We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rio at its finest”
other traveler has booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
Aerial View, here we are in Copacabana The Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Pool
Aerial View, here we are in Copacabana
The Front Door
The Gourmet Kitchen
The Gourmet Kitchen
Gourmet Kitchen, laptop available for our guests
The Morning Room, night shot
The Morning Room, night shot
The Morning Room
The Morning Room
The Dining Room, dimmed lighting
The Dining Room
The Dining Room
The Dining Room - Fireplace
Powder Room, first floor
The Library and TV Room
The Library, chess, cards, and some other games are available for our guests
Library Painting
Library / Antique Titanic Model
The Library - Fireplace
The Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom
The Green Suite
The Green Suite
Green Suite Bathroom
Blue Suite Bathroom
The Blue Suite, night shot
The Bali House Bathroom
A big party in the villa
Wedding in the library
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool at night time
The wonderful Villa in Rio Staff members
Cabins walkway
Pool side sofa, kitchenette, charcoal grill, microwave, minifridge, water and ice dispenser
The Bali House Sleeping Area, night shot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FFBBKK
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rio at its finest”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The Villa in Rio is a spectacular example of the best Brazil has to offer. The home is grand, displaying the finest decor with attention paid to every detail. There is space to relax on every level. The kitchen has a large island that doubles as a gathering place for guests and food preparation center. The living room, dining room, and den, also on the first floor, offer lots of places to relax and join in conversation. The living room has a glass ceiling that opens two floors above to allow in fresh air and natural light. The third floor has an open air pool and lounging area to enjoy the warm Brazilian sunshine. Bedrooms are on both the second and third floors, all of which have sitting areas and private baths. The beds are extremely comfortable and the towels are plush!
The house manager, Adan , arranged all of our tours and transportation. I don't think we missed a single thing in Rio thanks to him.The rest of the house staff takes care of every detail. If you want the best in Rio, this is the place to choose for your Brazilian vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!!!!!
Liked least: There is nothing to say.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncl502
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The villa in Rio provided the perfect home base for our group of 12 for four days of relaxing, touring the sights and sp”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Booking accommodation for four couples and four young adults was a bit risky but this was the ideal solution. We all had lots of private space and were able to connect in the beautiful kitchen every morning to start our day.
Adan and the staff were incredible and very helpful. We even had a fabulous party one night and our guests couldn't believe how wonderful everything was right down to the china and glasses! Although we had done a fair bit of cleaning up before bed, the next morning the staff arrived and cheerfully helped with what was left. They are lovely.
The location is excellent and a very short walk to Copacabana Beach, good shops, restaurants and transit. Taxi drivers did not always recognize the address though so having a map with us, helped them find the right street.
There was a slight problem with leaky air conditioners in a couple of rooms but Adan was there daily sorting it out.
We would definiely book this again for a group and highly recommend it.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful property, Michael, Adan and Cristian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance was lovely. It was very relaxing. Lots of local furnishings, very tastefully done.
Liked least: The leaky air conditioners were a bit of a nuisance especially in one of the main bedrooms.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen W
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
“Comfy Luxury in Rio”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is my first review, and I was compelled to write one because of how great our experience was. In August, we visited my brother and sister-in law in Brazil and stayed at the Villa. My two teenage kids thought it was like staying in a cozy castle. We were in one of the greatest cities in the world and my kids (who love the beach) did not want to leave the house they thought it was that cool. Here is my summary:

STAFF – The staff is very helpful. Mike, the owner, and Adan, the manager, are extremely knowledgeable on restaurants and things to do. Adan speaks English, Spanish, and Portuguese and is great at helping you with anything you may need.

LOCATION – It is right in the heart of Copacabana. It is on a side street, but close to the Siquero Campos Metro station and several blocks from the beach. With-in a two minute walk, there are 3 grocery stores, several sandwich/juice stands, several pharmacies, and more than a dozen restaurants ranging from kilo to sit down to fast food.

TRANSPORTATION – We drove in from Cabo Frio. The house is about 15-20 minutes from Santos Dumont airport and 35-40 minutes from Galeão. As mentioned, the metro is two blocks away or you can easily get a cab a half a block away. If you need to, the staff is more than helpful at helping you with airport transfer, site-seeing, or any arranging other transportation. The only negative is there is very little street parking nearby. You have to go about 2 blocks away to use a garage.

THE HOUSE – It is hard to describe. It is not at all what you would expect in Rio. It has a kind of European feel. It is luxurious, but it is also very comfortable. The kitchen has a big island which is fun to hang out in the morning for breakfast. There is a dining room, though we did not use it. The living room is great because there is a retractable roof that lets in the sunshine. There is a den/TV room which I am told has an extra Murphy bed in the wall, but it was so well concealed we did not know which wall it was on. The bedrooms are very comfortable. Each has its own bathroom and shower/tub. There is a roof deck and pool and several rooms with bunk-beds and another large room with a loft bed. The pool is small, but good to cool off in the Rio heat. The staff keeps the house impeccably clean.

If you are travelling with several couples or families, it is the ideal site. We have stayed in lots of rental houses/apartments in Florida, Mexico, Rio, and other cities. They are nice, but they all seem to have the feel or a rental. This house is different and by far a cut above the rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, and staff
Liked least: Lack of parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prariedav...
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great stay with a few problems”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The only reason I rated this 4 instead 5 stars was for a few issues we had ie
arranged dinner for first night was not communicated from the owner to the staff, we had water ( 1/2 inch) on our bathroom floor for a few nights, the pool was out of service for 2 1/2 days, airconditoners leaked water onto belongings
in two rooms.
That being said the owner Michael and staff, especially Adan were extremely helpful with our group and Adan went way beyond his scope of employment to make our first visit to Brazil as good as possible. He even went to the soccer stadium himself to buy tickets for a game we wanted to attend and arranged all our tours for us as well as airport transportation and getting cabs .
The home is very well equipped wih everything you could ever need including rain umbrellas and beach towels. The house had a little too much furniture and plants for our tastes but we could see this was the owners way to create a green enviroment in a concrete city
Even with our minor problems I would recommend this property and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house size and location
Liked least: air conditioner issues
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2013
1. the owner did communicate dinner arrangements to me but a month in advance and it was my fault that dinner was not the exact menu planned.
We did serve three appetizers (Bolinhos de bacalhau, chicken coxinhas, various pastels), a green salad, shrimp risotto. This was offered as complimentary since it did not include the requested villa hummus and a couple of other items. Sometimes I make a mistake - but we always recognize it and make sure we can compliment the guest.
2. The guest brought it to my attention after the first night - that the a/c was not strong enough in the two cabins. The next day I had a service technician there who recharged them.
This is the first time I had any experience with this and did not realize that there could be leakage for the first hours afterwards – so the dripping was my fault. But any problem I know about receives immediate attention. I wish the tech would have warned me to keep a close eye for hour one after recharge.
3. The pool was never closed - but the filtration system was not working two days. It goes on automatically. There was no problem using the pool however. We have never had to close the pool for even one day. Although after a heavy rain - it sometimes takes til 9am or so to clean the sediments.

I was happy to be of service to the Clark family and it was a pleasure to make all their arrangements. I wanted great soccer seats for them so went myself to choose the sectors.
Thanks for the recommendation and we (including Marcia, Paula, and Jairo) would love to host your family again. We promise we will do it better the next time.

At the villa, I am always there daily to tend to all transportation, tour, shopping, menus, special requests, and anything that happens to go wrong with a piece of equipment. Being such a large house on 4 levels with so many bathrooms and a pool - it is pretty complex at moments. I am here almost two years and rarely does something happen that I am not familiar with - like the recharging of an air conditioner. But I now know.

Many thanks and hope we can receive you and your family someday in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slothmand...
Vila Velha, ES
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Best Place to Stay in Rio”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My wife and visit Rio 4-5 times a year. If it is available we always try to stay in the Vila. For us the location is ideal. It is about 4 blocks from the beach on a side street 1 block from the metro station. The fact that is on a side street makes it very quiet, which is a plus especially during weekends which could get loud in Copacabana.

The house is warm and welcoming. The kitchen is fully equipped for anyone who likes to cook. You can also contract a staff to make meals if you want, we never have. The bedrooms are very comfortable and cozy. Our favorite part is the roof deck which has a small pool and a barbeque.

Mike, the owner, and Adan, the caretaker, and all the staff go out of their way to make sure that you have a great stay.

The house is great for large groups or several couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the comfort of the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$600
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing