We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and not very good”
Review of Lagoa Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lagoa Guest House
Ranked #36 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed in their "individual" room (with WC and douche), for 180R$/night (it seems that their "normal" rate is even higher). The room was not really clean, and there were a lot of mosquitoes. Also, the place is quite noisy: it's just next to the common room, with a big TV on the thin wall separating them, so that you hear every sound.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Really friendly staff and atmopshere, as well as a good breakfast and nice communal areas made this hostel the best out of 3 I stayed in during my time in Rio. Don't miss Roses' saturday night lapa tours.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreverbubbles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Awesome! While strategically located near Lagoa and Ipanema beach, it's also very easy to go to other famous places from there, either by bus, metro or cab. This is because the hostel is located near an important street confluence, allowing easy access to different routes. The staff is very receptive and makes you just feel at home. The whole place is very clean and confortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiano H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Lagoa over New Year, and had the most wonderful experience. The staff are great, and we always felt that we were very well looked after - city tips and advice, help with bookings, and amazing NYE bbq. A wonderful atmosphere and great Rio experience - after a year of backpacking around South America, this hostel was a highlight!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Katyhill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Sometimes you find a place where you really feel at home. The Lagoa was one of those places - even though it was the last place I stayed in a year long round the world trip. It's all down to the friendly owners who will help you at every turn, suggesting places to visit, how to get there and even organising little trips to the nearby bars where you can sit and chat with the locals. I stayed in three places in Rio, and I wish I had found this one sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talos_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent stay! The hostel is well located in a prime area of Rio, in a major boulevard with access by bus to various parts of the city. It was always easy to get to and from all the places we went. The staff was always very helpful and pleasant. They have a nice common area, where guests can sit down to talk, exchange experiences and have a beer. Definitely, I have no complaints. The breakfast was great, with juice, fruit, sandwiches... If it were to make a suggestion, it would just be made ​​a major investment in mattresses, which could provide a little better sleep. But anyway, without a doubt recommend the Lagoa Guest House, and no doubt I'll go back there again when in Rio!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Location is great! Buses running at all hours of the day and night. Hostel provides linen but no towels so bring your own. Really great place to stay at for a great price. Building in itself is a little old and could use some more maitenance in some spots but nothing horrible. Bathrooms are clean and linen was brand new! Definately would recommend this Hostel. I presume the renovations are finished as I did not see the moldy walls inside the hostel. Outside in the backyard where the pool is, there is some mold on the walls but trust me it's in the normal zone for being a hostel in Rio. If arriving in Santos Dumont airport take the walkway outside, at the end and to the right there will be a bus stop. Take the 438 (Vila Isabel) and ask the driver or bus cashier to tell you when to get off at Rua Humaitá (pronounced ) near number 392, It will drop you off just 1 block away in front of the Correios (post office). Bus costs R$2,50.
They have two bunk bed rooms that can hold 9 people (3 triple bunk beds). But there are privates as well.

Final word is that I would recommend this Hostel for the price and location and especially the staff that are very nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmacina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hot...
#49 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,909 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Santa Clara
Hotel Santa Clara
#156 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
147 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#113 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
#200 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
298 reviews
Jardim Botânico
Botanic Hostel
Botanic Hostel
#53 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
184 reviews
Casa Amarela Bed & Breakfast
#93 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoa Guest House

Address: Rua Do Humaita | 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22261-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lagoa Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice and cozy place to stay...Close to every(good)thing Rio has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lagoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoa Guest House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing