We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoel & Joaquim

Manoel & Joaquim
Ranked #242 of 13,576 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese, South American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Due toma heavy thunderstorm, we landed in this restaurant. Apart from the usual unattentive service, the food we had was very bland, heavy and uninspired.

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    250
    83
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

For a simple, easy meal, don't miss this place!! It was so good we went there twice --- and should have gone a third time! Great wait staff; reasonably priced and for a quick meal, it's a great choice. Not fancy, but certainly worth consideration!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CavallitoPhotoArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you do not have restrictions to fried appetizers...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is the place for fried appetizers... but if you are on the healthy side, this is not the place to choose...

Helpful?
Thank GreekBrazilianfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but beware of using charge cards.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well, we had lunch which was very nice. Used my VISA to pay and after several stops in a group tour in Argentina and Peru, came home to find several thousand US dollars in bogus credit card charges from businesses in Rio made after we were no longer in Brazil apparently made by copying my VISA card info since the card itself was always in my possession except when I gave it to a waiter to pay the bill. I used my VISA in only one other place in Rio which was chosen by our tour guide. My advice -- don't use your credit card here. To be fair, the problem could be only one or two crooks working at the restaurant. The food was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisTCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogsmeade
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food was the best we had our entire trip. It was absolutely fabulous. The staff was friendly, and it was in a great location. It was so good, we had to come back on our last night in Rio.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HogsmeadeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoel & Joaquim also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Manoel & Joaquim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing