We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for business but no so nice value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Ranked #56 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ulcinj, Montenegro
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice location for business but no so nice value”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel is well located, 5 min walk from Santos Dumont airport, very handy for those who are arriving or departing from this airport. The hotel is in city center, so it is an advantage for business travelers.
It seems brand new but the poor quality of the materials chosen for bedroom's floor will pay its price in 2 or 3 years. I highly suggest the hotel manager to check carefully of a plan for it's maintenance. All other building materials are OK, adequated for the hotel standard.
Check-in and check-out were fast and professional, gentle but no smiles.
The room has a nice size with bed, open closet, safe, mini-bar, sofa, table, chair and HD TV.
The bathroom could be bigger and the sink faucet is a downside, no water pressure, it takes a long time to fill a cup. However, the shower is very nice. The bathroom amenities provided are just OK and there could be some skin lotion.
Bed and bathroom cleaning were nice.
The bed mattress is really good and the hotel provides two choice of pillows.
Wi-fi internet connection is free but very unstable. Some hours it's deadly slow.
I would recommend it just if you get an amazing rate as I did (about U$ 100 per night), as it is usually much more expensive (starting from U$ 220), otherwise I would think of staying in the Ibis Hotel next door from the same hotel chain (Accor Hotels).

Room Tip: Take breakfast in the Ibis Hotel next door. It's same quality and half the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricArthurBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    724
    141
    27
    10
See reviews for
337
195
143
554
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in Novotel Santos Dumont last year right after the renew of the installation so it is absolutely a great choice. The hotel is well located close to the airport and in an area not so bad in Rio de Janeiro.
I used the bus transportation to main atractions and the choice is widely great and easy to take.
If you want a unique trip to Rio and do not want to spend your money in taxis or car rentals this is a excellent choice of hotel.
The staff is OK but should be more prepared to help travelers who wants to take buses.
In the same area you have Novotel and Ibis so in order to reduce cost of meals I took my breakfast in Ibis (less expensive and quite close in quality).
My only concern is that the kids room was not available during my stay (this was not informed in the hotel homepage).

Room Tip: Take the room with airport view it is bether than the other ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattos_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is too expensive for what they offer. Almost all the food is prepared in advance and heated via microwave. Not very good. $20 for a small bowl of soup.

I would not recommend because of the price. The stay for a single room is 400 reals or about 330 US dollars. A comparable hotel in the US or other parts of the world is about $100 US

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was going to spend three nights in Rio and I trusted the reviews of tripadvisor on this one. As it turned out, I wasn't disappointed.

I've stayed at several Novotels, but this one is by far the best. I admit that the whole concept of Novotel is probably more for executive business travellers, but I felt comfortable with this one.

The rooms are very clean and spatious, the bathrooms have a modern design and the staff members were very polite. If you're arriving to Rio via the Santos Dumont airport, it's a 5 minute walk to this hotel. But don't worry about the noise that an airport usually creates: our room was facing the airport, but the windows are so well isolated that you don't hear it when a plane is taking off or landing.

As to location within Rio, it is difficult to say what the definition of "central" would be in Rio. The Novotel is just next to the old town, but that is not worth seing (in my opinion). There's a five minute walk to the metro station and from there you can get to the Copacabana. Otherwise taxis are a practical way of getting around (especially if you want to get to the base of the Sugar Loaf or the Corcovado).

In essence: Th Novotel is probably not the cheapest place to stay, but you're getting quality for your money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrotter6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#112 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,982 reviews
Centro
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airport
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airp...
#46 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
540 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#51 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
660 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
264 reviews
Centro
Aeroporto Othon
Aeroporto Othon
#255 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel RJ Santos Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel RJ Santos Dumont

Property: Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Address: Avenida Marechal Camara 300 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020-080, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel RJ Santos Dumont 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel has more than 400 hotels in 60 countries, located in the centre of key cities and suitable both for business trips and for holidays. Whether you visit us to relax, eat, work or find yourself, our facilities and teams are entirely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel RJ Santos Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing