We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unfriendly staff, Good location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #12 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff, Good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Location was good ,staff seems to think they doing you a favour by just being at work...
There were no greetings from anyone apart from when we checked in (reception)and we stayed 5 nights?!
Most of the time I felt invisible and ignored in this place and I would not return to this hotel , there's a Marriott Hotel within 100yds and if I was going back I would definetely stay there instead.

Room Tip: Ocean view on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinderela71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    636
    141
    34
    25
See reviews for
243
808
96
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel just to be in the middle of the Rio beachfront New Year's celebration. First two nights rate was $405 w/o tax and next 3 over New Years (from Dec 30 - Jan 1st) was $780 w/o tax. One of the primary and only amenities of the hotel is the small roof top pool and bar which is open to the hotel guests all day through midnight for drinks, food, and amazing views of Copacabana. The roof pool/bar is really special and makes up for the small rooms, hard bed, so/so buffet breakfast relative to the price of the hotel rooms. We loved our days leading up to New Years as we had evening cocktails on the roof bar and wondered how cool the Copacabana fireworks would be from this venue only available to hotel guests.

New Year's Eve this morning we take a early morning tour to Christ Redeemer, return to our hotel room at 10AM and have a letter on our bed saying that the roof top pool bar was to be closed to hotel guests at 1PM to get ready for the hotel's "New Years Eve Cocktail Party" which we were only welcome to attend if we paid 1,200 BR Reals + 10% service tax per person (approximately total over $1,200 for me any my wife).

Unbelievable. No one at booking or at check-in at the hotel told us that we had to pay over $800 with tax to stay at a hotel on New Years night plus pay another $1,200 for us to enjoy the rooftop pool/bar for one of the world's best firework show.

Really disappointed in the non-disclosure at Hotels.com when we booked and when we checked in at the hotel by hotel staff. To inform hotel guests by a memo left on their bed when paying the full rate of every other night is entirely unprofessional. Amazingly no hotel employee even tried to entice guests to the event or offer a discounted rate. Most guests at the roof/top pool seemed annoyed to be run off at 1 PM today so that the hotel could essentially double book the hotel amenities to make more money for the hotel at the detriment of the hotel guests

Hotel Arena - you owe your guests an apology if nothing less.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riu-Las-Olas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, good breakfast, clean, but what my wife and i enjoyed the most was the magnificent view of the Copacabana beach just in front of our widnow.
The large window ended on the floor and when we wake up the first thing we were seen from our bed was the beach!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitrisSakellaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position, which faces the seafront and is close to some restaurants and shops. Rio is an expensive city to stay in, and as such this hotel provides good facilities for the price you pay. There is a small roof top pool with sunbathing area and bar that has great views over Copacabana beach and a side view of Christ the redeemer statue. There is also a small gym and steam room, which is little used and has no changing facilities or lockers. We had to ask for the steam room to be turned on because it had not been used for so long, and then leave our bags and towels in the corridor.

Our room (210) was a standard double room which contained the usual modern facilities and aircon. We knew that it was unlikely to have a sea view but we were not prepared for a view of ceramic tiles and an extract fan, within a few feet of our window. We asked for a change of room because of the noise, and the disinterested staff offered us room 310 – one floor immediately above with exactly the same view! That said, after going out for the day and asking again we were able to secure a room on the 10th floor away from the fans. This might be unusual service because we arrived at the tail end of a national holiday in November, but it was not a good start to our holiday.

The pool bar staff were friendly but others seemed to be not bothered in helping, but that may be due to the very limited amount of English that was spoken in Rio and our nearly non-existent Portuguese. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but it was an extensive buffet with a variety of dishes and fruit juices. It was nice to be able to have breakfast and look out onto the seafront drive, knowing that people outside were unable to see into the dining room. During the day, we made good use of the beach front juice bars and in the evening we tried local restaurants & bars. Restaurant Villar (45A Paula Freitas) was near to the hotel, the staff were very friendly and the food was good and plentiful. The Belmont restaurant (Rua Bolivar) was a 15 minute walk but well worth it – a lively atmosphere, colonial surroundings and good food/wines. Pavao Azul (Rua Hilario de Gouveia) was a ten minute walk and was a great find – a popular local pavement bar, which does very good tapas and a selection of beers.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 210/11 or 310/11 as they face the extract fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Rio, great staff and our room was excellent... what more could we ask for? The staff helped us with every step of our trip in Rio, from restaurant recommendations, directions to currency houses to making phone calls on our behalf... perfect staff. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. The location was incredible, we were steps from the beach which really makes a difference. The rooftop bar / view is incredible. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel when / if we return to Rio, there would be no other choice for us it was that good. The breakfast was only average in our opinion so beware, but that isn't too important to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK_Bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our first trip to South America and we did a lot of research on hotels in Rio. Since the choices are limited and are either very expensive or what seemed to be more 2 or 3 star options, we were very pleased with the Arena Copacabana. The location is excellent, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach and views from the roof and oceanview rooms are great! The staff was very helpful and as mentioned by others, having an English speaking staff available is very important as English is not widely spoken or understood in the city. The rooms are clean and very basic but were fine for what we needed during our 3 night stay. The hotel breakfast offered a lot of options and was good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a top notch location and very good accommodations at a good value.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with an ocean view, they are larger rooms and the windows are floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very good value for money, staff was helpful and did speak English. It is a great advantage in Brazil, as communication in other language than Portuguese is generally very difficult. One shortcoming: no hot water jug in the hotel room, the same was in Sao Paulo hotel where we stayed. Breakfast was good and a glass of sparkling vino with breakfast was a nice touch.
View of the beach is really great, it was a pleasant stay, but for Taxi drivers….


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#5 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#36 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#28 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing