We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ipanema Wave Hostel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ipanema Flats(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
190
267
156
48
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
267
156
48
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocated close to the beachipanema beachgreat locationmetro stationrooms are basicnice breakfastenjoyed my stayrio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 718 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We were moved to Bonita after finding bed bugs in our mattress seams prior to our first night in Ipanema Beach House. Much nicer here and definately much cleaner. Room is made up every morning and bathrooms are small but clean enough. Common area is great and bar staff are super friendly. Pool looked really clean but didn't use it. Breakfast is excellent too. Not much I can put wrong here. Close to metro too and great area with supermarket close by. No communal kitchen though which kinda sucked. Great hostel though.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachy155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Bonita during the week of April 18th, this was a one of a kind experience.
We arrived at the hotel quite enthusiastic as it looks nice from the outside but our mood changed quickly after we talked to the receptionist. Very young and unprofessional, she felt compelled to indicate that she didn't like French people at all (we were 4 French travelling), always appreciable given that 1. we were about to spend 4 nights in this hotel and 2. we realised soon after that French people were the most represented guests (circa 50% I would say). The vocal receptionist tried then to make us pay more and actually managed to do so; affected by the jet lag and our long trip, we didn't spot that the price per person we paid was higher for a room for 4 than for a room for 3…!

Besides the unwelcoming and quite rough front desk staff (people at the bar are more friendly), the hotel itself is poor: very small rooms, badly isolated (could clearly hear the conversation of the room next to ours), sceptical about the water colour of the swimming pool: none of us even thought about trying!

The only pro of this hotel is its location, very close to the beach and in the heart of the lively Ipanema.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The Best Place to stay for 200 R$. We checked 5 recommended Pousadas and Hotels by Lonely Planet and Stefan Loose. This is the best.
+++
Located perfectly, near beach, catch the bus 511 or 512 for 2,50 to Pão de Açucár, Shops and Bars around
- rooms with private Bath, AC, Fan
- free WLAN
- Hang out Area with Pool and Bar
- TV Lounge with international programs
- Friendly Cat
- take Room 11 to 14 or 15 to 17
- friendly helpful staff, speaking english, but usually very busy

Not so nice:
- Rooms very small, no closet
- no Street Noise but Noise from the bar even in late hours
- As there are dormitories, this hotel is more of a hostel
- guests are pretty young
- breakfast is basic but okay
- there is a Favela entrance 200 m away, but there is no no danger at all

A good very clean place to enjoy Rio

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skypezuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The sheets and towels have suspicious yellowish spots on them. The showers appear to be cleaned once monthly and do not drain. No one here has heard of a mop. And I second the previous review- it is a party place complete with all the things that come with that: ie nasty bathrooms with no toilet paper because people might steal it. Not that you can even have a drink in the common area without buying it from their bar, which pumps jersey shore bump music. Awful. Wouldn't stay here for free- how much is your comfort and peace of mind worth? Coming back here at night puts a sour taste on any fun you had.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The website is misleading. If you are expecting a clean, cosy and comfortable place to stay, forget it! This is a party house.

No fans or air conditioning in communal areas, the rooms have lockers but you have to pay R$ 10 for a lock if you don't have one. Their is no ventilation in the bedroom so had to sleep with the door open even with the fan. The 12 room dorm has air conditioning but the 4 room dorm doesn't! and is more expensive...go figure!

Staff are okay but can't really be bothered.

Not an enjoyable stay and left 1 day early even though I paid for the room.

Don't stay here if you are looking for a comfortable hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristo3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews