We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jucati Season Apartments
Ranked #14 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It is so relaxed to have your "own" appartment in Rio / Copacabana.

Perfect location, just 5 blocks away from Copacabana boulevard.

The rooms/appartments are clean. All you need is there...

2 blocks away from the metro stration with a good connection to sugarloaf mountain and downtown Rio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECWL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    219
    53
    7
    3
See reviews for
129
84
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were disappointed by this place. The location was fine as it s only a few blocks from the beach, is near a supermarket and is well priced.

However it has a overall dreary feeling to it. The apartment was dark and dingy and really uk appealing.

There was very limited stuff to cook with. There was no washing up liquid or dish cloths or anything so for a few nights stay you have to buy your own as they don't wash things for you either.

The wifi was extremely painful, sometimes on, sometimes not, and then the last two days completely dead. The staff on reception whilst sometimes nice were mostly unhelpful and really didn't know how to deal with fixing the wifi.

The PCs at the business centre didn't work.

We also had banging next door on two of our days as they were doing some renovation work. No notice was given, no apology, nothing.

It's also weird that you can't pay by credit card.

Overall disappointed and would not return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location! Fruit market once a week just outside apartments! Excellent service!
If I ever get an opportunity to go to Rio one more time I would definitely go there.Greta Havaianas baazar near by. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a nice building, well located near Copacabana beach and very closed to Siqueira Campos metro station. The staff is nice and efficent. Dayly cleaned, the apartments is quite, nice (without any luxury furniture) and well functioning.
Only disadvantage: the policy of not allowing visitors. This may be understandable for security reasons, but it is not very nice if you have colleagues or friends to work with or just to entertain. They should follow a more liberal policy, registering in case the visitor at the front desk.
Prices are high, but this is a problem in Rio, anyway.

Room Tip: Bigger aptmens. at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The price was right but there was something about it that made me feel I wasn't on vacation. I almost felt as though I was a struggling middle class worker in a borderline safe neighbourhood in Rio. There were no tourists to be seen so it really does feel like an apartment. Some front desk staff were nice while others were completely rude. It was pretty far from the beach. I guess you get what you pay for. Just at $100 per night you would think you could do better. But that's Rio!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After finding a reasonably priced flight to Rio, the biggest dilemma was where to stay in an area that was safe, close to one of the main beaches, Copacabana or Ipanema and at a sensible price given Rio's apparent lack of 'budget' accommodation.

As it turned out the Jucati was absolutely perfect. From a safety perspective it was just one block away from the main road and every day and night a police car was parked at the corner of the hotel and Praca Edmundo Bitencourt, a play area/park right outside the hotel.

The Jucati is in a great location. It is little more than 5 blocks and 10-minutes or so walk to get to Copacabana beach. For those who wish to use public transport the Jucati is just 2 blocks away from the Siquera Campos Metro station which will take you down to Ipanema if you're lazy and can't be bothered to walk it, or mainly to stations in the Central, North areas. There are also many bus lines which go from the area, but good luck finding the right bus !

The room I was given had a double bed, living area with tv and fridge freezer, cooker and fair sized bathroom. If you wish to make use of the cooking facilities, there are plenty of shops around including a 24-hour supermarket a couple of blocks away close to the Metro station. All facilities functioned well including the Wi-Fi which other reviewers seem to have had a problem with. Mine worked fine all 7-days.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful if I had any questions. All had a good understanding of English which doesn't seem to be the case in many places visited in Rio. This was appreciated as my Portuguese is non existent !

My only gripe about the Jucati is the lack of credit card facility at the hotel. One thing every guide book will tell you is don't carry large amounts of money and don't withdraw money from ATM's that aren't located inside a bank. The closest ATM that accepted VISA is the supermarket, but it was not a good idea to draw a large amount there due to credit card fraud/skimmers. It took me a long time to find a bank that accepts VISA and this was a HSBC about a 20-25 minute walking from the hotel, and with a withdrawal maximum of 1000R$ a day it meant making two trips and two lots of exchange fees.

Finally, I must thank the hotel for their gesture of refunding me 1 night out of my stay. I booked 7 nights with Expedia although knowing full well my flight didn't arrive until 5.30am the morning after my 1st night booking. I just wanted to make sure I had a hotel room to go to after a 12 hour overnight flight. I fully expected to pay for all 7 nights anyway, but to my surprise the hotel kindly gave me a refund on the first night. They didn't have to do this but it was a fantastic and appreciated gesture.

I would have no hesitation in suggesting the Jucati to anybody who is visiting Rio, and if I go back this will certainly be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed only three nights in edificio jucati, but had difficult problems with the confirmation of my flight back home. One of the managers, Leonardo, helped me a lot with this problem, waiting two times up to about three quarters of one hour in on of these horrible telephone wait loops until he solved the problem for me. I found this was a very helpful and remarkable service.
My room (307) was amply, ervrything was working and clean (kitchen, fridge, shower etc), but the furniture is a bit simple. The location is good, (super-)markets near, copacabana beach a 10 minutes walk away.
Volker, Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#142 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
483 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,245 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
#64 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,378 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Rio
Hotel Atlantico Rio
#13 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
924 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
#31 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucati Season Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucati Season Apartments

Property: Jucati Season Apartments
Address: Rua Tenente Marones de Gusmao 85, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucati Season Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jucati Season Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Jucati Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Jucati Season Apartments Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing