We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #21 of 341 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 26, 2011

great location in Santa Teresa a bohemian and cultural neighborThis beautiful home right as "bed & breakfast" is located in bohemian Santa Teresa neighborhood full of culture, the other side of Rio de Janeiro.
Guido, the owner is charming and helpful for tips in the city and ways to mobilize.
"Guethouse Bianca" is a tasteful addition to clean and comfortable to travel alone or with family and the best was having breakfast typical neighborhood store, a delicious breakfast with flair!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocioPozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

Staying at Guesthouse Bianca with Guerdo as your host will be your best decision in Rio. The location is ideal.... the neighbourhood interesting... the rooms are superb and the guesthouse just lovely. Nice views too and thats a winner in Rio.

I felt like I was leaving friends after my 4 night stay. Going to have breakfast in a local cafe was fun and I got to talk with some great locals.

Guerdo helped make things easy, I wasnt sure about being in RIo on my own at first but soon got into the swing ! The local restaurants are great and you're really close to the famous tram in Santa Theresa. Lapa is close by for great music experiences...

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view.. its superb to wake up to the sight of Sugar Mountain every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethstrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I hesitate to submit this glowing review because I want to keep this gem in Rio a secret!

Guesthouse Bianca is by far the best place I've stayed in Rio. First of all, love Santa Teresa -- a real neighborhood where people seem to all know each other, and removed from the rest of the bustling city of Rio. Gritty, as is most of Rio, but really unique and interesting. And Guido (the owner) made us feel so at home, that I almost believed I was a Santa Teresa local myself.

The Guesthouse is gorgeous, impeccably decorated and maintained. Our room (Mango Tree) was spacious, stylish, super clean, and very relaxing. Just as pictured. They accommodated our request for two small beds instead of one king, which was perfect. I loved having access to the kitchenette downstairs. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights, but I could see staying much longer, especially with the option to do a little simple cooking and store food there.

Guido is a fantastic host and my new favorite friend in Rio. He helped us navigate around the neighborhood and city, which by the way, is quite easy from Guesthouse Bianca. Just a few steps to the bonde (cable car) and bus. Or a 15 minute walk downhill to the subway. I'd estimate about 30 minutes by public transit to Copa/Ipanema.

I can't wait to get back here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 5 wonderful nights at the Guesthouse Bianca. Located in a beautifully restored house, it feels more like staying with friends than in a hotel. This is in large part due to Guido who is a wonderful, accommodating - host - nothing is too much trouble - as well as his three dogs who are equally welcoming! Its location in Santa Teresa is ideal - a lovely neighborhood with great bars and restaurants close to the center with easy access to most of the sights (the beaches are further but still easily accessible by metro which is a 10 minute walk away). We are already planning our return trip to Rio and will definitely spend it at Guesthouse Bianca!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were lucky to stay here in the final days of our trip.

Guido is a gracious, generous host and his house is an elegant grand dame. You feel as though you are stepping back in time in this old mansion, with its stunning views and romantic garden.

This neighbourhood is historically important to Rio and not to be missed. The area has a genuine artistic feel, with great shops and excellent restaurants. It is still considered 'edgy' by some but this is precisely why it's an ideal time to visit - before the throngs descend!

In the mornings from our room, we saw monkeys in the trees across the street. The voucher for breakfast is a nice option and a welcome departure from the sometimes tired fare provided at other guesthouses. It was a pleasure to sit amongst the locals as they walked their dogs and chatted about the news of the day.

Thanks again Guido - and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

When my girlfriend and i were searching for a place to stay we came accross guesthouse bianca but were slightly doubtful of the sincerity of some of the comments as they were all so good and not a bad word had been said.

We went ahead anyway and now can't beleive we doubted there eligibility.

Guido the owner is one of the nicest people you will ever meet and his house goes hand in hand with his personality.

The house is amazing. Guido lives in another part of the house to the guests but is always on hand to help out with anything you need.

A good breakfast is provided and your only a 20 minutes taxi ride away from the furthest tourist venue (£10).

Tours will pick you up from guesthouse bianca anyway.

Visiting the favela is a must do when you are there and is really safe. I did have my doubts before experiencing it but it is really worth it.

As i have already said i was unable to fault my stay there and it was made all the better by the hospitality of Guido and his house. It was the best way to end five months of travelling the world, Rio is by far one of the most interesting places in the world.

I have already reserved a room for 2014 when the world cup arrives in Brazil!!

Room Tip: All three rooms are good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimeSmith_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A mix of culture, entertainment, beauty, nostalgia, bohemia and peace, so much peace.

The house is beaultiful, like you can see in the pictures. The room is perfect, clean e realy quiet. You wiil have nice dreams every night.

Guido is" the man". Always available and at the same time, always invisible. Appears only when prompted. In my case, there have been many times and he was always extremely helpful, not to mention that he is well versed in the history of Santa Teresa and the places you really should meet in Rio.

Santa Teresa is definitely the best place to stay in Rio
It has been quite dangerous in the past and today you can walk day or night through the hills of the neighborhood without any risk to you and your family.

The only risk in these tours is to meet people from around the world holding hands with their boyfriends, wives, children, etc..

The cuisine in the neighborhood is one of the best in Rio, with several options within a few minutes walk or by "cable car".

Start the day tasting the breakfast, which can be served in the guest house (if you enjoy fruit, cereal and yogurt) or at the corner bar (Guido will give you a voucher) for a delicious sandwich of cheese, orange juice and coffee with milk. You can exchange for other options. The place is quite simple, but typically in Rio, where people meet in the morning to discuss the soccer play last night, buy the newspaper or just spend time sitting on the sidewalk.

We are Brazilians (a rare thing in this guest house) and we had the pleasure of meeting Ludovic, a Frenchman who was alone on vacation in Brazil and accompanied us on several tours around the city. I spoke no French and he spoke no Portuguese, but we both spoke English and was enough to give a good laugh.

We spent five days really wonderful and one of the most beautiful moments was the time to say goodbye, when my 9 year old son hugged to Guido and started crying saying he did not want to leave.

Just great moments and good memories. We will return often certainly.

Alexander, Jana and Peter

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexandreSottoMaior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
807 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
412 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#9 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $67 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Bianca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden. The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio. Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf. The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks. Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life. He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing