We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Nearby Hotels
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$180
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Praia Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$195
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$170
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Excelsior Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mar Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$277
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Midas Rio Suites(Rio de Janeiro)
$47
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveler rating
478
745
149
29
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
745
149
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdomestic airportroom serviceconvenient locationreception staffyogurttaxisrioinstallationpauloneighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Rio at the busy and overpriced New Year's holiday season and since I am familiar with Rio we found it to be a pleasant hotel and close to transportation to take us to different parts of the city that we wanted to visit. An Ibis Hotel is located next door for those looking for an even cheaper alternative.

Room Tip: The hotel is located within walking distance of the Santos Dumont Airport in downtown Rio de Janeiro, close to the downtown area but a long way from the beach areas of this beautiful city. International flights arrive and depart from the much larger and distant Galeao Airport. There are few decent hotels in the area of the International airport.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Let's face it, if you're here as a tourist, it's not a good pick. Far from any great attraction.
If you're here on business, on the other hand, this is a perfect spot. Close to most business venues downtown, great facilities for business travellers (gim, internet, etc), fiendly staff and 24-hour room service.

Room Tip: If you can see the airport, just make sure you close the blinds, or you're waking up early.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was there during the week of Rio +20 and the hotel was all booked (as all of them in Rio). In this period the rates were overpriced, then I prefer to forget this part and instead of this, tell about the good things.
You can go walking to the hotel using a footbridge just in front at the SDU airport. The subway station "Cinelândia" is about ten minutes walk. Other places can be visited in a little walk, like the most important theater of Rio, the "Teatro Municipal".
The room in my stay had a king size bed, with cable TV, wireless internet access, electronic safe, a wardrobe with many hangers and a bathroom without bathtub. The room was well tidy and cleaned every day of my stay.
The breakfast offered by the hotel was good, there were a choice of juices, fruits, breads, cereals, yogurts and a "Chef" that was preparing omelets.
As I rented a car, I had to use the hotel parking and I figured out that it is outsourced, then I had to pay for that separately.
The staff was very friendly and in general I had a good time there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domiciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent option for business travelers not looking for beaches or restaurants, but commercial buildings to visit. Pricing is adequate, rooms are impecably clean and they also have a really nice shower. From all hotels I've stayed in Rio (Rio Othon Palace, Windsor Martinique, Ibis, Caesar Business) this definitely is the cleanest of all and ensured a great sleep every day. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews