We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lounge but cramped rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The biggest disappointment here is that the wifi didn't work and it seemed that the staff weren't interested in fixing it. Also they quoted us a lower price when we called the day before, then upon arrival the price went up by 50 BR.

Rooms are cramped, NO A/C, the A/C is in the room and doesn't work. Great access to restaraunts and the beach is about 10 min walk.

Breakfast is ham, cheese, breads, cafe, juice and fruits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 670 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed here during carnival with my friend. I thought the rooms were very nice, clean and the staff were fantastic. They were very friendly and helpful! After staying in another hostel for most of carnival it felt very luxurious. There is a lot of attention to detail with the reception wall paper, the tables and the decor. It is very nicely set out with a pool and great seating arrangements. Thank you for a fantastic end to our 7 week trip.
The location of the hostel is very good, it is a short walk to the beach and an even shorter walk to restraunts and shops.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double en suite room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights over Carnaval with my husband. We usually stay in hotels but decided to stay in a hostel due to the very expensive prices during this period. We had a double with air conditioning and private bathroom. The location is excellent- 2 blocks from beach and 30sec stroll to Metro. Reception staff were helpful. Grounds are not very clean and pool is murky. Common areas need some TLC. Room was on first floor. It was small and spartan but ok. Bathroom was fine and aircon worked. We locked our valuables away in our cases as room doors were not overly secure. Housekeeping to rooms daily which was good. Very loud in evening and night. I think we were asking for it staying at hostel at Carnaval. If you're young and looking to party hard you might love this place. Breakfast was better than expected for hostel. Organised VW van tour through hostel which was great and also reasonably priced airport transfer. Our friend stayed in the 12 bed dorm, he advised us it was one of the worst hostels he stayed in during his 8 week holiday in Brazil, Argentina, Peru and Bolivia so I'd suggest finding somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a double room in very poor conditions (plugged toilets and water all around the shower, unsafe electrical outlets, very old painting on the wall) and on top of that, the staff was being or arrogant or absent. We really felt like we paid for being in Ipanema, but the service was far below what you may expect for the price we paid. I do not recommend the place

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chikoulini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This place looks really good on the website but its actually very rough round the edges.

It would have been OK normally but then my phone was stolen from my locked room on the first day. I didn't want to think it was the staff that had taken it but it turned out it was. Iasked the staff if anyone had handed a phone in and explained that it was in my locked room. The manage said it wasn't her problema nd was no help at all. I tracked the iphone using an app and it was still in the hotel. When I confronted the hotel staff about this they were very unhelpful and wouldn't help us contact the tourist police. While we were tryomng to get their help they were making several phone called to people. The phone then left the hotel and was tracked round the corner and the tracking went dead. The only people that could of got my that phone from the room was the hotel staff!!! The CCTV footage has conveinently not recorded for that part of the day.
Another person staying there said that in the previous week another phone had been stolen and an ipad.

Do not stay here. They are thieves. And then were very unhelpful and very rude. Its not worth the hassle.

Room Tip: Goto another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here with my partner on our final night of a week in Brazil before returning to Europe. We booked a private double room with private bathroom and were perfectly satisfied with what we got.
Pros:
The room was fine and clean, quirky and a comfortable bed (we actually had a spare single bed so guess it was technically a triple). The hostel itself was quite pretty, with decent amenities and a nice reception, the breakfast was fine, perfectly filling, and the staff were able to take care of our valuables in their safe on the day of our departure, as well as our luggage in a storeroom (accessible to all residents mind you). Location is good, convenient for the subway.

Cons:
The place was a little tired, and I wouldn't have been excited to spend much time in the communal areas
The staff were pretty miserable and seemed to be reluctant to speak to you in English in spite of having the ability (perhaps this was one girl particularly on reception)
The breakfast wasn't cleared up so we had to clear a table in order to have somewhere to sit and eat

Some real simple issues that could be fixed easily and make this place a haven in Ipanema. For what it was we were happy and would recommend it to others, but it wasn't our first choice and wouldn't remain to be, it's just all we could get at short notice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinglondoner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed in a double room with private bathroom and we did not enjoy our stay at all. Admittedly we are not backpackers, however we have stayed in budget accommodation before so had an idea of what to expect.

The hostel is a lot rougher around the edges than it appears on their website, and the pool is dirty, certainly not for swimming. Our room was tiny, we could barely fit our bags in. The bathroom didn't have hot water, the window was held open with a bottle and worse of all it smelt like sewerage. The bedroom had a window but no glass just netting, so we could hear all the noise from the bar and the smoke from people smoking downstairs came into the room. I think the rooms are overpriced compared with the quality of accommodation other places provide.

In terms of positives the staff were pleasant and the location was good. But even so I would not recommend staying here.

We ended up leaving this place and finding a bed and breakfast in a similar location - it was marginally more expensive but significantly more to our liking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amyf3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
463 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#10 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
180 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#7 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#11 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
1,159 reviews
Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
#33 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
396 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure House
Adventure House
#72 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 107, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $26 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonita Ipanema is located in one of the best spots of Rio de Janeiro, in the heart of Ipanema between Leblon, Copacabana and Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. The Pousada & Hostel is only 3 blocks away from Ipanema beach, next to all transports (subway, bus and taxi) and just a few steps from a great variety of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing