We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$148
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$214
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$500
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,085)
Filter reviews
2,085 results
Traveler rating
1,053
789
165
47
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,053
789
165
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barchrist the redeemersea viewcorner suitesmall pooltop floorplunge poolfront desk staffmodern hotelbreakfast buffetperfect locationsuperior roomoverlooking the beachsugarloaf mountainfresh fruitsugar loafspoke english
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 2,085 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent a week there from Dec 26 - Jan 2. Clearly *THE* place to be for the New Years as the hotel in centrally located along the Copacabana beach. The room was clean but very minimalist (we stayed in the 'luxury' room which is basically an Ocean View. We were *very* disappointed to learn that the nice rooftop bar was closed to 'regular' guests on New Year's Eve for viewing the fireworks. Only the people who paid an extra $500 USD pp for the 'dinner' package were allowed up there. Considering the premium we were charged for the 4 night minimum around the New Year holiday, this was a bit tough to take. However, we ended up having a great time mixing with the 2 million Cariocas on the beach for an absolute stunning time.

The breakfast was very good and a wide variety was served. The staff was very helpful as well and overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blam2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a decent hotel, located right across the copacabana beach. There are lot of restaurants nearby.

While location is great, the hotel itself is decent. The room keys often end up not working (we changed ours three times in a four day stay) and they tried to promote a free visit to a jewellery store during the last stay of the visit (thankfully, our tour guide Luis warned us about this). One of the days, we decided to go to the roof top pool / bar but it was rented out to a company private party. In spite of this, we were asked to go ahead and have a seat but no one showed up for 30 minutes to take the order and we ended up leaving (fancy mingling around with dressed up holiday party in casual wear).

Their personell at the tour helped us get the taxi service few times but were not helpful in telling the taxi clearly were to go.

Overall, I would rank this as nothing more than a typical US three star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here Dec. 20-29 and thought this hotel was great! The pool is more of a plunge pool, but I don't think you would need anything more because it's not really a kid-friendly place. The breakfast had great fruit and a selection of breads. Room service was OK, but there's so many close restaurant options that we should have just gone out to eat. Our room (1307) was on the 13th floor facing the beach, so we didn't have any issues with noise like some of the other reviewers. The beds are very firm, but I didn't think it was a problem. The elevators are a bit small and you must insert your key card (which never, ever works the first time) to access the pool and rooms, but that was a minor nuisance. We did have some language barriers, but that's our fault for not speaking the language of the country we were visiting! There's a grocery store right around the corner (walk out of the hotel, take a right, then take a left at the first cross street and it is half way down the block, down a few stairs). Over all, we thought this was a great price in a great location! We would definitely recommend it to friends. Be careful walking at night, even near the hotel, because groups of favela children linger all up and down Av. Atlantica. They stole my neckace right off my my neck! Obviously, not the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of. . .

Room Tip: 1307 was a great room, it was worth a little more money to have a beach view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and Victor and his colleagues helped us with an itinery we enjoyed! The trip coincided with my 40th and I was not disappointed. great lication, views from pool and room. rooftop pool was awesome and overll A great 40th!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jochenfaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here December 25-29 2012. The hotel was expensive, but not bad considering it is directly across from the beach. The hotel is clean, the breakfast buffet was very good. The beds are very firm. We did have a mushroom growing in a crack in the floor of our room due to moisture from the bathroom. We were on the top floor next to the pool, which was convenient but could be noisy at night because of the pool bar. The pool area is small but nice. You may have to wait for a while for sun chairs. They should put more sun chairs on the second level above the pool. From the pool deck you can see the Christ The Redeemer statue. I mark this hotel down because they are not the friendliest staff. Improvements in customer service would result in a higher rating. That being said, we took a day tour one day and the tour guide said that due to the shortage of hotel rooms in Rio, 1 and 2 star hotels were claiming to be 3 and 4 star hotels and charging those prices. I don't think that was the case here. Overall, this is a nice tourist hotel. I would return. I generally stay at Hilton hotels to give you a sense of my standard.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank DC_Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews