We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel in Copacabana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CabanaCopa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CabanaCopa Hostel
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel in Copacabana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and my girl friend stayed here for 17 days. We're both from Portugal so we did a long journey arriving just after 1am. The security guard was simply amazing and extremely friendly. By mistake i had just reserved 4 nights for one person but he managed to get us an extra bed even tho the hostel was quite full. The receptionist guys / girls are the most friendly you can get. Besides being their job to help you they always go beyond and make you feel "at home" making your trip even more special.
The hostel is very clean (in the sense that it is a hostel and not a fancy hotel) - the bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. The beds are comfortable and there are large lockers to store your bags (just bring a lock with you). Good breakfast, excellent location, great staff.
Nothing to complain about this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a reply. We are happy were greeted well and was helped with that issue, we will forward this to the security guard. We are also glad to hear that you find our staff friendly and that you like the cleanliness, breakfast and location of our hostel. It sounds like you had a good stay. We hope you will be coming back!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    150
    72
    24
    51
See reviews for
11
54
135
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of a 2 day tour. We had a dorm room, which would never be my choice. The ladies only dorm was great, it was clean and spacious. This is a great hostel to meet people and we kept popping back when in Rio!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy_D26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you liked the dorm and found it clean and spacious. We are also glad to hear you kept coming back for the social experience, having a good atmosphere is our favorite thing about our hostel!

We hope to see you again! CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed as a couple at this hostel December 2013 for 1 week. The only reason we stayed was because we paid the whole cost on our first day. We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm - very cramped with one ceiling fan and one toilet ( which did not flush ) and one shower. The general condition of the bathrooms was poor - crumbling walls & mouldy and dark. We moved to a ' twin room' which was not really a twin but a bunk bed in a very small room. The rooms were disappointing however the breakfast was also very repetitive - bread & cheese . If you did not go early there was often no food left.
We found the reception staff generally unhelpful- they were reluctant to assist with queries in the morning until they had eaten their breakfast (!) and did not seem to have a knowledge of the area. We had asked how much it would be to get a bus or taxi to Christo Redenter ( probably the most famous landmark in Rio ) and they were not able to give us an estimate !! They were generally unapproachable and unfriendly. Although there is a board with activities the staff do not promote these / don't have information about them . It was quite difficult to find out what is going on / things to see and do.
There is only WIFI downstairs in the reception area with very limited seating for guests which is also annoying !

The kitchen is really dirty with inadequate cups, cutlery and plates for the number of guests. We took one look at the kitchen and avoided cooking there !

The only good point - the hostel is quite close to Copacabana beach .

Room Tip: Choose another hostel unless you want to be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moppy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our staff cleans all rooms once & bathrooms twice daily, but shared rooms/bathrooms need the guest's respect to be maintained in a good state. Our twin rooms are almost the same price as dormitories as they simply are small dormitories for two/three people, with bunk beds. We are sorry if your staff was just professional and not overly friendly, but during high season or long holiday weekends like the one you came, they have a lot of work, check ins & check outs so not always have time to chat. We always recommend the city sightseeing tour as the cheapest & most convenient way to go to the Christ statue. Also, we cannot estimate taxi drivers as sometimes they can rip the tourist off, that's what our staff was trying to explain to you. One staff member told us they were not unfriendly, but they had trouble understanding your Scottish accent. . Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel, great staff, and the guarantee to get into the best parties in town! Tours and activities also available from the travel desk/reception/bar...we had a great time and we've left Rio with the feeling that we have made the most of it...thanks for the friendly atmosphere, and the awesome memories!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ju2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a reply. We are happy to hear you liked our staff and had a good time in the enjoyable atmosphere of our hostel. We hope you will come back soon to make some new memories!

Best regards, CabanaCopa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I ended up staying at CabanaCopa on accident but was pleased with how my weekend turned out. As long as you don't mind a relatively steep hill to the hostel, the location is blessed: grocery store, convenience store, metro station, and buses going anywhere just 2 blocks away and the beach another 2 blocks more. It's set up for you to meet new people with ample outdoor and indoor seating plus a pretty sweet bar in the main area. I never got to use the kitchen but it was nice and big, good for sharing a meal with fellow travelers. If you like to go out, you'll have no trouble finding people to go out with. Breakfast is a decent spread. I don't know about the others but the people working the weekend were very sweet, accommodating, and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchoi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. We are glad you like our prime location, atmosphere and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall, I wasn't that impressed with CabanaCopa.

I have stayed in many hostels over the years, all over the world. However, I was slightly disappointed in this instance.

The rooms were very cramped (we stayed in a 8 person dorm). There also appeared to be a major lack of shower/toilet facilities for the amount of people at the hostel.

In terms of the social aspect, the bar was cool. However, it did seem to have numerous 'residents' who had been there for a long period of time. Therefore, it was harder for me and my friend to get to know people. Consequently, I didn't feel the atmosphere was great.However, I don't think this is neccessary the Hostel owners fault.

The area was ok. It was near Copacabana beach. I wouldn't say it was the safest if you were travelling alone. I would reccomend staying closer to Ipanema if possible.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. We're sorry you think the room wa cramped, sometimes guest tend to leave their stuff everywhere so the room might seem cramped, especially when the room is full. We have more than one bathroom on every floor, maybe we should have informed you better that if the bathroom is full on your floor you can just go to one of the others.

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

From the moment me and my friend arrived we fell in love with this place. Awesome location just two blocks from the beach in a peaceful part of town with the metro a 1 minute walk away.
The staff were amazing and always on hand to help. The place was clean with loads of toilets and showers for the entire hostel. The beds were good and the rooms not too cramped.
We left the hostel once to stay somewhere else, but within 2 hours had returned because we missed it too much.
The bar is open all day and there are loads of activities which can be booked through the hostel, not to mention the nights out with the staff who know how and wear to party in Rio!!
All in all CabanaCopa was a Home away from Home and I can't wait to return someday to do it all over again!!
Thank you CabanaCopa for making Rio 2013 unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyfulltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply. We are glad to hear you like our location, staff and cleanliness. We are especially happy that you chose to return!

We hope to see you again soon.

CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#129 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#50 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Property: CabanaCopa Hostel
Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 762 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing