We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$47
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Sol Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$171
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$66
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
$210
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
34
41
31
14
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
41
31
14
26
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 146 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I met this hotel with Cariocas owner and spend good days-
Owners help me to organize my stay there and beside they have all week with activities in the city,
Hostel have comfort room with aire conditionated, a organized and clean kitchen, and its very near to copacabana beach.
Ambient is quiet starting December.
I spend good days there and I can recomend it.

Room Tip: Rooms of 6 wiht air its what i recomend
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012


Ok, so this is a hostel, but I don't think it's an excuse to slacken off on the bare essentials. Brazil is NOT a 3rd world country!! A note to the owner, Adriana- this is nothing to do with our countries being less "relaxed" than Brazil this is about providing a very basic service.

After a very long flight to Rio my friend and I stayed in a private room for one night (was like staying in a dodgy dirty room in a ghetto) then moved on to a dorm..which wasnt much better. Rio Backpackers.. Here are some tips on providing a better stay for customers...

1) Provide more toilet paper- we shouldn't have to always ask for this. Some hand soap and paper towel in the bathrooms wouldn't go astray for washing hands..

2) Use some bleach and maybe a scrubbing brush when cleaning bathrooms. They are gross. Maybe get bins with lids on for the toilets so people don't have to look at other peoples used scraps of toilet paper.. Another very important word..HYGIENE!

3) if we pay for an air conditioned room/dorm, we expect to be able to have it on all times!! This means don't turn it off between 10am and 10pm.

4) re breakfast- please, please do not mix water with the juices. It's tasteless and nobody likes it! You shouldn't have to leave a bowl of sugar next to the juice to sweeten it.

Positives-
Location
Group outings
Helpful english speaking staff (in the day)
The Brazilian BBQ was one of the best I had!
The bar is good. Take note- only open 6 nights. Ask staff which night that is.

Conclusion-
I was recommended this hostel by a friend who stayed here in 2010. It's now 2012 and would definitely NOT recommend it now.
This place was packed during carnival. Owner/s- put the profits to good use!

For future reference my name is "sayingithowitis"

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayingithowitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed during Carnaval 2012. For the rate charged the conditions of the rooms were terrible- very dirty and another traveller had bed bugs. The toilets were the worst, they needed repair work and cleaning. Also there were only two showers and two toilets for all females in the hostel (excluding private baths).

The staff, Doni, was really helpful and friendly and was the only plus point. The location was also good, very short walk to Copacabana beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notsilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week while travelling across south brazil. If you have got heavy luggage it can be a nightmare as its up quite a steep hill.

All of the staff are friendly and helpful especially the owners. The breakfast is basic but not to bad.

They also arrange trips either up to the favelas or to one of the big derby matches at the maracana I went to one of the matches and got a very good deal.

It's nice and close to copacabana beach and the main tourist areas of rip.

The cleanliness could be better dusty rooms and the bathroom could do with a deep clean. But overall not a bad place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hostel full of youngsters, would be good for the right people but not us. We had a double ensuite room for 4 nights in Feb.

PROS

Really friendly staff
Good recommendations
Found it hard to get somewhere for budget in Rio and this was (but didn't think good value)
Recycle clothes for street kids
Free caiprinya on arrival
Decent breakfast

CONS

Not very clean
Bit of a scary location (up a steep street near Copacabana beach) although had no problems
Seemed expensive
Tiny room
Very uncomfortable bed
Bathroom was smelly
Noisy inefficient aircon
We were too old (32 not 18-25)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkieStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews