We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house with awesome staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagoa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagoa Guest House
Ranked #33 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guest house with awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here with two other friends in June for a few days and we loved it! The staff were so friendly and nice and spoke English which was a great relief because we did not speak any Portguese. We were made to feel right at home and given loads of great advice about Rio. They helped us book our transfers to Ilha Grande and stored our luggage while we were away which was very helpful. The common area is a great space to chill out and meet other guests. We met some really really nice people at this guest house and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    58
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
26
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

After a horrendous experience in another guesthouse in Rio, Lagoa guest house was a wonderful refuge. Friendly and helpful staff with excellent English (a rarity for the ignorant gringo in Brazil!) are always on hand to help and ensure a laid back, relaxing atmosphere (not that you can't have a few beers or turn up and some ungodly hour of the morning - as long as your not too loud). The dorm rooms are clean, comfortable and not too cramped and the private rooms are heavenly! The wi-fi is fast, the showers are hot and the breakfast is tasty! They put on a BBQ (free) for us, because we were there for a while - a lovely touch. In terms of location it is very close to a bank, a few bars and bus stops as well as being close the botanical gardens and corcovado. It is practically on the beautiful lake, close to the main hub of Botafogo (easy walking distance). Although it is a little out of the typically tourist places (Ipanemia beach is beautiful 25 min stroll around the lake with stunning scenery). However, you can get anywhere in Rio on buses (R$2.50) so it is not an issue. The staff will know which buses to get to where as well (or you could just use google maps directions on the public transport tab). For the price, in Rio, I don't think you can do better.

Happy travels,
George & Fran

Room Tip: In the dorms, some mattress' are thicker than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgeandfrantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volta Redonda, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I live outside of Rio and come to the city to work, so I need a place to stay for 3-5 days every week. Thanks to a fellow motorcycle traveler, I ended up in Lagoa Guest House in November 2012. Ever since, I have been staying there every week and wouldn't go any place else.
I usually stay in the dorms, which are more spacey compared to other hostels, but I also stay there with my family. That is one of the positive aspects of Lagoa Guest House is that it is a place where you will encounter a mix of backpackers, regular tourists, business people, families with children...

It is more a tranquil place, so if you're looking for a heavy party place, this will not be for you.

The guest house is located very centrally and all the popular touristic areas of Rio de Janeiro, as well as the central bus station and both airports are easily accessible using public transport or taxis. It's only a 200m walk to the nearest bus stop, where you can take a bus to wherever you want to go.

Last but not least, if you're coming by car or motorcycle, the guesthouse has space for two cars. Motorcycles can park free of charge. Beats having to leave your bike on the street.

In short, whether you travel alone, with your family or a group of friends, Lagoa Guest House is always going to be a great option.

In Brazil we say: NOTA 10.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are the better choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirantesMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lagao guest house has been a really good experience. Easy to find, near enough to the statue, Sugar Loaf and Copocabana beach, free Wifi. Friendly and more than helpful staff who know where to go and how to get there. Beautifully clean rooms, hot showers and a satisfying breakfast (don't always find this in hostels) So good in fact that we will stay here again at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We normally stayed in hotels with private bathrooms etc, but as we were nearing the end of our trip we decided to stay in a hostel due to our budget. This hostel was amazing! The staffs were incredible!! So helpful, and they speak very good English, which believe me if you don´t speak Portuguese is so useful. Paul, the cheeky chappy from London that works at reception is awesome. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We even opted for the shared bathroom as they are very clean.

We met a lot of friendly people at the hostel. It seems to attract a great bunch of people. The location is perfect; easy access to most things, buses, taxis, Copacabana, Christ the redeemer etc

All in all, a great place to stay in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Make sure you take down the Hostel's address because this place doesn't have a sign! It's extremely well located. It's in Humaita, just north of the Lagoon. It has bus stations conveniently located about a block away.
The staff is very pleasant. They help as much as they can.
It's clean. It has lots of space. The rooms have a decent size locker. The common area is nice and open, and it's nice to just lounge on the corner.
Their breakfast is good.
The only inconvenience is that their wi-fi isn't realiable! :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were meant to stay in this hostel for 4 nights and ended up staying for 12!! This should say everything about this hostel. The staff at this hostel and the people it attracts are so welcoming its like being at home but with the delights of Rio on your door step. Compared to the other hostels in Rio its the best value for money you can get. It has a perfect location between all attractions which makes it easy to see the sights, then chill on the beach and finish up back home for some friendly chat and food before hitting the night life! The rooms and facilities are all kept very clean and the staff are always at hand with helpful advice on where to go and what to do in the city.

I could not recommend this hostel enough to you. If we ever come back to Rio, there is no doubt we will be booking a room in here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunkado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Alma de Santa Guest House
Alma de Santa Guest House
#43 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Da Lapa Design Hotel
#29 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
#28 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#7 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Solar do Cosme
#15 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoa Guest House

Property: Lagoa Guest House
Address: Rua Do Humaita | 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22261-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lagoa Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice and cozy place to stay...Close to every(good)thing Rio has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lagoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoa Guest House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing