We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place in Copa / Impenema Beach”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Lobby of building
View from livingroom down on the street
Entrance of building
Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ron R
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Arrived at the apartment and was met by Paulo who showed us the apartment and gave us the keys.

After we unpacked i went to the local supermarket to get basic supplies. Upon my return I used the elevator (which has an old-fashioned accordion style gate) and went to the 8th floor. The elevator gate opened and I had a key to open a door directly from the elevator to the apartment foyer. As I was turning the key in the lock, the elevator gate suddenly closed and trapped my arm between gate and opposite wall of elevator. I tried to push gate open o no avail. Elevator started moving down and I had to jerk my hand to get it in the elevator. In the proces the key broke off in the lock.

I was able to find the maintenance man who said (using google translate) that I was lucky - the key guy was just completing a job at the apartment and that he could fix it and make a new key for a price. So key guy, doorman and i went up to the apartment in the elevator. While key guy was trying to get broken key out of the lock, the elevator gate closed again unexpectedly, He was able to get his hand in quickly as the elevator again dropped. When we finally returned to the apartment in the elevator the doorman held a button down to keep the gate open until lock was fixed. Key guy said I should have 2 keys and charged me $200 Reals.

After this we went to visit Sugarloaf mountain. We returned to apartment about 7pm to change for dinner. No elevator service. we called and called for the doorman and maintenance man for 30 minutes..maintenenance guy eventually poked his head out and then disappeared.

I had been told there was a second elevator and a back entrance to the apartment. What I was not told was that the back entrance was on a different street with an address different from that of the apartment. Try as we might, we could not find the gate to the back entrance.

Finally after much banging on doors and shouting loudly the maintenance man came again and this time let us in to the rear elevator/ stairs.

What an ordeal our first day in Rio.

In addition, a number of things in the apartment did not work. Fridge did not keep food cold, toaster did not work unless someone held down the lever, man lights in main bedroom did not work, one of two toilets in apartment kept getting clogged even though we only used it for urination....you get the picture.

We were sorely tempted to leave and go to a hotel. I guess we were the victims of "jetinho brasiliero". (The elevator had a notice that it had been inspected just the week before we came??).

For anyone thinking of coming to visit Brazil, please read about the "Brazilian Way" or "Jetinho Brasiliero", It may help you to prepare for how you are treated as a "foreigner" where you can be ripped off and locals think that is normal. Where honesty is looked upon as weakness to be exploited. And where no one offers to "make it right" when something goes wrong.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
It is clear you had a bad experience in Rio and with this apartment. We do apologize for this.

We have been renting this apartment for many years, had many happy tenants and none of these had these experiences with the door/keys/elevator. What we also do at arrival is explaining all in the apartment, the entrances (and how to reach these), and escalation procedures when there is an issue. You did not inform us directly and ask our help/assistance; you tried to solve it by yourself (which is good as a general attitude) and you encountered the wrong Brazilians who ripped you off. If you would have asked us to help you, you would not have paid anything (as we would have covered these costs, which are normal only R$ 20; so ten times less) and all issues were solved quickly.

As for issues to the apartment (like fridge no cold, bad toilets, etc.); none of these were reported to us or to our local staff. We will of course, investigate this now and will make sure (if these are true) that these are fixed.

So our advice to any tenants is to report and involve directly local staff to assist you when there is an issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Nice place in Copa / Impenema Beach”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great place to stay, close to restaurants, shops, metro and the beach. A little noisy at night, but perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds / bedding
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewed May 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin (TX)
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong
Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbiegrl...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed May 20, 2011 for a stay in November 2010

This was a great condo in a good location. It was right in the middle of Ipanema and very easy to get to and from. Shopping, the beach, and restaurants were within walking distance. We also felt very safe with the location and didn't have any issues. We had a minor maintenance issue and they came to fix it within hours. If your not looking for an overly fancy, high end place but rather a well priced, clean and comfy condo, this is the place for you. We'd definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing