We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Communal areas outrank rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Communal areas outrank rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

When you enter Bonita it has a lovely feel, relaxed and friendly vibe. The communal area where breakfast is served and the small pool are lovely, and I was very happy lounging and reading my book here. The room itself however was very small. we had a private room with shared bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but with white washed walls and no pictures, and a patch of damp on the ceiling it did have an air of cell about it. This would have been fine if it were cheap but as we found in much of southern Brazil, you don't get much for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita I, Manager at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in describing your experience at Bonita Ipanema.
All comments encourage us to go forth with our continuous work.

The specif room you refer to has just been renewed. Walls were painted white and one colored. Paintings were set up together with a wooden protection on the wall that also reinforces the decoration.

Hopefully we will have you stay with us again on your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,
Bonita Ipanema | Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    241
    138
    41
    51
See reviews for
56
161
95
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Sheets and towels were stained. The mattress was awful. The walls were dirty. The room was too small. Two of the front desk people had an attitude. When you complained about something they always had an excuse and didn’t solve the problem. The common areas were ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita I, Manager at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in describing your experience at Bonita Ipanema.
All comments encourage us to go forth with our continuous work.

Our bed linen is washed with a professional laundry company and two weeks ago new bed linen and towels arrived to change with the older ones. Last year we renewed 50% of our mattresses and this year we will be changing the rest. Room painting is being taking place as with do it every year. Rooms where it is necessary we do it 2 times a year.

Hopefully we will have you stay with us again on your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,
Bonita Ipanema | Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My friend and I booked this place at the last minute and it was the only hotel available that was under $200/night. It is not really a hotel, but it is more of a mixed hostel with private rooms as well. It has a hipster type flare, and caters to a younger group of people rather than families. The decor was a little cheesy, but it kind of reminded me of a nostalgic 60's era and I liked it.

Even though the staff spoke fluent English, some of the front desk people presented with attitude. If you have a room facing the courtyard, you many not be able to sleep due to all the nose from the guests partying til 3 am. The courtyard seemed like a nice place to hang out and meet people, but the pool was absolutely disgusting, and looked like a health hazard. There wasn't much of a variety at the breakfast buffet, even the fruit selection was dismal. The rooms were adequate. Each room had its own flare, and were small but clean.

The location of the place made up for all the shortcomings. It is in the heart of Ipanema, a few blocks from the beach. Everything from restaurants, bars to shops is only a few steps away. If you do not have a problem with the hippy and loud party atmosphere, the Bonita shouldn't be a problem for you. Even though I may not stay at the Bonita again, it was certainly a welcome change from what I'm used to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreemz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita I, Manager at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in describing your experience at Bonita Ipanema.
All comments encourage us to go forth with our continuous work.

We do settle many efforts in keeping the noise down, as our bar only works untill 10:00 PM. When other guests arrive during the night we do ask for silence. Guests that travel in group do make it slightly more difficult. Modifications are being planned for the common area to avoid such issues.
Our swimming pool is cleaned and treated on a daily basis. At breakfast we look forward in serving it as it is composed with 4 fruit types, 2 juices, cake, bread, cheese, ham, butter, jam, guava, toaster, milk, coffee, tea, chocolate, liquid yogurt, together with other items.

Hopefully we will have you stay with us again on your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,
Bonita Ipanema | Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bonita is a friendly home along Ipanema Beach. It lies right next to the General Osorio Metro station and is close to many bars and restaurants in Ipanema. The hostel has a pleasant common area with affordable drink, and a tiny pool, but creates an atmosphere in which it is easy to connect with other travellers. The dormrooms are a bit crowded, so don't expect utmost luxury, but all in all this is a great backpacker place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita I, Manager at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in describing your experience at Bonita Ipanema.
All comments encourage us to go forth with our continuous work.

Hopefully we will have you stay with us again on your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,
Bonita Ipanema | Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We walked through Ipanema looking to book a hostel and when we went in here we were won over by the cool common space, pool, and bar area. We didn´t check the bedrooms or bathrooms though and it turns out those were nothing to write home about (note, we stayed in the dorms).

The Pros: 1) Awesome location in Ipanema a few blocks from the beach, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, and train system. 2) The staff was good about keeping the common area noise down after 10-11pm so the people in the dorm right next to it could sleep if they wanted. 3) Breakfast included, fairly decent/average based on others I´ve had.

The Cons: 1) Most of the time I was there, the Wi Fi wouldnt work and they charged you extra to use their computer for internet. 2) When we were there it seemed a lot of locals were staying there, which would be fine if we spoke Portuguese and could communicate with them, but unfortunately because of our lack of local language skills, we didn´t have the chance to socialize much with anyone.

Room Tip: The dorm bunks are stacked 3-high. Try to be the first one in the room so you´re not stuck climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita I, Manager at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in describing your experience at Bonita Ipanema.

All comments encourage us to go forth with our continuous work.

We have upgraded our internet account, but there are days, that for some reason, internet just does not work correctly in Rio. Very nice tips.

Hopefully we will have you stay with us again on your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,
Bonita Ipanema | Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at he Bonita for 3 nights with our small children (4 and 6 years old) in a single room with a double bed and a bunk bed. The location is perfect, 3 blocks from the beach and 1 from the Hippie Fair Crafts Market. The underground station of Ipanema (General Osorio) is right next doors and the ideal way to travel to Centro area.
Staff were very friendly, spoke very good english and always available to assist. Breakfast was nice with plenty of fruit.
The kids loved the kicker game :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6 (1 double bed and 1 bunk bed that sleeps 4) with AC and ceiling fan. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hostel is well located but that´s the only good thing about it. I stayed in a private ensuite room, and I would not recommend anyone to stay there.The room was next to the bar, so it was very noisy, impossible to sleep well. The matress was terrible, bed sheets and towels seemed dirty. Sewer smell in the bathroom. Overall the whole place is very filthy. The staff are not very helpful. Except for location, whouldn´t have anything good to say about this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#5 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#28 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#19 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Margarida's Pousada
Margarida's Pousada
#39 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#14 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach House
Ipanema Beach House
#88 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel

Property: Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Address: Rua Barao da Torre 107, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 761 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonita Ipanema is located in one of the best spots of Rio de Janeiro, in the heart of Ipanema between Leblon, Copacabana and Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. The Pousada & Hostel is only 3 blocks away from Ipanema beach, next to all transports (subway, bus and taxi) and just a few steps from a great variety of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing