We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Bad deal for money. Helpful staff. Good stay.”
Review of CabanaCopa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CabanaCopa Hostel
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location. Bad deal for money. Helpful staff. Good stay.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location! Couldn't be better. Breakfast very good, helpful English-speaking staff. Fun people and great activities. Extremely unhappy with being charged $50 for weekend when price for week is 35 reals. I have to leave early (three days) from brazil because I was charged so much here. Best idea is to only stay for week and switch on weekends but that's a huge hassle, which is why I ended up paying. :( very clean, great environment, television, wifi (not excellent in room), hot showers, again awesome people. Full kitchen but bring own cutlery if you want to cook at dinner time! Overall had a blast but was expensive. Rio is in general, though.

Room Tip: Upstairs are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you like our location, breakfast and staff. Due to a lot of demand and being a popular hostel we have to raise the prices at times, and yes, Rio is pretty expensive in general. We are also glad to hear that you had a good time staying with us and that you have so many positive things to say.

We hope you will be coming back!

Best regard, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    152
    74
    24
    53
See reviews for
11
57
137
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bathrooms had towering piles of used toilet paper (more than what should be normal). Staff only spoke english, no Portuguese. (P.s. this is Brasil you are working in). Mold filed every public and private room I saw, including bathroom and our room. The smell came with my clothes when I left. Breakfast was a joke (bread with nothing on it, either cheese or ham depending on the day, no milk, no coffee, etc...) and at least 60% of it was always 'out of stock'. Beds sheets and pillows were ripped. No parking. Passive Aggressive signs everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our staff cleans all rooms once & bathrooms twice daily. On high season when the hostel is busier and the party crowd can be a little messy in the bathrooms during the night. We are located next to a national park surrounded by atlantic forest, if you come during the summer/rainy season it can be a little humid and in shared rooms some guest's have their clothes wet/dirty. Our breakfast ends at 10am and you always came 1 minute before that, when the food was close to end. As we are a big hostel, we have rules to keep order, otherwise the party crowd won't let the others sleep. Our sheets come washed & bagged from an external laundry, if yours was ripped during the process we could not know, but it can be easily fixed by coming to reception and asking us to change them. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great atmosphere, brilliant location, helpfull englishspeaking staff! I travelled with a friend and we had so much fun- it was very easy to get to know fellow travelers. We had some great partynights, but the rooms are quiet if you want to retire early :-) we kept coming back to Rio while traveling and we always came back to this hostel. Thank you got a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply. We are glad you liked our atmosphere, location and our staff. We are also happy you kept coming back, we hope you will do so again!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The place is more or less fine, good location, close to the beach, and surrounded by jungle where you can even see litlle monkeys at the back. However, I thought it was a bit dirty, as in sticky breakfast tables and the toilet was a bit gross. On the Sunday we left there was no toilet paper left and when I complained to the girls at the desk they said the toilets were cleaned at 12 but that was the time we had to leave the hotel so it wasn't very helpful! The room was quite crammed and a bit old and tattered. Breakfast was good and you could make yourself toasties, no fresh fruit juice though. The reason I wouldn't go back is because out of the 3 girls working there we did not get anything even close to a smile. They were quite unfriendly and didn't make the atmosphere a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are happy you like our prime location, tucked in a small residential street, next to a national park, and 2 min away from Copacabana center, the metro & beach. We are sorry you found the hostel a bit dirty, we clean our bathrooms twice daily but we are going to add one more night cleaning staff to improve even more the facilities. Since we are a hostel and offer a budget breakfast the juices are not fresh pressed. Guests not returning because of staff is definitely not okay and we will take this up with the receptionists, a nice and friendly atmosphere is really important to us!

Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After staying here on various occasions during our travelling in brazil I would greatly recommend it.
For a hostel it is excellent (but expect hostel not hotel)
Amazing location - a few blocks from the beach and felt very safe
Wonderful atmosphere - lots of young people around, always busy at the bar and great for meeting people
Great dorms - I stayed in the largest dorm of 10 bed but found this not to be a problem, lockers for everyone, enough room, much more comfortable beds than other hostels.
Very good value for money especially in rio where nothing of this quality would be this cheap.
Definitely recommend to young travellers looking to meet people and used to hostels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna2946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy you like our cosy location, atmosphere and dorms. We hope you will be coming back!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed I'm this hostel for 3 weeks in December leaving on Xmas eve. If I'm honest I wasn't to impressed at booking a hostel as previous experiences weren't as great. But how wrong was i? I loved every second of it! The last 4 days I stayed at a hotel and hated it due to being so secluded and not being able to chat to great, friendly people on a daily basis. The hostel offers everything, sort out your trips and parties you want to attend. The price was impeccable. So cheap for everything you get included! Cleaners work all hours of the day and also have a laugh and joke! Free wifi and a tv with cable to sit back and relax after a day of sunbathing. I have recommended this hostel to all my friends and I will be returning. See you at the Olympics!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbizzle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you liked our atmosphere, facilities and our friendly staff. And thank you for recommending us to your friends, we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you at the olympics!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at Cabanacopa for 4 weeks in December. We were there over Christmas and it was without fail my best Christmas ever! I am so glad I booked this hostel... the staff are very friendly and always willing to help and give good advice. I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm, it was always clean (as the cleaners work all day every day to keep the standards high). I was very comfortable and had nothing to complain about. Its great considering how cheap it is. The atmosphere in the hostel is epic... I met so many great people and made many memories. There is a beautiful national park at the back of the hostel... I LOVED waking up to tree's and monkeys. The hostel is in a great place... only 5 mins from the beach!!! I would recommend this hostel to any traveler looking for somewhere on Copacabana that is safe, friendly, clean and most importantly has a brilliant atmosphere!!! .... If you go the this hostel you MUST go to the party's that the hostel advertise and take you to.... some of the best nights!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi! Many thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We think your review is very honest, well written and expresses how we see our hostel. We hope to see you again!

Safe travels & best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#126 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
387 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#139 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
481 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#61 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
842 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#99 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
794 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Property: CabanaCopa Hostel
Address: Travessa Guimaraes 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21721-560, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing