We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in a quiet street of Santa Teresa ....”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #21 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

....is the beautiful and elegant guesthouse Bianca. It is well maintained colonial villa with a charming garden in the quiet, artsy and historic neighborhood of Santa Teresa, which is far away from the bustling commercial tourist zones of Copacabana and Ipanema. This neighborhood is not for everyone as its a bit gritty, as is most of Rio, but really unique and interesting. The host, Guido, is very friendly, absolutely likeable (as are his 2 dogs and cats) and very approachable for any guidance on exploring Rio and its neighborhoods. At the time we visited, the stained glassed, 1930s villa with a beautiful Moorish style terrace and Portuguese style tiles was being loving restored and renovated by Guido. There are only 3 guest suites all comfortable and individually designed. Our beautiful room (Corcovado room) was spotless with incredible views of Sugar loaf, Guanabara Bay and Corcovado. We had a private bathroom, which was in the hallway.

Santa Teresa is just a short cab ride to most everything in downtown Rio or you can hike down the windy roads for about 20 minutes to reach Gloria, Lapa or Centro. The Gloria metro down the hill will take you into Copacabana and all the other spots you would want to see and the bohemian streets of Santa Teresa filled with cafes, bars and restaurants are within a 10 minute walk from the guesthouse. We walked everywhere and felt absolutely safe in this neighborhood even when walking back after dinner late in the night.

Staying at Guesthouse Bianca was like staying with family and friends. We will definitely stay here when we visit Rio again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My friend and I were really lucky to get a night at Guesthouse Bianca because they normally do 2 nights minimum and we had gotten our itinerary wrong when we first booked, but Guido was very accommodating and accepted us nonetheless. And what a joy it was! Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer. We had such fun taking photos around the house, pretending that we live in that beautiful mansion. Guido was away during that time, but his friend, Alessandro who was helping out, was extremely helpful in arranging airport transfer and making sure that we were comfortable.

Breakfast was a lovely spread in a beautiful environment in the dining room (or in the verandah if you prefer) - everything was freshly baked and delicious.

Santa Teresa is far from Copacabana and the other shopping areas but taxi is readily available and the area is charming.

Also look out for the friendly cat and dogs - love them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in the Sugar Loaf room in July 2013 for 2 nights. As indicated by other reviewers Guido was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast on the patio was excellent. The room was comfortable and has great views from the balcony.
Minor niggles - only cold water in the hand wash basin (cold shave) and as often in Brazil no plug so take your universal sink plug. With the window open some noise from nearby apartments, so not quite as quiet as we had anticipated from other reviews. Also our guide warned us that it was not safe to walk back from restaurants in the neighbourhood in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoSantAnna, Owner at Guesthouse Bianca, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We are always grateful to get feedback from guests, as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our service and help guest to feel more comfortable. We just purchased fogless mirrors for each of the showers in the guest house; this way guests can shave with hot water in the shower. In addition to having hair dryers available in each room, we also recently purchased magnifying mirrors for each bathroom.

While we provide electrical adaptors for electronics from the United States, it is difficult for us to provide adaptors for every country from around the world. Nonetheless, we are happy to assist you in making any of your electronics work in Brasil.

Care should be taken when walking in all parts of Rio, as in any large international city. Whether it is Ipanema or Copacabana or Santa Teresa, it is always wise to assess the local environment before heading out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Guido's hospitality was great. We enjoyed our 4 days stay in this very well attended, thoroughly furnished (fantasy architecture) villa near the top of a hill in Santa Teresa a lot.
Super breakfast (on the veranda facing a beautiful little garden - planted and maintained with "savoir). Spacious rooms and a very calm atmosphere in the house!

On our next trip to Rio, we will stay there again !

Werner + Irmi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wernerlorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I deeply recommend these bed and breakfast! Guido - the owner - has a lot of experience and gives you a lot of information if you like. The surrounding of the Guesthouse is awesome - a lovely place to calm down and to relaxe. The location of Santa Theresa it is like Montmartre Paris - a little bit boheme with artists shops and nice restaurants in the evening..
You will definitely enjoy the breakfast outdoor of the guesthouse - a great start into the day to discover Rio!!!! Quite delicious!!!!!
Agaton

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aganac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent our last night in Rio at Guesthouse Bianca. We would have loved to stay longer but unfortunately our schedule didn't permit it.
It is a beautiful, well maintained villa with a charming garden in the quiet, arty neighbourhood of Santa Teresa. We stayed in the Sugarloaf suite which has magnificent views to Sugarloaf and Guanabara Bay. The bathroom is big and airy and decorated with blue tiles. The balcony has seating for 2 and a hammock. There is a separate entrance for guests with a little kitchen which we used to make coffee. Free Wifi is available.
We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast which was served in the patio and consisted of fresh fruit, juice and freshly baked croissants and pao de queijo.
Guido was away while we were there but Alessandro and Paulo made us feel very welcome. They gave us good tips on restaurants and clubs. Our flight back was in the evening and we were allowed to stay in the room even after checkout time as it was not booked for the following day. If our room had not been free, they would have allowed us to use another bathroom to get refreshed after the day's sightseeing. Excellent service!!!
Staying at Guesthouse Bianca is like staying with friends rather than a hotel. We will definitely stay here for the entire stay if we visit Rio again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca twice for 4 nights at the beginning and the end of our 30 days trip to Brazil.
If you are planning to stay in Santa Teresa, this colonial-style villa is the perfect place to be. Very comfortable and stylish. A small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers are around the house. There are nearly no car traffic on the streets. Just perfect to really enjoy and relax. To get to the center you need to walk down some 15 minutes (or take a taxi) to the metro station in Gloria. The evenings we enjoyed walking some 20 minutes down to enjoy the bohemian scene of Lapa, or to Centro (bars, music-clubs).
Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace surrounded by a small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers. Breakfast includes a lot of fruits and fresh juice.
The rooms are spacious and kept perfectly clean. The rate (including bottled water, access to the internet) was excellent value for Rio (February 2013).
Guido is a charming and very helpful host. We profited a lot of his advises about where to go and what to see. This is the place we liked most in Brazil. We recommend it highly. Edward,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#4 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Bianca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden. The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio. Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf. The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks. Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life. He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing