are artisanal, with a wide range of types of rice, different polishing ratios and some award winning labels. Ki is located on charming Fonte da Saudade Street with its gorgeous trees and parallel to the Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. For 4 years, the comfortable 2 floor corner house allows clients to choose a table on one of the three balconies or one of the 5 tatami tables, 2 of them private and can sit 90 people. Ki has been shortlisted twice by the Comer & Beber guide of Veja Rio Magazine and in 2013 and 2014 received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Japanese Food”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great Japanese food, variety of choices, wonderful hot dishes, cozy environment with reserved rooms.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We strive to give our customers the best service and are glad you were happy. Our food products are fresh and delivered daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    71
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Great japanese restaurant.”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Excelent ambiance and great food. One of the best japanese restaurants in Rio!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ftardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to be considered one of the best japanese restaurants in Rio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ki is the best Japanese restaurant I ever been. There are big variety on the menu, including delicious hot options. The service is excellent and the environment is perfect!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise_Vaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
thank you for your review. Brazilians love the hot rolls and thus we have a large selection on our menu. We are glad that the service was good and our staff are constantly trained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ
1 review
“Ki is simply amazing”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Ki is by far the best Japanese restaurant in Rio and that said by a "carioca da gema" (person raised in Rio). The atmosphere is cozy and private. The food is delicious and also prepared to be easy, very easy on the eyes. The sake menu is also superb, you will find pretty much anything you'd find in Japan. Location is also very nice, close to the famous landscape "Lagoa" (a big Lagoon close to the best neighborhoods in Rio).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertabarroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. At Ki we have one of the biggest sake menus in Rio and offer some sake tasting options for those who do not know much about sake or for those who do but want to taste different ones at a lower cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great upscale Japanese dining in Lagoa”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went with a friend who wanted to venture out of Ipanema for dinner. I was unsure there would be good Japanese food in Rio, but this place was great and well worth the taxi ride. It's on R. Fonte da Saudade, a side street in a nice neighborhood off of Av. Epitacio Pessoa. There was only a 1-minute wait for a table, then up the stairs to an upscale, 2nd floor dining area, with wide windows looking out over the neighborhood. I particularly liked the subdued atmosphere -- not loud, very relaxing. About the food: we had the shiitake gyoza for appetizer, and this I still remember this as possibly the best I've ever had anywhere. I had the yakissoba for the main dish, which was incredibly scrumptious, and I finished the meal with a fried ice cream - yum. When we were leaving, the doorman escorted us across the Epitacio Pessoa and even hailed a southward-bound cab for us -- that's what I call service!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CKuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
At Ki we strive to serve and are very please the doorman helped you to get a cab. Our food is prepared with fresh products delivered daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ki also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing