We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to experience Rio”

Manu Peclat - Rio Tour Guide
Ranked #7 of 453 Tours in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Excellent way to experience Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent one day in Rio with Manu as our tour guide. He was very informative and went above and beyond that of a regular tour guide. We were impressed with his knowledge of the city. He was very friendly, spoke excellent English and left us with a wonderful impression of the city and its people. Vincente picked us up at the airport and delivered us to our hotel and was an excellent host as well. We would highly recommend both Manu and Vincente to anyone who visits Rio.

Ted and Linda Madsen

Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    23
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent guides for Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent two days in Rio with Manu and his associate Vincente. Their personal attention gave a far greater insite into the city than one would receive from a standard tour, and also took us to places that couldn't be reached with a larger group.we would highly recommend this is as the only way to gain maximum benefit from time spent in Rio and could not commend Manu more highly for his professionalism, knowledge and attention. 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Book him early, he is reliable and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Based on what we had read on Tripadvisor before coming to Brazil I emailed Manu about airport transfers and a days guided tour around the city. We received very good, prompt communications with his terms clearly laid out and they were reasonable for a private guide for 2 people.
There was a delay at the airport due to an accident blocking the approach road but otherwise his service was as described.
We met Manu himself when he collected us from our hotel for a city tour. He was a good guide, friendly and informative, answering our questions in fluent English and showing a sense of humour. Also, he was a good driver, something of a relief having experienced some of the local driving.
He has lots of local knowledge, including when the cruise liners dock so that you avoid the queues to the attractions. The day we were out with him was wet and misty but he had an App for his iPhone that predicted when there would be a break in the clouds to make it worthwhile going up to Christ the Redeemer statue! Perhaps it was divine intervention but there was a break in the clouds when we got there!
We are happy to recommend Manu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We got bumped too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked Manu for 2 days and felt he was good but just not fantastic.
He took us to all the usual fabulous sites of Rio and also to a great place for a typical Brazilian lunch which we all enjoyed immensely.
However, come the second day we didn't get Manu but one of his associates. We had no pre-warning of this, it just happened on the day, not very professional.
Perhaps he just goes to where he gets the best fee for the day......

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I left it very late booking a tour guide and when I contacted Manu by e'mail just a week before arriving in Rio, he was already committed for the day we wanted, but offered a colleague who was available. We decided to book this, as Manu had been so efficient in responding to our e'mails. As it turned out, when we arrived in Rio, Manu was available and so we did a full day tour with him.
There were 7 of us (my 3 children and my parents) and we had an air conditioned van with driver and Manu, who was extremely personable and very informative. I gave him a list of the sights we wanted to see and we covered them all and did a few extra things too that he suggested.
We also booked our airport transfers through Manu and again, these were without a hitch. In short, faultless - highly recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rjhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manu Peclat - Rio Tour Guide also viewed

 

Been to Manu Peclat - Rio Tour Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing