We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relatively good in an expensive city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relatively good in an expensive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position, which faces the seafront and is close to some restaurants and shops. Rio is an expensive city to stay in, and as such this hotel provides good facilities for the price you pay. There is a small roof top pool with sunbathing area and bar that has great views over Copacabana beach and a side view of Christ the redeemer statue. There is also a small gym and steam room, which is little used and has no changing facilities or lockers. We had to ask for the steam room to be turned on because it had not been used for so long, and then leave our bags and towels in the corridor.

Our room (210) was a standard double room which contained the usual modern facilities and aircon. We knew that it was unlikely to have a sea view but we were not prepared for a view of ceramic tiles and an extract fan, within a few feet of our window. We asked for a change of room because of the noise, and the disinterested staff offered us room 310 – one floor immediately above with exactly the same view! That said, after going out for the day and asking again we were able to secure a room on the 10th floor away from the fans. This might be unusual service because we arrived at the tail end of a national holiday in November, but it was not a good start to our holiday.

The pool bar staff were friendly but others seemed to be not bothered in helping, but that may be due to the very limited amount of English that was spoken in Rio and our nearly non-existent Portuguese. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but it was an extensive buffet with a variety of dishes and fruit juices. It was nice to be able to have breakfast and look out onto the seafront drive, knowing that people outside were unable to see into the dining room. During the day, we made good use of the beach front juice bars and in the evening we tried local restaurants & bars. Restaurant Villar (45A Paula Freitas) was near to the hotel, the staff were very friendly and the food was good and plentiful. The Belmont restaurant (Rua Bolivar) was a 15 minute walk but well worth it – a lively atmosphere, colonial surroundings and good food/wines. Pavao Azul (Rua Hilario de Gouveia) was a ten minute walk and was a great find – a popular local pavement bar, which does very good tapas and a selection of beers.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 210/11 or 310/11 as they face the extract fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    617
    139
    34
    22
See reviews for
232
783
92
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Rio, great staff and our room was excellent... what more could we ask for? The staff helped us with every step of our trip in Rio, from restaurant recommendations, directions to currency houses to making phone calls on our behalf... perfect staff. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. The location was incredible, we were steps from the beach which really makes a difference. The rooftop bar / view is incredible. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel when / if we return to Rio, there would be no other choice for us it was that good. The breakfast was only average in our opinion so beware, but that isn't too important to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK_Bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our first trip to South America and we did a lot of research on hotels in Rio. Since the choices are limited and are either very expensive or what seemed to be more 2 or 3 star options, we were very pleased with the Arena Copacabana. The location is excellent, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach and views from the roof and oceanview rooms are great! The staff was very helpful and as mentioned by others, having an English speaking staff available is very important as English is not widely spoken or understood in the city. The rooms are clean and very basic but were fine for what we needed during our 3 night stay. The hotel breakfast offered a lot of options and was good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a top notch location and very good accommodations at a good value.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with an ocean view, they are larger rooms and the windows are floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very good value for money, staff was helpful and did speak English. It is a great advantage in Brazil, as communication in other language than Portuguese is generally very difficult. One shortcoming: no hot water jug in the hotel room, the same was in Sao Paulo hotel where we stayed. Breakfast was good and a glass of sparkling vino with breakfast was a nice touch.
View of the beach is really great, it was a pleasant stay, but for Taxi drivers….


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel with amazing views of Copacabana and Rio. It's not cheap but compared to other hotels in the area totally worth it. The rooms are spacious and modern, the terrace on the top floor is spectacular

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont Victoria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our stay in Rio de Janeiro was wonderful. This hotel is in a fantastic location, directly across the road from Copacabana Beach. The road is quite wide and not too busy. It is interesting to watch all the fitness people running, walking, cycling along the footpath and playing beach volleyball, soccer, weight lifting, balancing, massage etc on the beach. View from top of hotel is amazing - you can see all the attractions in the vicinity. Hotel is a little dated but clean and comfortable. Internet available in rooms but not always good strong connection. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethy641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Superior room: on the side of the hotel with limited sea view - only some of the rooms had proper double beds, while others had twin beds put together. The double bed was very good and firm. The room was tidy and decent sized with good shower and well-functioning AC. The hotel itself is on the Copacabana beach, which is quite touristic but otherwise a great location. There is a 24H supermarket around the corner. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful (helped to get tickets to a football match, etc.). The hotel restaurant is not that good, but breakfast is pretty nice.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have limited sea view, on each floor the 02 room has a double bed while at least 01 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,973 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#7 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#5 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#10 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,073 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,872 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing