We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, don't bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tereze

Tereze
Reserve with
Tereze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 13,575 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $61
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Santa Teresa
Description: In a pleasant and elegant setting with views of Guanabara Bay, Térèze is known for its contemporary cuisine. The "Menu Bistronomia" is the ideal option for business lunches. For events, Térèze accommodates up to 100 people.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really, don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Santa Teresa Hotel in the neighbourhood of Santa Theresa, Rio De Janeiro, is supposed to be one of the new(ish) hip-and-happening, eco-chic spots in the city. It's restaurant, the Tereze, promotes itself as a sophisticated, yet casual venue.

I have now visited the restaurant twice - once last year during Carnival, and again last week, as part of a small group of business travelers.

On both sets of occasions, my dining experience was poor. I did not rate the restaurant on after my first visit, giving it the benefit of the doubt during the busy Carnival season. But the second time has confirmed my fears and has prompted this note.

Where to start? The basic necessities of any decent restaurant must be good food, attentive service and a pleasant ambiance. This restaurant lacks all of these.

As I mentioned, we were a business group of about 20 people, who pre-reserved the restaurant some months ago. Furthermore, we agreed on a fixed menu of a choice of two started, two mains and two deserts. Easy, right. We had also pre-picked one choice each of red and white wine. Still and sparkling water.

While we were have a pre-dinner drink on the deck, the waiters took everyone's preferences down, so as to get the kitchen ready. Sadly, two hours after having sat down, the starters had not arrived. It was only after going into the kitchen to chase them up, that the food arrived.

The waiters where in disarray. No topping up of wine and water glasses. No ability to bring small extras to the table, such as salt or more bread.

By midnight, before the desert had arrived, everyone was so exhausted that we trooped off.

The Hotel Santa Theresa is miles and miles from the Ipanema and Copacabana areas of the city, up winding, cobble-stoned roads. Like all trips, the going there is much more exciting than the getting back, both trips which take more than an hour each.

So, unfortunately, my advice to would be visitors is, don't bother. There are so many nice eateries in Ipanema, Copacabana and Leblon, where I am quite sure you will be staying if you visit Rio.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johan_roets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, Gerente at Tereze, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback.
We really understand your frustration, and we apologize for what happened that night.
Unfortunately we had a big problem in the kitchen, with two employees went missing.
We hope to have you back as soon as possible to show you our best service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    174
    63
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very popular restaurant and the service was also very good. I had a poached lobster starter which was amazing - by far the best food we had in Brazil but comes at a price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveltink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“one of the 10 best in the world ? i think not !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

i read that conde nast had listed Tereze as one of the 10 best restaurants in the world -- i was curious to return there after a disappointing meal 16 months ago -- not much as changed -- still disorganised; service still indifferent; and food really just mediocre -- kind of "standard" brasilian fare dressed up (and the time it takes to dress up the food means it arrives in front of you cold) -- shame on conde nast............

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank toddynho69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo B, Direttore at Tereze, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear customer,
we really appreciate your fidelity to Tereze Restaurant,
e we're very sorry for the disappointing experience...
We're improving our service speed and food quality, trying to harmonize them
in the best way possible.
We hope to have you back, for a better experience that won't disappoint you!
Thanks, Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Expected much, much better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to Tereze for a birthday dinner, and had a recommendation to go there. Hmmmm, this place needs to lift it's game if it wants to align rhetoric and reality. We called in and booked for later in the evening, we requested a window table and given a clear indication this would be doable. When we got back later we were plonked well away from said window and had to ask to be moved, which they did. We then ordered, including breads and mineral water. These two items alone accounted for R$30 in the bill, plus a set 13% service charge!! The meals were undersized, tepid and nothing special at all. The suckling pig was too fatty, too small and the accompanying mashed sweet potato was awful in taste. The vegetable ratatouille was also too small, featuring a table spoon of vegetables with potato and cheese over the top. I thought cuisine minceur went out of fashion in the 1980's. Desert was the highlight of the evening. Service was slow and inattentive. I mentioned the tepid nature nature of the main course dishes to a waiter who said he would pass this onto chef. Well if he did, we got no feedback. All in all a poor effort from a place that clearly wants to position itself in the upper echelon. At over R$200, this was an expensive mistake, for which we had the dubious privilege of paying a set 13% service charge, frankly a rip off.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo B, Direttore at Tereze, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear customer, thanks for your feedback.
We really appreciate this kind of attention, and we care about your suggestions.
About the window table, our policy is to do not make it available for reservation.
So, our hostess committed a big mistake, promising you the table.
About the suckling pig, we're trying a new kind of cooking for that course, and for that reason
maybe it was too fatty.
We also apologize for the slow service, we're working to improve it as best as we can.
Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to have you back for a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome place for a incredibly romantic dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend took me there for Valentine's day and we had a lovely night with outstanding food and an amazing view. The Chef Damian got some really creative dishes there, a mix of french and brazilian food. As a vegetarian I had no problem finding really nice options for a real dinner! Their staff is very attentive and the restaurant's decor is absolutely fantastic! I would reccomend this place for a fancy romantic delicious dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tereze also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Tereze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing