We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not everything is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
460 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not everything is ok”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A number of things let this hotel down. We had continual problems with the room security key particularly in the lift. Not uncommon to make several journeys befor arriving at your required floor. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. One thing ours did not have is drawers. The pool and gym are very small. In our eyes it is wrong for the hotel to claim they have a swimming pool and gymnasium. A splash pool and a few machines would be correct. Buffet breakfast was very good with a wide selection. Only problem we had they had only one two slice domestic toaster. Most mornings there were up to forty guests so toast was a problem. It's a good friendly clean hotel but not four star.

Room Tip: Front is best but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    701
    151
    41
    25
See reviews for
264
897
102
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had the last night of our Honeymoon here after 2 weeks in Argentina, and it was a great last night. The location is ideal for Copacabana Beach, hotel is modern and clean, very good breakfast selection. Rooftop bar was wonderful to watch the sun set with a Caipirinha in hand. There wasn't a concierge desk as such, but the receptionists went through boxes of leaflets to help us get the contact details for the trips we were looking at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent a week there from Dec 26 - Jan 2. Clearly *THE* place to be for the New Years as the hotel in centrally located along the Copacabana beach. The room was clean but very minimalist (we stayed in the 'luxury' room which is basically an Ocean View. We were *very* disappointed to learn that the nice rooftop bar was closed to 'regular' guests on New Year's Eve for viewing the fireworks. Only the people who paid an extra $500 USD pp for the 'dinner' package were allowed up there. Considering the premium we were charged for the 4 night minimum around the New Year holiday, this was a bit tough to take. However, we ended up having a great time mixing with the 2 million Cariocas on the beach for an absolute stunning time.

The breakfast was very good and a wide variety was served. The staff was very helpful as well and overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blam2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a decent hotel, located right across the copacabana beach. There are lot of restaurants nearby.

While location is great, the hotel itself is decent. The room keys often end up not working (we changed ours three times in a four day stay) and they tried to promote a free visit to a jewellery store during the last stay of the visit (thankfully, our tour guide Luis warned us about this). One of the days, we decided to go to the roof top pool / bar but it was rented out to a company private party. In spite of this, we were asked to go ahead and have a seat but no one showed up for 30 minutes to take the order and we ended up leaving (fancy mingling around with dressed up holiday party in casual wear).

Their personell at the tour helped us get the taxi service few times but were not helpful in telling the taxi clearly were to go.

Overall, I would rank this as nothing more than a typical US three star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCB0607
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here Dec. 20-29 and thought this hotel was great! The pool is more of a plunge pool, but I don't think you would need anything more because it's not really a kid-friendly place. The breakfast had great fruit and a selection of breads. Room service was OK, but there's so many close restaurant options that we should have just gone out to eat. Our room (1307) was on the 13th floor facing the beach, so we didn't have any issues with noise like some of the other reviewers. The beds are very firm, but I didn't think it was a problem. The elevators are a bit small and you must insert your key card (which never, ever works the first time) to access the pool and rooms, but that was a minor nuisance. We did have some language barriers, but that's our fault for not speaking the language of the country we were visiting! There's a grocery store right around the corner (walk out of the hotel, take a right, then take a left at the first cross street and it is half way down the block, down a few stairs). Over all, we thought this was a great price in a great location! We would definitely recommend it to friends. Be careful walking at night, even near the hotel, because groups of favela children linger all up and down Av. Atlantica. They stole my neckace right off my my neck! Obviously, not the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of. . .

Room Tip: 1307 was a great room, it was worth a little more money to have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and Victor and his colleagues helped us with an itinery we enjoyed! The trip coincided with my 40th and I was not disappointed. great lication, views from pool and room. rooftop pool was awesome and overll A great 40th!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochenfaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here December 25-29 2012. The hotel was expensive, but not bad considering it is directly across from the beach. The hotel is clean, the breakfast buffet was very good. The beds are very firm. We did have a mushroom growing in a crack in the floor of our room due to moisture from the bathroom. We were on the top floor next to the pool, which was convenient but could be noisy at night because of the pool bar. The pool area is small but nice. You may have to wait for a while for sun chairs. They should put more sun chairs on the second level above the pool. From the pool deck you can see the Christ The Redeemer statue. I mark this hotel down because they are not the friendliest staff. Improvements in customer service would result in a higher rating. That being said, we took a day tour one day and the tour guide said that due to the shortage of hotel rooms in Rio, 1 and 2 star hotels were claiming to be 3 and 4 star hotels and charging those prices. I don't think that was the case here. Overall, this is a nice tourist hotel. I would return. I generally stay at Hilton hotels to give you a sense of my standard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#12 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing