We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Villa Santana
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$569
$546
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$113
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$40
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windsor Barra(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$113
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
$226
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
10
44
56
14
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
44
56
14
21
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have read the other reviews, and have to disagree with most of them. This was a very cheap place to stay and close to the lively area of Lapa. This is not a 5 Star hotel, but you are not paying 5 Star prices. We ended up here, because our previous booked apartment was not available. We were only going to stay 1 night, but ended staying 3 nights. It has bus connections to all parts of Rio, and a metro station within 5 mins walk. The neighbourhood is generally safe, but you need to keep your wits about you. There are loads of places nearby for cheap drinks and food. During my stay, there were many women staying here, so I guess they must feel safe.

Our room was basic, but clean. It was cleaned every day. Fresh linen was also supplied daily. There was wifi internet, but the coverage only extended to the ground floor. The staff were ok, but no one spoke English.

There was no breakfast, but there were ample places to eat cheaply within 100m of the hostel.

If you want a cheap place to stay during the world cup and the Olympics ... this place could be an answer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

dirty rooms, ants & a full ashtray in our non smoking room, no breakfast or wifi as advertised in rental ad, VERY unfriendly staff, unsafe location, the one person that spoke english walked away when I asked him a question. Front desk gave incorrect hours of closing for tourist sights. The only good thing was a tasty juice shop down the block. Don't waste your time, money, or frustration on this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Words cant really describe the low standard and sleazy conditions in this hotel. We booked this hotel last minute during carnival and stupidly ignored the ratings on trip advisor. We only lasted one night in this place and ended up losing the money that we had paid for the following two days rather than staying. It hostel is surrounded in one of the rougher ends of town and as a group o females we were constantly shouted and grabbed at on the street- the whole environment was very intimating- not something I feel often. The rooms are dirty, full of stains and bugs. The hotel is full of shady looking men and coupled with the massive sign that mentions prostitution in the reception we were left with no doubts as to the true vocation of this place. They also make u pay upfront so if u are up for a challenge at least ask to see your room first. Really, really awful. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shockedvkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This place is not for the faint hearted and is definitely not a hostel but a low rent motel filled with shady looking men. We lasted less than an hour in this place and basically the rooms were dirty, the dirty laundry were just left on the hallway floor. But seeing naked men in open rooms convinced us to leave the hotel immediately even it it meant losing our money. In my opnion this motel is for the local dealers and no reasonable tourist would stay at this hostel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albumcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I booked the hotel via tripadvisor and it was in a positively scary neighbourhood in Rio, full of half-naked men (well, it is a hostel) who kept the noise up all night. The room was clean, but judging from the size of the bed and a mirror tha covered the whole wall, the purpose of the room was not sleeping. Perhaps it is a question of taste, but I would not recommend this place for single females, families or people for longer vacation in Rio. If you need a one-night stop, it might be alright. I will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews