We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Visit to brazil

First time visiting Brazil.. I found by accident the name of the travel agency bromelia Rio tours... read more

Reviewed April 23, 2020
zinaayoub
,
Lebanon
Rio De Janeiro - Christ the Redeemer

Lauren was very professional when helping us plan our trip and activities in Rio. The tour guide... read more

Reviewed March 21, 2020
Shayne216
via mobile
Read all 96 reviews
  
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
95
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
95
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street party photo tour travel concierge food tour local guide amazing experience botanical gardens christ the redeemer lauren samba company culture brazil tours ipanema rio carnival
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 96 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

My wife and I visited Rio for the first time in mid-March and fell in love with the country.
A great deal of the success of our trip can be attributed to finding Lauren and her company, Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour. We booked an airport transfer through the company, and it was so nice to land and not have to worry about figuring out where to catch an Uber or taxi. Her driver is super friendly and speaks perfect English. We felt at home immediately. We had also scheduled a walking tour of Ipanema and Copacabana with Lauren for our first day to get oriented with where we were staying (Ipanema). I highly recommend doing this. The best way to feel/look like a local is to hang with one for a couple of hours and ask lots of questions. Even though we had just met, it felt like we were spending the afternoon hanging with an old friend. We met up with Lauren again later in the week when she took us and two other couples to a Samba street party in downtown. The traditional music, the setting among abandoned buildings, and the positive energy of everyone there made for a rich, memorable experience. A Samba street party should be on everyone's itinerary. We can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeliaRioTours, Owner at Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you Patrick! It was absolutely great to meet you both. You did Rio right...a bit of planning ahead with plenty of room for spontaneity! We loved spending time getting to know you both and show you the city that we ourselves are so passionate about. Thanks for making us a part of your Brazil experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

I first met Lauren and Val for the backstreet samba night. They invited us into their beautiful home for homemade caipirinha's and really wonderful conversation! Lauren is incredibly knowledgeable about the ins and outs of Brazil and expresses such a love for the culture that it makes you want to explore it more yourself. After a few drinks, Val took us to a samba party! Everything about the samba party was appealing from the live music, to the intimate size of the bar to the positive vibes of the crowd. Highly recommend it!

I also did the hike to Morro Dois Irmaos with Val and that was one of the best things I've done in Rio so far. We took a motorcycle up through the Vidigal favela -- so fun and exhilarating! Then, we hiked for about an hour to the top of Dois Irmaos. Rio is such a beautiful city that its hard not to find a good view but these views were breathtaking! After the hike, we walked down through Vidigal for a more intimate look into the favela -- the street art is a must-see.

Overall, I can't say enough good things about my time with Lauren and Val. They're wonderful and the tours they offer will help shape your Rio experience! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank veronicampagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeliaRioTours, Owner at Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Thank you Veronica! Val and I loved getting to meet you, your mom and her wonderful friends. Your love of Rio is infectious and it could not have been more of a pleasure to share our Rio with you all. We are waiting for you in Brazil when you come back to this Tropical Paradise. Take care!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Brilliant night with Val who took us to Copa Libertadores match at Vasco's stadium, metro ride, a few beers, car to stadium and taxi back to hotel. A big, noisy crowd at game but both my wife and I (both in our 60's) felt safe in Val's company, very knowledgeable about world football and an excellent host. Also great communication from Lauren while arranging the evening. Highly recommend

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeliaRioTours, Owner at Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you Christopher! We are so glad that you loved your Local Brazilian Football Experience. Val is extremely passionate about Football and loves the opportunity to take visitors to a real game and experience the sport that defines Brazilian Culture! Thank you also for the lovely comment about our communication. As frequent world travelers ourselves, we understand the value of having quick responses, in your language so that you don't have to worry about what you are doing, but rather relax and enjoy the moment. You are welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

I travel a lot in the world and always look for tours of the local people in the city. I found the amazing Lauren and her husband who made us an amazing tour with full experiences in the city. They showed us hidden and special places. I wait and expect to come again next year.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 627hena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeliaRioTours, Owner at Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

We are also long time world travelers and have designed our local tours in Rio to feel as if you are being shown the city by a local friend! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experiences with us and know that it was equally a pleasure to spend time with you. Come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Thanks Bromelia Rio for arranging our Carnaval tickets, albeit a very short notice. From ticket pick-up to venue transfer, everything was seamless! Prices are very competitive as well. The ease and comfort we experienced whilst attending this major event was truly superior. Thank you Lauren!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank applebureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeliaRioTours, Owner at Bromelia Rio Travel & Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you kindly for making Bromelia Rio Travel a part of your Carnival Memories. We know how important it is to get good information, competitive rates and ease of trustworthy service while traveling. It was an absolute pleasure to make this event special for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews