We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Ranked #151 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice for backpackers”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a good hotel for those who are just traveling/visiting the city and don't care much about niceness, luxury, or high comfort. The hotel offers a reasonable price (without breakfast, though) for a room to up to 3 people. Rooms are quite small; it has a double bed and a single bed right above it (just like a bunk bed). Bathrooms are even smaller and the glass door allows people inside the room see a bit of who's talking shower (glass door is right next to bed), so, it is really for people who have some close relationship (parents-children, couples). Nonetheless, rooms are decent, may have a nice view (depending on where you're staying). Upper bed is close to the ceiling, so, for those who have claustrophobia I do not recommend it.
Not sure if they offer parking (or if it's free). Nice location, close to a beautiful Presbyterian Church.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy with your comments about our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro Centro Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    1,066
    1,070
    296
    145
See reviews for
620
482
329
952
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good price in Rio downtown. Good for bussines travelers
Clean, cheap, good pubs around, good breakfast, small room and bathroom but very clean. free internet access, good cost/ benefits. Recommended. Don't get Accor club rewards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AndersonAlmeida2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado hóspede,

Agradecemos a sua contribuição em nossa página.

Esperamos poder revê-lo em breve.

Permanecemos à disposição,

Equipe Ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, average breakfast but a 5 min walk and 10 min journey from Carioca metro you can be on Copacabana beach at half the price of hotels there. Wifi was quite good and friendly staff, would recommend

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We welcome your comments about our hotel.

We hope to return on your upcoming stay in Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely,

Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro Centro Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at three different ibis hotels around brazil during the World Cup. This had the best staff as they spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and ours was a little beat up. At non overpriced World Cup times this would be a cheap hotel for backpackers to travel. Their World Cup pricing was outrageous for what they had to offer as other times of the year prices are $85/night US while we paid $200/night OUTRAGEOUS.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ng4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy with your comments about our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro Centro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I recently stayed there while I was in the World Cup.
For the money I believe the hotel is great! The staff is friendly, the wifi is free, the rooms are more than ok and they always keep It clean
I'm gonna be honest that after reading some reviews here I was a bit hesitant to stay there but after being there really don't know what the problems with the other user where
The location is good, there's a metro station nearby (Carioca) so getting to copacabana is really easy. There are a lot of places close by that you can to just walk to and get to know like the catedral and the seleron stairs, lapa is really close and if you take a taxi it's really cheap

The only problem I had was that for one day they didn't clean the room but after I told them it never happened again. Hopefully in the future they can put a safety box or a fridge and maybe harder mattresses, but other than that, if your are on a budget this is an option to consider

Room Tip: I stayed in room 152 and didn't have any room around, I think that's the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado hóspede,

Agradecemos por seus comentários sobre o nosso hotel.

Estamos empenhados em melhorar cada vez mais nossos produtos e serviços.

Esperamos poder revê-lo em breve.

Cordialmente e à disposição,

Equipe Ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Basically, for what you get, you should be paying less! Each room has an identical layout, a bunk-bed consisting of one double-bed and one single bed ontop. The shower was small and was very uncomfortable (there were little fruit-flies in the shower), and the water pressure was almost non-existent. The shower door is glass and pretty much see through, so if you're travelling with friends it becomes a little awkward. The sheets didn't get replaced everyday, which is always nasty. Morning breakfast was scarce. The only reason you'd stay here is if you need to be close to Central, because it's right in the heart of it. Otherwise, go stay in Copa. The only good thing was that they had free wifi and it was fairly fast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical, so no difference in room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel.

Feel we have not met your expectations. We are committed to constantly improve our products and services.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially and disposal,

Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro Centro Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

this is a just IBIS budget hotel. it is very central, near to Carioca station metro, and always there is a taxi place outside of hotel.
poor breakfast, without eggs or omelete, but you can have a dinner/buffet at besides Ibis centro hotel at a fair price of brl.33.
very clean, and excellent service at receprion .very fair price for the period that i stayed of world cup (15-18/6)
.

Room Tip: only rooms over the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis budget R, Gerente geral at Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments about our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially,

Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro Centro staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#113 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,114 reviews
Hotel ibis budget RJ Nova Americ...
#100 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
405 reviews
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#181 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Backpackers
Rio Backpackers
#203 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
146 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#91 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
166 reviews
Hotel Carioca
#155 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro

Property: Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Address: Rua Silva Jardim 32 | Torre 2, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20050-060, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Ibis Budget Rio De Janeiro Centro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing