We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jucati Season Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jucati Season Apartments
Ranked #11 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shawnee Mission, KS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Finding a hotel in Rio during Carnaval was a challenge but we were pleasantly surprised to find the Jucati Apartment Hotel. It appears to be a converted apartment building - there is a patio in the center with tables and chairs. We were post cruise just spending one night... the two of us had a family suite, on the first floor, but we were glad just to have space for the night. The location of the hotel is great - a quiet neighborhood across the street from a park - and a 10 minute stroll to Copacabana beach.
Our suite was spacious - two bedrooms (two twin bunks in one and a double bed with nightstand, closets in the second), bath with shower, kitchenette with full size stove, table wear, coffee maker, fridge and sink; and a living room with big television and table with chairs for 6. There was a safe in the master bedroom. There were towels, sheets, soap and hair dryer provided (is this standard for hostels? I don't have experience with them.). The rooms were clean but basic. The beds were comfortable. Our suite was not air conditioned, but there were overhead fans in the bedrooms and a floor fan in the living room. Had we been there a few days before, we might not have been comfortable, but there was a break in the summer weather this week and we were okay with the fans.
The front desk folks are bilingual and were giving a lot of advice regarding busses, restaurants, and activities to their guests. There are two computers in the lobby area (for a fee - we didn't use so I don't know cost) and a water filter - we were advised not to drink the tap water as the pipes are old and metal.
Be advised that they do not accept credit cards but will direct you to the closest ATM which is at the close by full service grocer.
If you require a lot of creature comforts, this hotel is probably not what will make you happy. But I think for a family or friends who would like a clean extended stay place, the Jucati will be a good pick. I would return for the location and cleanliness and service.

Room Tip: Probably away from the street would have been more quiet, but we were not bothered by the noise - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    216
    53
    7
    3
See reviews for
128
84
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, well located (10 min walk from the beach, 5 from the tube) and cheap, if you decide to rent a car it's easy to find a space and park for free on the street. (Be aware of zero tolerance of drink driving alcahool in Brazil, you might be caught in Rio, specially at night.)

We stayed in a small apt on the ground floor without A/C, but with a ceiling fan, although it was begining of February we didn't miss the A/C in the apt. The kitchen and fridge are small but suitable for a couple.

The staff are very polite and friendly, answering all the regular question about touristc attractions and how to get there.

That was my second time in this hotel, the only diference from three year ago is that I had to pay an small amount to access the wi-fi.

I really recommend this hotel and I'll be there for the next times that I go to Rio.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Good size appts. £ of us and we had twin room with bunks in dining area.

Air con, fridge, supermarket close by so good for self catering.

Lift to all floors. Internet - must be paid for but cheap.

Lots hot water and wardrobe space. hairdryer.

Very well situated for beach, shops and buses to all areas. Staff very helpful.

Recommend, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

If you are looking for a cheap and well located place to stay in Rio, Jucati apartments are an option to consider. Copacaban beach is a 10 min walk, it is near shops , restaurants and main avenues making it easy to catch a bus to any of the main tourist spots.The nearest metro station is about 3 mins away. The room was basic but clean, with aircon , tv cable, fridge-freezer, stove and kitchen utensils. The hot water, however, was barely hot. If it had been winter, this would have been a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay and explore Rio for a few days if you are looking for something nice and clean, without luxurious additions. Our apt had a double bed and a bunk bed (perfect for 4 people). There was also a small kitchen in the apt with all the utensils, pots, etc. and a huge fridge if you want to have breakfast or dinner at the apt. The location is perfect: there is a small park right in front of the apt building, commercial streets nearby, and Copacabana beach is 10-15min away walking.

It is quite difficult to find a place like this one in Rio. We were paying almost the same in a really unpleasant hostel in Ipanema, and we decided to move in here our last night in Rio. I wish we had moved here before!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingstoneIPresume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Actually this is not a bad apartment. Staff were nice and helpful. The room was big, you will have a living room, bedroom and a little kitchen. However, it is not really useful for me as I was travelling alone. The bedroom was clean, however, the bathroom was not. And the worst thing was they did not have hot water in the shower (even the staff told me they have)! It was winter in July, although weather was warm, I still hope to enjoy a warm shower after my long travelling day. Also, there were small bugs in the bathroom...Walls were thin, you will heard noise from others during the night. Since it was my first time to Rio, it was hard for me to compare if it is worth for the price I paid to get this hotel...

But the location of the hotel was good. it was just 2 blocks to the metro and another 2 blocks to the main street of Copacabana. I think it should be a safe place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porciatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was one of the more inexpensive options in Rio for a private ensuite room, and worked out really well for us. Its simple, without a lot of frills, but the rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and it was located in a cute neighborhood very close to the Metro and to a supermarket. The latter came in extremely handy as we were able to cook inside the apartment and keep the fridge stocked. The outside lacks a little curb appeal and hallways could use a little brightening up, but we would recommend this place for any traveler on a budget - - couples or students. Plus, it took only about 15 minutes to walk to Copacabana beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#137 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#36 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#56 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucati Season Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucati Season Apartments

Property: Jucati Season Apartments
Address: Rua Tenente Marones de Gusmao 85, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucati Season Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Jucati Season Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Jucati Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Jucati Season Apartments Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing