We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ABSOLUTELY UNIQUE EXPERIENCE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Favela Cantagalo
Ranked #59 of 334 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTELY UNIQUE EXPERIENCE!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Anyone up for an amazing new experience need look no further. Great staff - you will love Ligia (the owner) and Fabiane, two people I will remember for a long time. Spotless no-frills accommodation (I stayed in the annexe). A superb breakfast, with homemade food (eggs, linguiça sausage, quiche, cakes) with a view of Rio from the terrace to die for - absolutely jaw-dropping. 5 minutes on foot from Copacabana, 8 minutes from Ipanema. Day and night, I found the favela to be as safe as any other part of Rio, in fact considerably less threatening in my view than Centro after dark. With basic Portuguese, you will have no trouble striking conversations and making friends with the locals. There is a barzinho near the pousada (I think Bar Virada) that is OK, serves decent food, and has Samba Pagode on a Friday night, but you might try Bar Ary down the street as a better bet to meet folks. If you ascend the favela on a Saturday night, you are bound to find a party, but take care not to get lost in the maze of alleyways. A useful bike hire is down the hill, also on the beach at Ipanema on Sundays. It is true that there is a climb to the pousada from Ipanema, but it shouldn't present too much of a problem to anyone in reasonable shape - I'm 63 and it wasn't excessive for me. Overall, a great experience that you won't easily forget. Very good value for money as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelWalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
27
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Yes, you will be living in a favela. But once you get there you'll soon realise that you're in the nice part. The part where there are little kids out playing with their kites and laughing all day. Don't stress too much about the safety aspect, it was lovely, if a little dirty/smelly on the streets.

One word of warning though, you will have to HIKE to your room every day! Even if you're lucky like us and our on the ground floor, it's at least a 50 stair flight to get to the hostel from the road, and three flights to get to breakfast in the mornings. Totally worth it for the views though.

The favela is slap bang right in Copacabana so a 10min walk out of the hostel and you'll be in the thick of things in the city or beach. We always caught a taxi back home though, the hill is long and steep and was raining while we were there.

Breakfast was really basic, as were the rooms. Nothing to write home about, but comfortable and affordable in this pricy city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoandPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here June 22 2013-june 30th 2013.The view is only at the breakfast room,not in the rooms.The breakfast is a good value.To walk from Copacabana beach is about 15 minutes.2 blocks back to Rua Saint Roman and then 3 blocks up a fairly steep incline to the gate and then up another 100 steps or so.i was always soaken wet when i got in room.I'm 59 but had no trouble.it's just a lot of work.The breakfast tastes very good.i liked the watermelon juice and soft scrambled eggs.The staff is helpful,honest,and has your best interest at heart.Have fun at the cafe's and beach.

David Fischer
Villa Hills,kentucky

Room Tip: closer to the beach ,more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidFischer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the pousada for 3 nights in June 2013 and loved the experience. After overcoming a mild panic attack at the sight of a lot of stairs when arriving with my backpack, I received a very warm welcome and some cold water upon checkin :). I had booked one of the cheaper rooms, which face towards the alleyway, making them shady and comfortably cool. The rooms are simple, but fairly big and absolutely spotless. Showers are hot and have great water pressure - something I didn't experience in other places in Brazil.
Breakfast is excellent, with a very good selection and great coffee, and is served on the rooftop terrace, which also has beautiful views out to the ocean. The terrace is also the place to go for Wifi, so you can check your email while enjoying the view.
The location is perfect, a 10 minute walk to both Copacabana and Ipanema. Additionally, one of the main bus stations in Ipanema is right at the bottom of the hill from the pousada, making it very easy to get around to other parts of Rio. The walk home is uphill and finishes with the above-mentioned steps, but it is still pretty fast and a great way to walk off the avocado milkshake which you should try in one of the many juice bars.
The whole experience is just amazing - you are staying right in the middle of a favela. It's like a glimpse into Brazil's future, with favelas becoming peaceful neighborhoods. Forget favela tours - this is the chance to get a firsthand experience instead. The people are friendly and used to seeing tourists, and the whole area feels very safe, even for this solo female traveler.

Altogether, this is an excellent place to stay and a unique experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Place is just great! Rooms are mega simple (c'mon look at the price). Location is great - from terrace on the roof you have a stunning view of favelas and the bay, beach is just 15-20 minutes a way, however be aware of MANY stairs, which can give some extra training to your legs.
Breakfast is homemade and very tasty, owners are super nice and I really want to thank them for great stay. If look for some good and cheap accommodation inside favela (yes it's exactly inside favela, but place is very safe) - go for it!
Note: in the rooms there is no AC, so prepare for really warm night :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early April 2013 - although it is in a favela, the hostel is safe at night. There is a walking route to Ipanema and another to Copacabana, both are a bit of a walk with some incline on uneven streets. You may get some weird looks if you're an obvious looking tourist but don't let that ruffle your feathers.

The two local maps given to you are worth studying in detail, they were of great help - be sure to read the Bus timetable on the back, made transportation a doddle once we figured it out. At the time of writing (April 2013), the General Osario/Ipanema metro station is closed so the closest metro station is Cantagalo. There is also a replacement bus service from General Osario to Siqueira Campos.

The double room ensuite (306) we lived in was basic but clean, two single beds, wardrobe (with towels and extra fleece blankets), one table and chairs, one electric fan. The bathroom consisted of a shower and a toilet - in between the shower and the bedroom was a washbasin. I believe my room was tidied daily by the staff.

Ligia (owner) speaks English and Portuguese, whereas her brother and the other staff only speak limited English. They are all very friendly and polite and willing to help. They helped us organise an evening taxi for two people to the International airport for 45 Reals.

Breakfast is a buffet-style affair with scrambled eggs, bread rolls with condiments, some fresh fruit, fruit juice, hot beverages and some frankfurters. The breakfast was good, filling and you can control your own portion size! The view from the terrace at the top is amazing both in the morning and evening, many photos were taken here as it overlooks the rest of the favela out towards the beaches.

You settle the outstanding cost of your room upon check-in and they accept credit cards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borntorunJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I picked this accomodation because of its placement, right between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches (it is like 10mins walk to either) and when I told people we will stay in a favela the comments weren't great. After the stay I must say I couldn't have chosen better. The actual pousada is very clean, the ladies working there friendly and able to help and walking around safer than most other places. The off licence (favela one) was open until early morning and the locals were frindly, smiling back and acknowledging us. The rooms have toilet and shower en suite and the breakfast takes place upstairs on the terrace with the most amazing view...all together we loved it, thank you very much!!

Room Tip: higher floors are better, I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#34 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,113 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,185 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#68 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Casa Mosquito
Casa Mosquito
#25 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
290 reviews
Ipanema
Margarida's Pousada
Margarida's Pousada
#37 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
158 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#2 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Favela Cantagalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Favela Cantagalo

Property: Pousada Favela Cantagalo
Address: Rua Saint Roman 200, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Favela Cantagalo is located on the south side of town in a peaceful community with many cultural entertainment. In addition, the inn offers all the necessary comforts for your stay in this wonderful city. Rooms with double and single beds, private bathrooms and an excellent breakfast on the terrace facing the sea of Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Favela Cantagalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Favela Cantagalo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing