We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Italian pizza for a reasonable price”
Review of Artigiano

Artigiano
Ranked #112 of 13,706 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian pizza for a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Salad for starters, excellent Italian pizza as main meal and a sinfully delicious dessert at a reasonable price. What more to ask for.

Any time again.

Helpful?
Thank Hellmuth B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    261
    63
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply the best Carpaccio in the world ! And I have been to mnay places.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Artigiano is the best italian restaurant in Rio. Great prices and the specialty of the house besides the pasta is the beef carpaccio. What makes it it great is that they add mint leaf to the arrugula, very tasty, you will perhaps even skip the regular meal by ordering two. Service is old fashioned/professional. The wine list great. They do not accept credit cards, so be prepared to pay in Reais. The atmosphere superb and the best dishes for pasta are the salmon/vodka/penne or the lasagna. You will not regret the romantic atmosphere. In hot summer days avoid the terrace, but in the cooler months a must be seating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exeter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had read the reviews, some saying it was great, some the opposite so I went with an open and hopeful mind. The food was VILE. If you buy the kind of instant pastas where you add hot water and then you have your meal you will have MUCH BETTER food than this place. I had pasta with fried aubergine, tomato and basil. The basil was not in the sauce - rather a sprig on top. The pasta was overcooked and gross. The aubergine was one of the most disgusting things I have ever been served - it was fried in some kind of cheap vegetable oil. I was starving hungry so had desert which was also foul. I was in a party of ten so tried a few other dishes and they were all horrible. The service was very good and the restaurant seems like it is a nice place but seriously, don't bother - UGH!! I am making toast at the moment because I am still so hungry!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCJSOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
301 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is the best possible. In between Leblon and Ipanema, near the beach and a green scenario. The food very well made, faultless spicy wise. The wine, as usual, is not cheap. The service is good with what seemed to have a very large number of waiters. There is a valet service. The big inconvenience , which we found out only when already seated , is they do not take credit or debit cards for payment. This is a nuisance even grater than if they were to include administration taxes to make up for the its cost

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank norbafreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, authentic meal for reasonable price”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We were struggling to find great food for reasonable price in Rio (150 Re for 2 with starter, main and a glass of wine each), but found it at Artigiano. Nothing sophisticated but products are natural, have taste and are cooked well. We particularly appreciated the fresh air (vs. air conditioning) inside the place, which adds to the authenticity.

Helpful?
Thank julieb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artigiano also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Artigiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing