We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #20 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 29, 2014

awesome location.. exactly in the middle of copacabana. beach view rooms. compact and basic compared to US hotels. you have the room only to crash for the night so its okay :) ... nice spread for breakfast -- especially the tropical fresh fruits and pastries; good room service at reasonable prices as well...

very helpful staff at reception -- they speak good english and helped us with calling restaurants to check for vegetarian options, called up taxi for airport ride. they even hailed cabs every single time and gave the destination details to the drivers in portuguese.. that avoided us a lot of hassle since taxi drivers do not understand/speak english.. housekeeping staff were really courteous.. we called couple of times to get things like bandaid etc., and they sent it promptly to the room. they even stored our luggage for few hours before check in (arrived at 10 am) and more hours after checkout since we had a late night flight... this was in addition to the early check-in and late check-out they gave us.

if I were to pick on something, it would be the extra charge for accessing wifi in the room.. since we were on a vacation and wanted to be disconnected it worked well... we could connect for free at the lobby and the pool though.

overall, a nice place to stay on copacabana.

Room Tip: go for the full beach view (deluxe room).. it is wonderful to see the beach through the full glass p...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank svnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,897)
There are newer reviews for Arena Copacabana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at Arena Copacabana for two days. The best of the hotel are the location and the kind people from reception. Rooms well cleaned and confortable. The coffee in the morning is very well served with fruits and natural juices.

Room Tip: rooms with a view to the sea!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zenilda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and across the street from the beach. Staff was awesome and English speaking. They even will give you beach towels if you ask. Pool up top was perfect. We spent a lot of time during the day and at night relaxing up there. The only annoying thing was there was no (free) wifi in the rooms...common now it's 2014. A spa would have been sweet too but that's just being spoiled.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nikkitacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Arena is right in the middle of the Copacabana Beach. Great views from the rooftop pool terrace as well as from the ground floor restaurant serving an excellent included breakfast. The only negative is the finicky elevators. That must read room cards to access your floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest thank you very much for express your experience at Arena Hotel.
The guest comments are very importante to us in order to avaliete our service.
We do hope see you back in Rio some day.
Sincerely
Aroldo Salles
FO MGR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Hotel is a beachfront property. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is good and plentiful. This is not a big chain hotel and I picked it because of its reviews. Perfect accommodations.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Norma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Arena is the first place I stayed at in Rio. Obviously right on the Copacabana, what more could you wish for as an intro to Rio. Great place, comfortable clean room, good reception service, excellent wifi speed. Of course the centre piece of the hotel is the roof swimming pool and bar, the barman has good control of the caparinha making process. Pity I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is good, the staff mostly speak english and are very helpful! I'm actually writing this from my room at the hotel right now. I ordered a pizza tonight (hey, I was tired and this was easy :) ) however, I won't make that mistake again. It could've been a really good pizza there's just one thing wrong.... they didn't cook the dough long enough. So, instead of a crispy thin crust it was like I took a Tostinos when I was a kid and microwaved it.... Also, the bed for me is hard as a rock! Not a fan. Besides those two things I'd still stay here again. Just because the staff has been so great!

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the beach, it's worth the little extra!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11Archer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
741 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#59 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,321 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $127 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing