We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Working in Brazil”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first time I have stayed at the Arena having found another hotel that I tend to use for convenience. I have to say I was very impressed and will definitely stay in the future. Breakfast was much better than most of the Copacobana hotels I have stayed in previously. Room was clean and spacious and had everything you would expect in it. There was a small pool on the rooftop next to the bar and the views over the beach, across to the Corcovada and the Sugar Loaf are stunning. Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaP4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    710
    152
    41
    25
See reviews for
268
915
102
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Generally a conveniently located hotel on the Copacabana beach which is generally very pleasant spotlessly clean and well run. Rooms are spacious and convenient, room minibar is well equipped. Breakfast (typically included) is good, wifi available throughout the hotel (though for a reasonable fee unless included in the package) and is fast and easily accessible, rooftop bar offers a great view of the strip and the Atlantic, and fitness center on that floor is small but well equipped. The only nuisance is the security inspired key based access in the elevator to go to up to one's room which does not work very well (requires several reinsertions of the key). Hotel staff friendly and usually speaks good English.Would have been nice though has the management provided, as is common elsewhere, with complimentary bottle of water.

Room Tip: try negotiate for breakfast and WIFI to be included in room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights. Friendly staff with helpful suggestions, clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast spread. We managed to get a room on the top floor near the pool, it faces the side of the hotel with partial views of Copacabana beach and Christ the redeemer. Very good location, directly on Copacabana, 5 mins walk down from the copacabana palace, relatively safe. Lots of touristy cafes and restaurants along the beach front and smaller souvenir shops, havaianas & supermarket 10-15 mins walking distance. The metro is also approx 10-15 mins walk away. Free wifi at the lobby and the pool terrace on the top floor. no complains except its expensive but that applies to all hotels in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very central hotel on Copacabana, perfect location. Good and helpful reception staff.
Try the excellent views from the rooftop pool area!

You won't find many excellent hotels in Rio, I have no idea why. So actually Arena is in the upper regions from Rio perspective. The average hotel price in Rio is high, this is no exception, but the price/value ratio is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FASttRaveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on a first trip to Brazil. We arrived at 5pm and was warmly greeted by the very polite and helpful lady on Reception. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a frontal sea view room on the 7th floor.

Room had fabulous views and hotel was a great location right on Copa beach and one block from the main bus route and approx 10 mins to the metro. We took advantage of the location and walked or used local transport to get around with help from the reception staff.

Breakfast in the morning was buffet style but did not offer as many hot variations as we had expected. 2 choices usually scrambled eggs and a daily different choice of chopped sausages in tomato sauce, chicken soup, sliced tomato with grated cheese and porridge. There were lots of fruit and breads to choose from and we made daily use of the George Foreman grill to make panini's.
The offer of Champagne each morning was a lovely touch even though we declined as it was a little early for us.
The lady on reception always had a smile on her face and even greeted us in English which was lovely and appreciated.

The rooftop views were amazing and you could see Christ the Redeemer and Copa beach. It was lovely to sit and watch the world go by or even sunbathe if the beach is not for you. As previously mentioned the pool is more for a dip rather than a swim but nevertheless we were not here for that.

Overall a fantastic stay and much improved by the excellent service from the lady on recpetion who assisted us not on on check in but also on check out by extending our check out time and ensuring we were looked after right up until our departure for our midnight flight.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and worth the last minute change from a a previously booked 5* hotel further up the beach.

Room Tip: a frontal sea view room was fantastic and you could people watch from the comfort of your own bed- w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBholaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

..Our first trip to Brazil and we stayed 3 nights and unfortunately it was during a football match between Spain and Brazil...so the room I got has no view and with unpleasant odor...'had a problem with plumbing and a repairman has to come to the room twice to fix it....
But I am pleased with the staffs' efficiency and eagerness to help....

Room Tip: choose a room with a view and on a higher floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Picked up this room with a last-minute deal, saving a fair amount and upping the value aspect. The hotel room and common areas were very clean, the service staff very helpful and almost always courteous, and the location (across the road from Copacabana beach) was fantastic. It was an easy walk to many great restaurants, to Ipanema, and a very short cab ride to Sugarloaf. Make sure to take advantage of the rooftop pool/bar and the delicious breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clauseckbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,318 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,633 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,241 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,119 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing