We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taster menu and exciting”
Review of Restaurante Oro - MOVED

Restaurante Oro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jardim Botânico
Description: Chef Felipe Bronze
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great taster menu and exciting”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A very worthwhile experience.
7 course taster menu ..... Every course exciting and lovely build up of flavours.
The starters were wonderful and especially enjoyed the lobster ... Ok, I enjoyed the whole meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    81
    25
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Creative molecular cuisine - quite an experience!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ready for a culinary adventure? Go try it! We went there to celebrate our move to Rio, having just settled into our apartment in walking distance of this restaurant.

We chose the five-plate menu...they give you a rough idea as to what it consists of, but in reality, you will be surprised by the chef with really creative and very tasty creations. Fantastic. Disappointment for your palate? No, but the chef certainly thinks that eating is a delight where all senses should be stimulated. The desert was a slightly frozen mousse au chocolat - made by the server in front of you in liquid nitrogen...what looks like a ball of ice cream emerging from the clouds created by the liquid nitrogen is actually a mousse that came from a flask. This is certainly not my preferred way of preparing a mousse au chocolat (having lived in Belgium for >25 years, I would prepare a better one myself), but this is a fun experience.

The atmosphere is cool, not particularly inviting or cozy. Wines on the list are good, though not extraordinary. Service was excellent.

Overall, we enjoyed this dinner. Would I want to go there again? Yes if I want to share this kind of experience with someone else, no if I just want to have some excellent food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrible and expensive.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What to say? In a spite of being the best way to describe our experience, Terrible may sound too short and not that den So we thought about Collage. Our dinner @ Oro was a Collage of pretentious recipes. Did not work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Garrincha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“If you prefer funny food to gastronomy”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Sure this chef loves to have fun! All dishes are new experiences, inspired by great chefs of molecular cuisine... Without their talent. So it may be the same for your eyes, but such a disappointment for the palate. Moreover, it's boring and the interior design quite ordinary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kvknem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Dining at Oro is a fantastic experience, since you will visit a chef who is highly creative and do his best to take advantage of Brazilian ingredients, which are incredibly rich.
Unable to be as analytic as other reviewers, I would make a remark on the “snacks”, a collection of small portions of finger food appetizers, simply divine. Food is very well cared, impeccable. Although the atmosphere is simple, china and silverware are perfect. Service is courteous and well trained, able to describe any dish.
The wine list has no bargains, neither you can say the meal is cheap. But you will leave the house very happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAmemberSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Oro also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing