We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piratas de Ipanema
Nearby Hotels
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$154
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
18
7
13
3
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
7
13
3
16
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 57 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is truly amazing, cool crowd, friendly and helpfull staff! This is definently a place to stay in for a couple a days at least! Get the feeling of it and enjoy! Great location! Just give it a try you might like it, I sure did! And Sure its dirty but still worth it, the atmosphere makes up for the dirt! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boozliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If your looking for an awesome atmosphere and great people from all over the place, id recommend this place. The owners of this hostel go that extra mile to organise events for us like the beach hash which took place while we were there. The environment is very lively and everybody gets on. If you want to party and and have the best of both worlds (copaccabana and Ipanema) location wise id say go for it. Very basic but that wasnt a problem for us. Cheers Briao and Priscilla.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My group of 3 booked this hostel due to its location for New Years and reasonable price considering the time of year. However, We wish we had paid for a different hostel a block or two back. The description of the hostel is a complete misrepresentation, "24 hr hot showers" - a complete joke, it was freezing cold water and the state of the bathrooms were worse than a prison. "kitchen facilities" - well there is an oven and cook top, fridge and a collapsing table to sit on, we used it one night to cool spaghetti so I guess that's a plus, the "tv/sitting room"- it exists however, it is filled with guests sleeping on floor on blowup mattresses and no lighting or clean areas to sit. There is "wifi" so that's a second positive. The "swimming pool" depicted in the photographs of the hostel is non existent, instead it's a clothes drying line and place for where more guests were sleeping in tents on the floor of the "pool". We booked a 15 bed dorm, however we had 28 people sleeping in a bedbug infested,non ventilated and non secure room, which looked like the set to Waterwolrld with Kevin Costner.
Even if you were low on cash, I recommend sleeping on the beach or sleeping in the airport to avoid this hellhole.
It's rating is not correct on tripadvisor or any hostel booking site, it doesn't deserve more than half a star. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

ok so this is a hard place to review cz i dont want to give a bad review but i feel the need to be honest. me and my 2 mates stayed here over new years eve.i have spent the last 4 years travelling extensively staying at countless hostels...and i hate to say it but this one takes the cake as the worst.reasons:hygeine is disgusting, feels like the slums;seriously insane bed bug problem; we booked a 15bed dorm but had a 22 bed dorm (crazy) not to mention about 7 or 8 other people on the floor; no fans for the hot humid weather; little to no security; no hot water (which was ok as its so hot) but u feel like ur gna get a disease just by walking into the bathroom. on a plus (yes i guess it has 1 or 2) the location is perfect, you meet lots of people and the staff attempt to be nice and friendly but somewhat dont achieve what i think they are trying to whatever that may be. id recommend pay a lil more and stay elsewhere but it is an experience thats for sure!! i did survive afterall. good luck!

Room Tip: they dont have a good room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm not gonna lie, this place is not clean. Do not go here if you are squeamish. However, it is in an incredible location and it is dirt cheap. Also, there's a great atmosphere here and we met some great people.

If you've got a strong stomach and are a proper earthy traveller this is a great low cost option in an incredible location and will enable you to meet a lot of cool people.

But if you're a bit squeamish, either don't stay here too long, just until you made some friends, or only stay here if you're getting low on cash. Otherwise, you should probably just avoid.

Personally I'm very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews