We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Wonderful Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Wonderful Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this nicely-located hotel in mid-June. Our 10th floor ocean-front suite was comfortable, quiet, and had beautiful views of the beachfront. Breakfast was delicious, with dozens of items to choose from, especially fresh fruit. But what impressed us even more favorably was the staff: helpful, friendly, professional, and able to communicate with us very well in our own language (English -- we only knew a little Spanish and even less Portuguese). We are glad we chose this hotel!

Room Tip: Ocean view, at least a few floors up from the street, for the views and the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    691
    148
    40
    25
See reviews for
257
882
102
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Arena Copacabana for 3 nights in mid June. We had switched hotels shortly before our visit based on the reviews for this hotel and we are pleased we did so.

The hotel is expensive, yes, but that seems to be the norm for hotels in South America, Rio in particular. We were upgraded to a sea view room and the view was absolutely incredible - if you can, opt for a view of the beach as it took our breath away. If not, the view from the roof top bar is equally as amazing, and the caipirinha's are excellent - a great way to spend a few hours.

The rooms, whilst nothing special - were spacious, clean and comfortable. The aircon was efficient and the shower good.

The location, in the middle of Copacabana Beach was great for us - when we walked anywhere we didnt take any belongings other than a credit card - and we always felt safe for this reason. In the evenings we got taxi's with ease. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful - even providing us with numerous adaptors to switch our British plugs to Brazillian.

The breakfast was plentiful and varied - it was nice to have decent porridge on offer, I rarely find that in hotels and my husband loved the chocolate cake! They even offered champagne on some of the mornings which was a nice touch.

Whilst I would be tempted to try Impanema for hotels if I visited again, I do think that staying on Copacabana Beach is special - and the view is worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you can opt for a sea view - simply incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest.
We appreciated very much your comments on TripAdvisor.
The guest satisfaction is our permanent goal. We will share with our staff your comments and we are sure they will be proud of your impressions.
Best Regards.
Aroldo Salles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The day I checked in a tourist showed up in the reception asking for help cause a thieve just took his IPhone and Money, the guy at the desk said that he will report it and keep a record in the "Black Book" and that the tourist can complain to the tourist office... 2 days later after talking to a lot of people I realized the beach wasn't full... And they told me that IPANEMA is the new & safest location, copacabana is old and unsafe...
Also, if you bring any visit to the hotel, they charge $ 200 R which is around $100USD and the visit can just stay from 11pm to 7am....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AArtigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest thank you for your impressions of Copacabana and our Hotel.

Copacabana is part of a big city as many in the world and where the same
situations may happen.
The guest you notice reporting a robbery had his belongs stolen in the street not
Inside the Hotel. The clerk on duty took the proper manner to help the guest, reporting to management and guiding the guest to Tourist Police Office.
The Arena Hotel is proud of his service and location as well the tradition of Copacabana.

Sincerely yours
Aroldo Salles
FO Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an amazing location. You can walk to the Beaches and have easy access to sites. It was safe and friendly. The rooftop bar was a great place to sit and they didn't pressure you to buy. It was nice to wait here after we had checked out of our room. The room was very clean and comfortable but it was at the back and we did not have a view, all we could see were walls but not sure you would be sat in room. Tv had english channels. Would have liked a small bottle of water on arrival but doesn't seem to happen in Brazil. The Breakfast was good and nice Dining Room.

Room Tip: May be worth getting sea view, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am writing this review live from the lobby of this property.

I have been waiting for someone to open my room door for 35 minutes.

I was just informed they have to get the manager, who lives 10 minutes away, to get my door open.

Attitude in the reception is the worst any guest can ever get. A simple "i don't care" look and no action whatsoever to solve my problem.

Don't book this hotel!

Don't stay here!

This is the 30th time I have been to Rio and I can't believe this is happening.

Room Tip: Anywhere else is much better than this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salosmaletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good hotel, great location, the breakfast cannot be better and pretty complete. The rooms are ok, however if you can, upgrade it is worth it to have at least the partial ocean view or full view.
The top floor terrace is great, the view is unbeatable. Service is OK, and it depends on who you get, some people are warmer and more inviting to tourists, others do not seem to care.
Overall, a stay I would recommend if staying in RIO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is great. Very expensive, but Rio is very expensive. Discounted the outrageous pricey city, Arena worth a try!

It is important to notice that the hotel is located in Copacabana beach. Beach view. Gorgeous. But it is close to not so beautiful N. S. Copacabana Ave. In other words: don't expect to find so 4 star places near the hotel, like pretty good restaurants. To go to really nice places excluding the beach, you need to get a cab. Leblon or Ipanema are better places to stay, but they are even more expensive!

So, if you want to stay at Copacabana beach, Arena IS the place. Nice service, wonderful shower and good wireless internet (not excellent just because the continuously asking for user/password at cell phones).

Room Tip: Beach front view and higher floors. If it is not possible, since it is more expensive, lateral view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#8 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#46 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing