We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beef I ever had”
Review of Mr. Lam

Mr. Lam
Ranked #56 of 13,783 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lagoa
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Best beef I ever had”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic place in Rio, nice to see a trendy place, you could be anywhere in the world.
Food is quite pricy so we had the set menu and that was excellent.
Beef was my favourite!
Service is very good too, best I had in a Chinese restaurant.
Definitely recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    191
    65
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food in a perfect atmosphere”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The satay chicken in unforgettable, as well as the Hum Ehgghi desert. It's one of my favorite deserts ever, one should definitely try it when going to Mr Lam for the first time. The restaurant is a little pricy but it's a spot where you'll see nice people, it's in front of Lagoa with a great view of the city and it has excellent food, so it's worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LudmilaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese out of China I've ever been. Basically excelent”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I went there for a business dinner. It is a good setting for both business dinners or special personal occasions. Service is very good, with a someone always ready to take your oreder or satisfy any requests you might have. We selected the crispy duck degustation menu...it is just mouth watering. Very well served, with several starters. The chicken satay is the most exquisite I've ever had, very different from anything i had all over asia. By the time the duck is served, i was already pretty satisfied with the meal. For drinks, we selected the finca Perdriel del Centenario, which was priced acceptably.
Certainly a must go for special occasions with a good partial view of the Lagoa!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NunoGoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything we taste was amazing and delicious!!! Chinese food in another level!! We had the degustation menu and loved!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LUCIANAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An elegant chinese”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amazing environment, the food is ok. I had a "Mr Lam" and my friends had a "Mr Bastista". Both were quite good, and you may have to order some of their fried rice. Atmosphere is great, Food is just ok, price is not that ok. Anyway, you won't find a better Chinese in town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PriBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Lam also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Mr. Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing