We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Caminho do Corcovado
Nearby Hotels
$209
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$148
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$500
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
177
21
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschrist the redeemerhumming birdsguest housetropical fruitfour nightsexcellent breakfasthelenabungalowcorcovadohoststoucansairportneighborhoodtaxis
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 200 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Helena and Diego make you feel very welcome in their lovely house which is set high on a hill above the tram station in Cosme Velho. The views from the garden are superb and we caught a glimpse of the Cristo statue through the trees. We stayed in the bungalow in the garden for three nights, eating a huge breakfast each morning in the house. Helena treated us to homemade cake one morning and on our final morning we had small banana fritters. All this in addition to a basket of assorted bread, cheese, meat, fresh fruit, juice and several cups of coffee! Both Helena and Diego were very helpful in telling us where to go and how to get there on local buses. A visit to the botanical gardens was high on our list and we took the bus for R$2.75 each way per person, much cheaper than a taxi, and really easy too. The bungalow was very cute, with a bedroom, sitting room and shower/toilet. There was a TV which we didn't use as we sat outside most of the time! Wifi is available on the terrace of the house. We had a spot of difficulty persuading the local taxi drivers to take us up right the hill, but we drew a small map and kept directing them (with sign language as we dont speak Portuguese!) till we arrived at the tram line just below the house. This cost roughly R€10 from the supermarket down the hill. Diego also picked us up and took us back to the airport. Definitely recommend Casa Caminho as a friendly place to stay!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at Casa Caminho do Corcovado at the end of June,2013. I couldn't have chosen a better place. Helena's home is just lovely. The grounds are beautiful. The views are super, and her breakfast can not be beat! Her son Diogo took me on a five hour tour of the city that was just terrific. I could never have managed to see so many of Rio's places of interest in one day. He also took me to the perfect local place to have a vegetarian lunch.It was full of noisy locals and I loved it. My second day I walked down the hill to take a bus to the Botanical Gardens. On Helena's suggestion, I went to another local restaurant near the gardens for lunch. It was really super and I felt very lucky to have had it recommended to me.

Room Tip: I only saw my room , but it was large, clean with a cable TV and a really lovely bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best of this place is the warmth of the house owners. They made me feel like at home and been always very helpful. Additionally, the house is very beautiful, peaceful. It is located half way of Cristo Redentor statue. The best of all is the breakfast, which is full of tropical fruits, different kinds of breads. If you get concerned about arriving in Rio late night or first time you can arrange to pick you up in a private car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Helena and Diego were great hosts. Helena answered many questions before arrival and was so welcoming. The home is beautiful and wonderful to wake up to a breakfast served at your desired time ( morning hours of course). Taking the city bus was easy and just a few minutes walk from there but it might be with the taxi ride back up the hill. Diego's city tour was personal and well worth the extra $ than a big bus tour. Staying here was a great way to start in Rio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a wonderfully relaxed 8 nights here after 2 back to back tours in Peru and Ecuador. Our hosts couldn't have been more obliging: from prompt airport pick up, ordering in takeaway pizzas, allowing us to store food and wine in the fridge and being generous in letting us use the kitchen to prepare dinners! We spent several evenings dining outside, enjoying marvellous hillside views over the nearby favelas - there was even an unusual nighttime glimpse of Cristo Redentor through the trees behind, lit up quite eerily! Breakfasts were amazing (we didn't eat lunch the whole time we were there), our room, although not over large, was perfectly adequate and cleaned daily. Hikes from the tram station up the hill got tiring by the end of a week so we resorted to taxis!

Room Tip: We didn't do this but it might be worth paying the extra to stay in the cottage, although the view was more restricted owing to bamboo.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews