We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient hotel in front of Copacabana beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #15 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel in front of Copacabana beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is nice, recenlty renewed, with basic, clean rooms. Breakfast is very good with a good choice of food. Rooms can be a bit noisy. I haven't been to the roof swimming pool as Copacabana beach is conveniently right in front of the hotel, just across the street, so I couldn't miss it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    682
    148
    39
    25
See reviews for
252
868
101
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very very nicely decorated and tenovated hotel. We got a free upgrade to full sea view room but even our side sea room view was awesome as you got t osee christ the redeemer from it too. Staff very efficient,friend;y and helpful, location great on Copacabana, love;y poolside bar and restaurant on roof. Cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: The side sea view rooms are lovely if you cant afford the full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BajeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice: five days at the beginnig of our trip and two at the end. It is a new modern hotel, in a great location on Copacabana beach. Staff is friendly and helpful both in the reception and in the restaurant which serves a reach breakfast. Rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant offers also a great menu for dinner and we choosed to eat there in most of the evenings. Price is not cheap but this is Rio. We feel that we got a good value for what we paid.
On our second stay after a trip around Brazil the reception clerk upgraded us to a better room without asking for higher payment. I cannot comment about the spa as we did not use it, but it looks nice.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room in a higher store. It is more expensive but worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes, it's expensive. But hotels in Rio are not cheap. So after doing some research, this one offered more than other hotels with the same price. It's right in front of Copacabana beach! The room and bathroom were new, good, comfy.. the pool was AMAZING! We walked on the street at night and had no problem (although it was just us, 1 credit card and a camera - no bags, no jewelry, nothing else.) If you wanna go to Ipanema beach, just get on the van (lotação) in front of the hotel and pay 2 or 3 reais. Taxi drivers overprice their trips when they know you're at Arena.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaBoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a great time during our recent 4 day stay in Rio. The hotel was perfectly located in the middle of the Copacabana strip with the beach on your doorstep. Facilities were modern and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were friendly. We actually found the beds very comfortable.

Only negative aspects were 1.No kettle/tea-coffee making facilities for the price, and 2. No free internet.

Room Tip: Corner suites or front sea view rooms. The higher the better.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has great things going for it.

As new building, across the road from the centre of Cocacabana beach, most required services in the next street, nice clean well equipped modern functional rooms.

Breakfast was basic but "ok", fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee, cereals, toast, baked goods, little to no hot foods except luke warm scrambled egg.

However, the main reason for staying in a hotel is to get sleep.

I don't think there would be much difference between the beds and sleeping on the floor they was as hard as I have ever experienced in 40 years of travelling.

A complaint to reception was met with a shrug of the shoulders and a "tell someone who cares" attitude as were several other requests to reception.

If the beds were changed, would definitely stay again, otherwise no - I can do without the lost sleep, stiff back and sore neck.

The traffic is steep but the same for most of the better hotels on the strip.

The ripoff R30 plus tax and service charges for the Internet was another annoyance given every hotel in the last 14 countries visited provided WIFi for free.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonodn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon and this is a perfect hotel to explore Rio. It's along copacabana beach, it's fresh and clean and the staff could not do enough for you. The rooms are an adequate size if your here to explore and the shower was one of the best showers I have ever had. I think the hotel was good value for money. The hotel has a business feel with a roof top bar which has good views but is very quiet ( may have been the time of the year).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wigs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#7 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing