We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jucati Season Apartments
Ranked #14 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in these apartments for a weekend. We really liked the staff at the desk and the service was good in general. Room was kept clean, beds made daily. More expensive than a hostel but cheaper than a hotel. The place seems like its about to be renewed or needed a coat of paint on the room doors, but it wasn't old or tattered. Not particularly romantic but ok to stay with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

We wanted to stay close to the beaches during our family vacation in Rio. Browsing the hotels of Copacabana, Ipanema & Lebon it became clear that this could become a hit on our budget if we had to get 2 rooms for the 4 of us. I found Jucati apartments through Tripadvisor as one of the alternatives to a hotel and that proved a good choice.
Jucanti is a large block of apartments that are being rented by the day. Room and hallways are clean and light. The rooms themselves are pretty basic, separate room with 2 single beds and super small badroom + 1 room with bunk beds and the tiny kitchen. If you want you can warm something or take care of your own breakfast. Since they are renting apartments there is no breakfast served.
It wasn’t too warm when we visited so we didn’t have to keep the airco on all night. That would have been impossible anyway due to the noise it was making.
Location: super location, close to one of the Metro stops and couple of blocks away from Copacabana beach. It’s located on a quite square with a children’s playground and lots of trees. A big exception in Rio. Be Aware: Taxis have a hard time to find this place, luckily I had printed my own detailed plan and could help the taxi drivers find the place.
For us this was a good alternative for the high Rio prices. You get what you pay for: no luxury, simple clean rooms, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is an apartment complex, this isn't a hotel and nor do they pretend to be. The location is excellent, as it is less than a 10 minute stroll to the Copacabana beach and the metro is 4-5 minutes away.

The rooms were large and well furnished. They were cleaned every day and the facilities to prepare your own meals were more than adequate. The apartment was expensive by the standards of the rest of our South America trip, but while looking for places in Rio we realised it was about par.

Also, the Wi-Fi had recently been made free for use.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Finding a hotel in Rio during Carnaval was a challenge but we were pleasantly surprised to find the Jucati Apartment Hotel. It appears to be a converted apartment building - there is a patio in the center with tables and chairs. We were post cruise just spending one night... the two of us had a family suite, on the first floor, but we were glad just to have space for the night. The location of the hotel is great - a quiet neighborhood across the street from a park - and a 10 minute stroll to Copacabana beach.
Our suite was spacious - two bedrooms (two twin bunks in one and a double bed with nightstand, closets in the second), bath with shower, kitchenette with full size stove, table wear, coffee maker, fridge and sink; and a living room with big television and table with chairs for 6. There was a safe in the master bedroom. There were towels, sheets, soap and hair dryer provided (is this standard for hostels? I don't have experience with them.). The rooms were clean but basic. The beds were comfortable. Our suite was not air conditioned, but there were overhead fans in the bedrooms and a floor fan in the living room. Had we been there a few days before, we might not have been comfortable, but there was a break in the summer weather this week and we were okay with the fans.
The front desk folks are bilingual and were giving a lot of advice regarding busses, restaurants, and activities to their guests. There are two computers in the lobby area (for a fee - we didn't use so I don't know cost) and a water filter - we were advised not to drink the tap water as the pipes are old and metal.
Be advised that they do not accept credit cards but will direct you to the closest ATM which is at the close by full service grocer.
If you require a lot of creature comforts, this hotel is probably not what will make you happy. But I think for a family or friends who would like a clean extended stay place, the Jucati will be a good pick. I would return for the location and cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: Probably away from the street would have been more quiet, but we were not bothered by the noise - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, well located (10 min walk from the beach, 5 from the tube) and cheap, if you decide to rent a car it's easy to find a space and park for free on the street. (Be aware of zero tolerance of drink driving alcahool in Brazil, you might be caught in Rio, specially at night.)

We stayed in a small apt on the ground floor without A/C, but with a ceiling fan, although it was begining of February we didn't miss the A/C in the apt. The kitchen and fridge are small but suitable for a couple.

The staff are very polite and friendly, answering all the regular question about touristc attractions and how to get there.

That was my second time in this hotel, the only diference from three year ago is that I had to pay an small amount to access the wi-fi.

I really recommend this hotel and I'll be there for the next times that I go to Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good size appts. £ of us and we had twin room with bunks in dining area.

Air con, fridge, supermarket close by so good for self catering.

Lift to all floors. Internet - must be paid for but cheap.

Lots hot water and wardrobe space. hairdryer.

Very well situated for beach, shops and buses to all areas. Staff very helpful.

Recommend, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

If you are looking for a cheap and well located place to stay in Rio, Jucati apartments are an option to consider. Copacaban beach is a 10 min walk, it is near shops , restaurants and main avenues making it easy to catch a bus to any of the main tourist spots.The nearest metro station is about 3 mins away. The room was basic but clean, with aircon , tv cable, fridge-freezer, stove and kitchen utensils. The hot water, however, was barely hot. If it had been winter, this would have been a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Rio
Hotel Atlantico Rio
#103 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
987 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
848 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#142 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Pousada da Bruna
Pousada da Bruna
#78 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
87 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
#47 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
119 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucati Season Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucati Season Apartments

Address: Rua Tenente Marones de Gusmao 85, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $35 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucati Season Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jucati Season Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Jucati Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Jucati Season Apartments Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing