We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early check-in, top service and great location! Book now!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Early check-in, top service and great location! Book now!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got to the hotel before 9am and were positively surprised when we were told we could go to our rooms. During our stay, staff was super friendly and helpful. Even if you don't have a room with a view to the sea, you can go to the pool or bar at the terrace and have the most unforgettable view of Copacabana, the Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer.
We have decided that this will always be our address in Rio!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaundLindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    682
    147
    39
    25
See reviews for
252
868
101
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a good, 4-star hotel. However, it has a couple of major drawbacks that prevent an outstanding rating.

Here is the good, the bad, and the ugly:

The Good: The rooms were nicely sized and recently renovated with attractive wood paneling. The front-desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean with great housekeeping service. The location is excellent, near the middle of Copacabana. There is an awesome breakfast buffet (included) with tons of fresh fruit, pastries, and scrambled eggs. The bed was very comfortable. And how can you argue with a view of Copacabana beach from your room? The pool on the top floor was nice, but small.

The Bad: Internet! This is an expensive hotel so naturally you must pay extra for the Internet. (I don't detract the hotel for that -- it is standard practice.) However, paid Internet should be fast and reliable, and Arena's is neither. There are frequent dropouts (as if the access points were over-subscribed) and the connection was slow. Do NOT choose this hotel is you need a good, reliable connection.

The Ugly: The elevators! My God, where to begin? The army has an expression for the elevators here: Charlie Foxtrot. This is an eleven-story hi-rise. There are only two elevators, and one was broken for the entirety of our three-night stay. You could easily wait 5 minutes for an elevator.

Compounding the problem was an absolutely brain-damaged "security" system. You must swipe your room key in the elevator and then press your (and only your) floor. However, the mechanism is wildly unreliable. Over and over, I rode the elevator with people madly swiping their key card trying to get a green light. This system was obviously installed with security in mind, but it is a total sham: the stairway is fully unlocked, and you can roam from floor to floor at will through the stairs.

The elevators were a frustrating and aggravating experience -- not something a good hotel should force on their guests for days on end.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was my first time in Rio and we had a great time at this friendly hotel. It has a great location overlooking Copacabana beach. It has a great rooftop pool area with a bar that serves drinks and snacks where you can relax. They also do a great breakfast!

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room on the upper floors overlooking the beach. Its worth it! Its nearer to go to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonerSE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perfectly okay hotel, nothing spectacular compared with any other city for the price. Good views from rooftop, but very small area which closes at 10.30pm. One lift not working in 5 days and key cards rarely worked first time. Internet very expensive but you can pick up wifi in lobby free! No iron or board but $12 for hotel to iron one flimsy dress. Use travel agency on corner which is much more knowledgeable about tours. We spent four hours hanging around for a bus reception told us about. When we returned they called and were told that this company didn't operate any more! They should have known that. Reluctant to give extensions if you have a late flight. Even though I was told hotel was full I could have booked 3 rooms online for that night!

Room Tip: Even a side room has views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpinton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Situated on the main road of the Copacabana beach, the Arena hotel is in agreat location. The top floor has a bar,swimming pool and panoramic view including Sugarloaf mountain and Christ the redeemer. We did not have any view from our room (910) which overlooked the inner yard. However this was not a problem for us as we were only staying for 3 nights and spent most of the time out of our room.
The staff were many and very helpfull;especially the reception staff who spoke very good English and made very good recommendations for places to eat.
Breakfast was adequate but lacked variation of hot dishes.
Would stay here again on future visits.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Copacabana beach or a sideroom. NOT a room facing the inside yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyowlOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 2 days and we enjoyed. The hotel in general has a beautiful design and it's clean, bed and pillow comfortable, we had the sea view room. Staff was very friendly but then I speak Portuguese so I found them very helpful and polite. The food on the pool bar was very good and quite cheap, good big portions. There's not enough lounges by the pool so get there early if you want to sunbath. Copacabana beach is lovely and very cheap but it's not the best beach, that area is mid class so don't expect to see really nice restaurants, bars, shops etc Ipanema is a high class area with a lots of options to go out but it's quite expensive.
The breakfast wasn't great, not much option on hot food, the 2 days I ate there it was only eggs and sausage as hot food.
I still recommend this hotel as its lovely but one down side is the lift that's very slow and one was broken for the entire length of my stay, so many times I had to wait over 10min to get in the lift.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrissyModel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I read the reviews from the different hotels that were on Av Atlantica, Rio de Janeiro and I chose this hotel. From the reviews, I knew the beds were hard. I could live with that. The bathroom sink emptied very slowly and the shower handle came off the wall. Again, I could live with these problems. We had a scary incident. It was midnight and my husband and I were asleep. We were sure we had the dead bolt on. My husband heard the door beep, open and a woman came into our room. He yelled at her and she said, "Mr. Johnson." and quickly left. We called the desk and the night clerk said it was house keeping. In the morning, we spoke with the day clerk and he said the woman was a tour guide who had a universal key. I chaperoned tour trip and I was never given a "univesal key." To enter the hotel floors, you needed your room key to start the elevator. You can decide what was going to take place in our hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing