We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chilled, kind and considerate host”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #20 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with Guido recently. The guesthouse is a beautiful colonial house which is set high on a hill with an amazing view of the Sugarloaf. It felt like a haven of calm. Decent restaurants were a 10 minute stroll away. Breakfasts were delicious. The room was spotless, although the rather old plumbing meant the shower was a bit weak. The main attraction was Guido himself - a really kind, considerate and helpful host who went out of his way to help us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Guesthouse Bianca in Oct 2013 and we would recommend it to everyone that wants a comfortable, clean and happy stay in a delightful guesthouse. Along with Guido the host, there are 2 dogs and a lovely cat. The house is tranquil, secure and has character - it's way more fun than a standard hotel.

Santa Teresa is quite a bohemian neighbourhood - a stone's throw and one seriously steep hill away from the Selaron Staircase, Lapa and several bars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Above the city, a stroll up cobble streets from Gloria metro station, you find Bianca's Guesthouse. Guido, it's host, will welcome you warmly in a colonial setting amidst marble floors and antique furniture surrounded by a picturesque garden. Enjoy the mornings with a sumptuous breakfast and let the day end with a glass of wine on the veranda of the house. Guido will answer every question that you might have and will try to make your stay the most comfortable. Enjoy Brazilian cuisine close to the guest house in Santa Teresa. Don't miss the tiled stairs when wandering down to Centro exploring the busy city center with its remnants of the city's past.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the sugar loaf room with its deck overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldcitizenPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A room with a beautiful view, a hammock, peace and quiet and a great breakfast is what made Bianca a place I would recommend above any other hotel in Rio.
Guido has a calmness about him that puts one right at ease and Santa Teresa is a suburb I could easily move to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MejMoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited Guesthouse Bianca as part of our honeymoon trip to Brazil over 3 weeks. We loved staying here and did so on two separate occasions during the three weeks. The house is amazing and Guido is brilliant, relaxed and helpful. We felt we were at home staying with a friend and I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here!

A must stay in Rio. The area is great lots of bars restaurants and beautiful views. We never once fell under any sort of threat. One big plus were the other guests, very nice chats at breakfast! PS breakfast is excellant!

I will be recommending a stay here to people for a very long time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Rio was my first stop on a 3 month round the world trip and I could not have asked for a better place to start at than Guesthouse Bianca. I spent 5 nights here and Guido could not have been more welcoming or accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The highlight for me was the great breakfast sitting out on the verandah of this grand property. The room was comfortable and spacious with a lovely view to Sugarloaf Mountain and was quickly made up each day.
Guido proved to be an interesting and relaxed host whose knowledge of Rio made my stay much more enjoyable. He runs a great business and I will happily spread the word.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard0557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Over the last three years, I've been to Rio for family reasons and I've tried a few guesthouses and bed and breakfasts in Santa Teresa. This last trip, I had the best experience yet. I stayed at Guesthouse Bianca and my visit here was excellent for various reasons. If you're looking for a true Brazilian sojourn, this is it. Guesthouse Bianca is owned and operated by a Brazilian man, the wonderful Guido, who knows the history of Santa Teresa as well as the history of the exquisite house I had the privilege of staying in. Guido is very accomodating and helpful. I look forward to my next stay at Guesthouse Bianca. No reason to look any further!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Santa
Casa da Santa
#30 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
58 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Casa Mosquito
Casa Mosquito
#31 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
310 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
822 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $68 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Bianca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden. The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio. Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf. The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks. Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life. He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing