We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elin”
Review of CabanaCopa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CabanaCopa Hostel
Reviewed May 21, 2012

great hostel. Nice hangout spot and lovely staff. Both the dorms and bathrooms where nice and clean. they also had a big kitchen wich was good. To complain about something they could have a better breakfast but overall a GREAT place to stay at as a backpacker.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElinB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review! We are glad to hear you like our staff and cleanliness. Hope you will come back!

Safe travels and best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for CabanaCopa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Cabanacopa has a great location on copacaban beach, decent bar area and breakfast was ok, however the hostel is has little else to offer. The bathrooms are not very clean, and the bathrooms (particularly the downstairs shower) is completly unfunctional and the standard of the rooms is just as bad. No towels are given, workers are not overly friendly either. This place can also be loud at nighttime and not only but other people staying at the hostle but the security worker who sits there speaking loudly to his friends at 3am. There are many other hostels in the copacaban area, I would only suggest this one if you have no other options left.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our staff cleans all rooms once & bathrooms twice daily. On high season when the hostel is busier and the party crowd can be a little messy in the bathrooms during the night. No hostels in beach neighbourhoods in Rio offer towels included to the guest, but you can rent them at a really cheap price. We are sorry if your staff was just professional and not overly friendly, but during high season or long holiday weekends like the one you came, they have a lot of work, check ins & check outs so not always have time to chat. Sorry about the night watch, that will never happen again. We are sure that if you had complained to them they would have stopped. We have 2 porters at night besides the street security for extra safety. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed in this hostel during Easter holidays. Location is great (Copacabana is around 7 minuts walking), 2 minuts from the metro (at the same time hostel is situated at a quiet street), big hostel with many backpackers staying there (at least during the time i was there). People working in the hostel are very friendly (especially cleaning staff and people working in the bar/ kitchen).
I stayed in the "girls" area, there were 3 rooms (in each 8-9 beds), one common place for shower (2 showers) and toilets (3 in total), it was spacious. Enough space in the room, big mirrors. By the end of the day bathroom was becoming kind of dirty though because of the number of people living there (though cleaning ladies tried to keep it clean and were cleaning several times a day), but in the mornings was very clean.
At the same floor there are 3 computers with internet access and a living room with a big TV. In the ground floor during the evenings was working a bar, there's a builliard and its a pretty fun place in general.
The only thing I didnt like in the hostel was the breakfast - pretty poor for Brazilian standards. However, it is very unlikely that you will find anything in the area of Copacabana for this money of that quality. In total hostel is very good!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you found the staff friendly and the hostel fun. Our breakfast is a buffet and it has juices (not fresh but it is a backpacker's hostel, not the Hilton!), coffee, tea, milk, cereal, honey, bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, salami, fresh fruits, eggs, sausage, cake, toast etc. We hope you will come back!

Safe travels and best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I you want to go to copacabana, this is your hostel. Even though the rooms are very small and the beds have military comfort, you won't find a better hostel in the area. Every day you see backpackers coming from other hostels moving to cabanacopa because the other hostels are so bad.

Positive:
- location
- amazing big screen tv in the common area
- good kitchen

Negative:
- room size and beds
- not all rooms have enough lockers for everyone
- breakfast is bad and it takes the team forever to reload

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank WorldTravel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location, common area and kitchen. Our breakfast is a buffet and it has juices, coffee, tea, milk, cereal, honey, bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, salami, fresh fruits, eggs, sausage, cake, toast etc. The breakfast staff usually does a good job at refilling, although some mornings after many guests have been out the night before, there is a lot of pressure, especially later during the breakfast hours which makes it harder to keep up.

We hope you will come back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A great friendly place to stay. Breakfast, free wifi, and free use of the computers are included in the already low price. Great location, a safe metro station is just around the corner. The famous Copacabana Beach is just a five minute walk away. The very friendly, helpful front of house staff can arrange tours/transfers at a great price. Looking forward to my return visit in the very near furture.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side of the building tend to be quieter. This is because the hostel is next...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review! We are happy you find the hostel a friendly place. We are also glad you like our location, breakfast and staff. We hope you got to enjoy some of the tours and activities we offer!

Safe travels and best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friend and I booked a twin room in January 2012. We were horrified when we walked in to find what looked like a janitor’s closet with a bunk bed and some lockers squished on the side. Our suitcases literally did not fit in the room! The 'en-suite' was the size of a small shower with a toilet and a shower head almost directly on top of the toilet and it was covered in mould. I was really disappointed with the room! We stayed at the hostel for one night and when we informed the staff downstairs we were told to email 'Ian' and he would sort out a refund for us. We did email Ian, many times and did NOT hear a word back from him. We emailed every email connected to the hostel and still haven't heard a word from them, we didn't even get an apology. Truly a massive disappointment as the room was not cheap either! If we had stayed here any longer I truly believe it would have made our trip a terrible experience, one night at CabanaCopa was enough. Thank goodness we changed to a MUCH better hostel close by.

Room Tip: Do NOT book the twin room. It seems people enjoy themselves more if they stay in the dorms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aimeebrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hello & Thanks for staying with us.

We are sorry to read your feedback. The room you booked is a budget bunk bed twin room and it has the same price as a dormitory, but it is for just 2 people with a small bathroom.
We informed you that your reservation rules were non refundable as you booked only 2 nights and had a really cheap rate.

To avoid future situations like this, our reception manager now has one staff fully dedicated to reservations, and she is allowed to open exceptions.
You are welcome to visit us if you come back to Rio, and see the improvements in the property & management.

Safe travels & best regards from sunny Copacabana beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Eu estive com minhas amigas no Cabanacopa Hostel em fevereiro de 2012, logo após o carnaval. O local é lindo proóximo a praia, mercados, fast foods, é convidativo, bem localizado, a recepção é sensacional, o interior é aconchegante, roupas de cama limpas, funcionários extraordinários, atenciosos e além de tudo alegres! AMEI a experiência de ficar 7 dias no Rio e hospedada no Cabanacopa Hostel, conheci várias pessoas, de culturas diferentes, de lugares diferentes, o bar diariamente aberto as 16h é otimo, a caipirinha brasileira uma delícia, o café da manhã melhor ainda, as cozinheiras um amor , e um charme em pessoas. Local super seguro, banheiros sempre limpos, cozinha funcional, água gelada sempre, espaços respeitados, sala aconchegante, enfim: Vá ao Rio de Janeiro e se hospede no CABANACOPA HOSTEL. A única parte ruim do hostel, é a hora de ir embora, você quer morar e não sair nunca. CABANACOPA HOSTEL, eu recomendo.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I was with my friends in CabanaCopa Hostel in February 2012, shortly after the carnival. The place is beautiful proóximo the beach, markets, fast food, is inviting, well located, the reception is great, the interior is cozy, clean bedding, extra staff, caring and above all happy! LOVED the experience of staying seven days in Rio and hosted on CabanaCopa Hostel, I met several people from different cultures, different places, the bar open daily 16 hours is great, the Brazilian caipirinha delicious, the breakfast even better, the cooks a love charm and a people. The place safe, bathrooms are always clean, functional kitchen, cold water always respected spaces, cozy living room, in short: Go to Rio de Janeiro and stay in CabanaCopa Hostel. The only bad part of the hostel, it's time to go, you do not want to live and never leave. CabanaCopa Hostel, I recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for leavinga review. We are glad to hear you like our location, reception and cleanliness. We're also happy to hear you met a lot of interesting people during your stay! We hope to see you again :)

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#138 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
488 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimp...
#122 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
450 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#93 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#63 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,021 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#88 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,362 reviews
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#134 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21721-560, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $12 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing