We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, lovely views.”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #22 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely views.”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked last minute, arrived late evening and were shown to a room overlooking Sugarloaf Mountain and Corcovada. We couldn't believe our luck! The house is beautifully decorated, the gardens well kept and lush, and Guido is very friendly and helpful. One feels more like a friend than a guest in a B&B.

Imagine our disappointment the following morning when Guido realised he had overbooked for the next night. He kindly took us to breakfast, apologised profusely for his mistake and helped us to find alternative accommodation.

If we return to Rio we would definitely return to Guesthouse Bianca, ensuring next time that we book well in advance!

Santa Teresa is a lovely area. Very arty, full of interesting shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Sanata Teresa is a village inside a city. It's like being in a European cobblestoned haven of quiet and this majestic house looks don on the noise below.

When we arrived a TV show crew had taken over the house filming the final episode of Louco por Elas and the white house had been painted a pinkish colour. That, together with giant dogs lolling around and a pair of parrots in the palm tree outside gave it quite a Durrell-ian feel.

The decor in the house is Wallpaper magazine standard. Features include a stunner of a chandelier which some annex of Versaille is probably missing, white marble and many pretty stain glass windows. The parquet flooring was especially lovely.

The room was large, comfortable and the bathroom was tasteful with little touches like a jar of cotton wool. Breakfast is either help yourself to fruit and coffee of take a voucher for the cafe round the corner for a cheese roll, juice and coffee.

The village itself is high up above the Gloria area of Rio. There is not enough to distract in Santa Teresa for more than a day so be prepared to walk up and down hills or a never ending staircase or take taxis and occasional trams.

This is a different perspective on Rio life and one not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca for 5 days. we loved the experience to stay in Santa Teresa! We felt pretty safe, was our concern before arrive but for our surprise, I felt safe not only in Santa Teresa but in Rio as well. Could not be a better decision to stay at Guesthouse Bianca. The house is amazing, beauuuuutiful, the rooms is well decorated, our bedroom were big and very comfortable, the bathroom were brand new. we stayed at the mango tree room. They cleaned our room every day. We really felt at home. Guido is a very nice guy and very helpful. We loved to stay there and definitely we will come back again. Thank you Guido for having us at your place. Luciana & Gino :)

Room Tip: I loved our room, mango tree room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lululovera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Guesthouse Bianca is a beautiful old house in a charming neighborhood at the top of Santa Teresa, on a leafy street with a park, museum and gardens nearby. The host and owner, Guido, made us feel as though we were his personal guests. He was willing to spend time with us answering questions, chatting over coffee in the morning, and helping with anything we needed help with. The place is at the top of a hill off a winding cobblestone road and seems, when you first arrive, off the beaten track, but there's bus and metro service at the bottom of the hill and a wonderful little cluster of bars and restaurants just a couple of blocks from the guesthouse. Our stay at Guesthouse Bianca was our last stop on our trip to Brazil and the place itself was the highlight of our time in Rio. The beautiful views, the lovely garden and peaceful surroundings are some of our best memories of our trip.

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms and I think only two of them have good views. I'd check into this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yawabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

"Bianca" guesthouse is one of the most beautiful places i have ever stayed in.
my husband and i have stayed there for 3 nights, and we wish we could have stayed longer.
we loved the tastefully decorated house and rooms, and the relaxed vibe just from staying there. The air conditioned room was spacious, with a small balcony, excellent bed and sheets, a hammock and the best view and sun light you can get in a room. our private bathroom, even thou just outside the room, was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast served in the guest house is fruits and coffee plus we got a breakfast coupon for a sandwich squeezed orange juice and coffee in the best place in Santa Teresa, 30 seconds walk from the guest house. the breakfast place is also full with character, good food and great view and we enjoyed it very much.
Guido, the host, had both patient and good answers to our question, he made us feel very welcome, and hes also a very funny guy and he is a joy to talk to.
we loved Santa Theresa neighborhood , it was a very good location to us, close to Lapa, and it was easy getting anywhere we wanted to in Rio.
We would definitely return to "bianca" when we will return to Rio.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful house and we loved Santa Teresa, the pefect choice for our needs. Our room was simple and not full of the mod con's but was comfortable and clean, and we would definitely stay here again if visiting Rio!

Guido is very welcoming and accomodating, and was very helpful and even allowed us to wait in the house after check-in, as we had a late flight booked home.

Two things to be aware of that I wasnt unaware of there were 2 large dogs in the house and my partner was a little scared but once the dogs know who you are they are fine and secondly I didnt know that breakfast was provided off site (at a nearby cafe) and on the first morning, we had no idea and not wanting to be rude after 30mins off talking to Guido he then took us for breakfast, on another occasion Guido was out and hadn't left us vouchers for breakfast.

But they are just minor hicups which wouldnt stop me from choosing to stay here, its like a home from home - I felt like a resident and I sure a very different experience to staying near the touristy beaches and not something we wanted to be in the middle of.

The Feijoada and capirinhas at Bar do Mineiro were to die for (we went 3 out of our 5 nights! and still talk about it now)! also a very nice coffee shop a few doors up, you need to go up set of stairs and outside seating they do the best sandwiches and coffee we had in Brazil.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma_lblpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse for 5 days over New Year's. Guido was a very accomodating host. We made all arrangements over the internet and he was quick to reply to all questions. He arranged for pick up at the airport. When we realized we did not have metro tickets to go down to the Beach for new year's eve (there were sold out) he quickly phoned around and found a pair from a neighbour. We stayed in the sugar loaf room and found the balcony and ensuite bathroom very comfortable. The Santa Teresa area was peaceful and the house is beautiful; if you like staying in character places this is for you. We found the metro easy to use. We would return here if we ever come again to Rio.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squashfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#130 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
58 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
208 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
110 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#7 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
263 reviews
Copacabana
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
#62 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Property: Guesthouse Bianca
Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden. The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio. Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf. The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks. Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life. He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing