We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Dollar!”

Churrascaria Palace
Ranked #41 of 13,629 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, Sushi, Grill, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Description: Established 64 years ago, Palace is Rio's most traditional Churrascaria. Churrascaria are restaurants that serve barbecue meats on skewers, a typical brazilian way to prepare steaks, poltry and fish.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Every Dollar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I had already planned on eating authentic Brazilian meat on our trip to Rio. Having servers coming around to our table cutting meat right off the skewers was fascinating. The experience and delicous food was well worth the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHotTostito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,277
    596
    164
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meat and seafoods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at this restaurant after it was recommended and we were delighted. The range of meats served were excellent and excellently cooked and we tried all types and found them to be delicious as was the seafood served at our table. A wonderful experience which we really enjoyed and have since told friends and contacts. I would love to have this restaurant in my home city of Melbourne, Australia

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryPopplewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meat and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Even if it could seems a tourist trap, it isn't! We ate excellent meat and enjoyed a very pleasing service (not so common in Rio), spending less then 45 dollars per person (buffet price). The best spot to have a "churrasco rodriza" (classic sirloins on a stick)!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrancescoRoma1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average Churrascaria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went on a Tuesday night pretty late, so it wasn't crowded at all. I thought the food was pretty average. They had a buffet with various salads, Asian, and other foods. I've been too a few of these places through the years and I thought this was just average. I was dared into trying the chicken hearts...something I won't be repeating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Check out the original style of Churrascaria at the Palace in Rio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've had the pleasure of eating at the Churrascaria Palace in Rio (about a block from the beach) on two occassions and found it to be delightfully consistent and superb on both visits. Unlike the Americanized-style of "Churrascaria" touted as authentic Brazillian, this is the real deal, and it's evident from the unique seasonings, cooking techniques, and even selection (if you have a chance, gorge on some of the fresh chicken hearts... which you won't find in America!). Wide variety of meats, including seafood, sausages, steak, lamb and more. The salad and veggie selection was a little light for my preference, but that's not why people come to this restaurant (it's the MEAT, folks!). Check it out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricParkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrascaria Palace also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Churrascaria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing