We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
186
163
80
33
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
163
80
33
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception barcopacabana beachfemale dormmetro stationclean roomsfelt safewifipartiesrio
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 527 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

staff are rude, receptionists are rude. They treat you badly. I saw other guests being treated so badly too. Breakfast is not so good. Rooms are very small and you cannot belive so many beds are fitted in such a small room. I also saw a guest being kicked out just because he made some complaints. Theh don't give you real tax receipts, all you can get is their own receipt. Once you check in they make you feel at home, after you've checked in they treat you so cold.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Hello, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry if some of our staff was stressed during the olympics but we were indeed extremely busy. We never request anyone to leave, unless they break the rules like bringing someone to sleep that was not a guest. We make tax receipts to everyone and send to the e-mails to the ones who ask for it as you received. We make everyone feel at home. Kin regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend had reservations for Friday and saturday, and the check in wasn't allowed until 12:00pm, but we arrived in Rio at 6am, and wanted to leave our backpacks at the hostel so we could go watch the games at the Olympic park. Not only did they not let us leave our bags there, but they didn't even let us into the hostel, it was cold and rainning, we all know that Brazil is not a safeplace, and they chose to let us stay in the rain and not be friendly or helpful. Later on we talked to the owner about what had happened earlier and she was rude and said that that's how they treat their guests and that if we weren't ok with that we could find another place to stay at. And the worst part is that she didn't give us our money back, so now we had to sue her to try and get it back. I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
2  Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Hello, thanks for the visit. We are sorry but in case of arrivals before or after reception times we require to be advised in advance, and you are Brazilians and were in a security protected street so we never left you out in danger. Our rules have to be reinforced specially during the Olympic games when the city was in alert, and that is all our management did, as well as the non refundable terms and conditions of your booking. We invite you to come back and have a better experience. Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

We were a group of 12 friends travelling Rio for 4 days, the weekend before the olympic games started.
The hostel is located perfectly in a safe street and close to subway station. It is also good to find. The staff is very helpful and speaks proper english.
The beds were okay and the rooms clean. We really enjoyed our stay and if I ever come back to Rio, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Whabada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We are glad you had a good time, you were a fun group for sure! :) We are upgrading the beds of all rooms, and soon the bigger and cheaper dorms will also have new spring mattresses. Safe travels and see you soon! CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I accidently paid for the same night/bed twice via credit card, making obvious mistake. I quickly contacted staff to cancel the resrvation and get my money back for one night.

They did not respond AT ALL and at the spot they mentioned that they have no idea what I'm talking about.

The place was really crowded, party hard hostel, with crazy all-the-time drunk brits and without any chilling area, so if you are looking for a calm place - look somewhere different.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lubie_placki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Hi, thanks for staying with us. We explained to you that there was never a double charge, and the mistake was from you credit card. We are sorry that the party crowd was too intense for you but it was the last weekend of the Olympics, and is expected in a backpackers hostel. Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here 5 nights during the Olympics, so it's understandable that the place would be filled to capacity. The bed I stayed on was stuck between two bunk beds so every night people would climb on my bed to get to the top of the other bunks. Other than that the hostel was good enough for our purpose. Good location and an awesome staff. My friend had accidentally booked a female only dorm and they went out of there way to find a bed for him each night. Much appreciated!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank sddeville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Hello, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry that during the Olympic games we were busier than ever before, specially now with the new rooms. We are opening 2 big new common areas, one terrace and one basement bar and it will make hostel feel more spacious. We do try the best to make everyone comfortable and happy. Hope to see you back soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews