We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #16 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca for five nights and we had an amazing time. The house is beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms and both were huge, cozy, clean and tastefully decorated. One even had a balcony overlooking the bay.

Guesthouse Bianca is in the heart of Santa Teresa, which is a great neighborhood. Also, Guido (the homeowner) is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacristinaaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
130
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We 100% loved staying at guesthouse Bianca. We are a couple from Australia and stayed in January 2012. Really glamorous house and as soon as you walk in you really get an idea of the grandeur of the times past through the fact that is still preserved in the parquetry flooring and tiling inside the wonderful 1930s house. The guest rooms have been so tastefully furnished to fit in with the styling of the house. Nice antiques and subdued colours plus a tasteful renovation of the bathrooms makes you feel like you are staying in a very upmarket boutique hotel. Guido obviously has good taste. We wanted the best room but it was already taken so we got given the green room and it had a lovely view of sugarloaf mountain. I distinctly remember waking up and putting on our white dressing gowns, opening up the gorgeous shutters looking out onto sugarloaf and thinking "isn't this fantastic, how surreal".

The only thing we did not like was the fact the bathroom to our room was not an ensuite. It meant when I needed the toilet in the middle of the night I had to creep down the hallway in my dressing gown and hope that no one saw me. Also the stone makes everything echo so you have to creep about like a mouse. Whilst we had the view I think it would have been better with the largest room with giant tiled ensuite. I suppose you can't have everything!

We were told we'd get breakfast vouchers but we never did. These were never brought up by Guido but we woke up late anyway and just went and had Feijoida so we didn't really care...
There is a great sandwich shop up the road with a terrace. And you must try the famous Feijoida restaurant its amazing and I miss it.

Overall, great spot its worth the money you pay because it is tastefully furnished and feels very luxurious. Guido is nice too. Slightly aloof and strange but very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

great guesthouse to stay in st theresa. a beautiful renovated house with clean and nice rooms (sugar loaf room has a fantastic view on sugar loaf mountain). the neighborhood has nice restaurants and bars to drink/eat all walking distance from guesthouse. guido gave us a lot of useful tips and i would recommend this place to everyone you wants to stay somewhere more peaceful than ipanema or copacobana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justinehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Guesthouse Bianca is perfectly situated for anyone who prefer to stay in a safe and peaceful location with plenty of character, but wouldn't want to miss Rio's daily bustle and lively nightlife. The building looks stunning (even more so than in the photos), with rather authentic 1930s atmosphere and much attention given to every little detail throughout the house.

Not less importantly - Guido, the owner, is the most welcoming and friendly host one could ever wish for, providing all guests with valuable information, stories, hints and tips.

Our small group of 4 stayed in two of the rooms for 4 nights. Sugar Loaf room is the fancier one, with ensuite bathroom on a separate floor level and a roomy balcony. Corcovado's bathroom is out of the room, but it is still private and these few extra steps did not cause any trouble at all. Both rooms have a splendid view on the Sugar Loaf mountain, are cleaned daily (even though we did not request it) and have A/C (although we did not need one). The breakfast is served in two small nearby cafes, which provide a simple but tasty kickstart for a busy day in Rio.

Bianca is a healthy walk away from the Gloria metro and bus station, which conveniently connects you with all the key attractions, and has a lovely street market on Sundays. Right downhill along the cobbled street there is Lapa, famous for its must-see Friday night festivals and the colourful stairs of Escadaria Selaron. We were a bit hesitant at first to stroll these streets at night, but despite the thousands of people partying in Lapa, the street was quiet and felt safe. In a walk's distance to other direction, there are the cosy bars, pubs and restaurants of St Teresa. We spent several nights at Mike's Place, a small bar which had live jazz band playing on Thursday.

If you are not that much into uphill walking, you might find it a bit tough to move around along the hilly and cobbled streets of St Teresa. As an alternative, you may use taxi - we did so for several times and it did not have any problem with finding the place.

It has now been 2 months since we returned from Rio and Bianca, and I'm still/already aching to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mleiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'll admit to feeling overwhelmed taking the taxi in Rio from the airport to Guesthouse Bianca. It looked like a city of chaos. After making our way up to Santa Teresa and meeting Guido and his two big friendly dogs, my anxiety calmed. Our accommodations were clean and spacious (with unbelievable bathrooms!!) and a lovely view of the city. Guido provided lots of information on finding our way around town and how to manage the city transportation system. I'd definitely recommend doing breakfast at the local corner store rather than the park - same menu but the fresh squeezed juice is incomparable. The only drawback is that it's a bit removed from the nightlife of Rio. Although Santa Teresa provided numerous shops and cafes, we didn't get to enjoy as much of the music scene as we had hoped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64Jenn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed on a holiday and would recommend it to anyone heading to RIo. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated with a lovely garden and fantastic views of the city. Guido was so friendly and made us feel so welcome. He really went out of his way to help make our trip as simple as possible, helping us book coach tickets to Parati and even bringing our cases in a taxi to us so we could still get a breakfast on our last day. The guesthouse is ten minutes walk from the centre of Santa Teresa which is a great place to head. Also only a short walk down hill to Lapa with its fun times. Getting the bus up the hill is a fun experience in itself but hold on tight. Amazing city, fantastic guesthouse, brilliant host and a fabulous area. Get booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived after a terrible ordeal with our flights to Brazil, to the Guesthouse Bianca . We were warmly greeted at the gate by a smiling Guido. We walked through the gates and we found ourselves facing a beautiful mansion surrounded by lust gardens.

He had earlier emailed us with specific directions on how to get to his place. The taxi driver had no problems getting us to this destination.

We were put in the Sugar Loaf Room and enjoyed the very nice views from our own patio .

Guido encouraged us to use the house as if it was ours. Wow, the rooms in the house were immaculate and decorated with the 30's and 40's flavour.

Guido was always available to answer our many questions and he gave us many suggestions.

This Guesthouse worked very well for us as we could easily visit the many sites e.g. Christ The Redeemer, the beaches, Sugar Loaf Mtn., and walk to near-by restaurants.

We used buses, taxis, the subway and our feet to get around. It was easy to walk down the hill but you really needed a taxi or the local white van taxi, to get back up as the kilometre long road is twisty, steep and the cobblestones are uneven and broken.

We really enjoyed our five days here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Property: Guesthouse Bianca
Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden.  The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio.  Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf.  The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks.  Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life.  He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing