We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but fun place”
Review of The LightHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The LightHouse
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at this hostel near the end of my trip when I was craving a bit less craze and a little more sleep. Lighthouse was great in that regard. The location is lovely, the people running the place were great, and the travelers I met were great. It certainly seems like it's a hostel targeted more toward the 26-34 age demographic and so I thought the place was great. Sylvia is charming as can be, and was fun to just sit around with and chat with and learn from. I highly suggest checking this place out!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for The LightHouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

I can't say anything bad about this place! The staff are really friendly and the owner, Sylvia, will do anything to make your stay better! Breakfast is provided and you can get a Wi-Fi password for very cheap! Tours can be organised through the hostel very easily! There is an 8 bed dorm with air conditioner and one private room with no air conditioner! We stayed in the 8 bed dorm and it was fine! The beach is 2 or 3 streets away and there are plenty of shops and cages around the area! Supermarket is very close so we bought some supplies to cook up a storm in the kitchen!
If we ever return to Ipanema we will always try and stay at The Lighthouse! And there are definitely NO bed bugs!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was my first experience of a hostel, and it was a good one. Lovely location, helpful and friendly staff (although some volunteered lots of really helpful information, with others we had to ask more specific questions), lots of English spoken by the main hostel staff, and we also met lots of other guests which really added to the experience.

The dormitory is quite small but air conditioned, and with comfy, clean beds. The bathrooms are a little small but ok. Some days they were beautifully clean, other days less so. Breakfast is good (although not served until 9, which felt a bit late if you want to go out before it gets too hot). The night porter makes excellent coffee in the morning :-)

Would definitely stay here if I came back to Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandaPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in Mar Ipanema Hotel in Ipanema. It's an expensive hotel with nice rooms.The downside of the hotel was that in order to sell their own tourist tours they witheld information on where to go.
To solve the problem we went to the Lighthoouse hostel and asked if they could help us.
They were just brilliant.The two girls there sat with us for 30 minutes and told us everything we needed to go and how to go about it.
It@ a lovely place with great atmosphere and super people.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank morgansgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in October 2011. It was my first time staying in a hostel so I didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly suprised. The location is great. It is two blocks from the beach and one block from the main street in Ipanema. It is down a gated alleyway which gives a little extra security.

The staff in the hostel were great for advice on attractions, restaurants, transport etc. On our first day they sat us down with a map to give us our bearings and explained the best times to do things, how to get there and also gave us a list of recommended restaurants. We booked the favela tour and our return airport transfers through them.

Its a small hostel with only 1 dorm and a private double room. We stayed in the private double. Very basic room but clean, good location and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hostel is being reviewed very highly and it is in a great location and the staff are really really friendly and helpful, which is important in Rio...but, just so people are aware, this is totally a backpackers and the hostel is a little run down and the kitchen/breakfast area is tiny. We stayed in the private room and we were happy with it, a perfect place to base yourself as a backpacker, sight-seeing everyday etc. The noise from the kitchen woke us bright an early at about 7am every morning, but it was fine as we were jet lagged and awake anyway! Overall a nice place, but not amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hostel made our trip to Rio amazing! The staff is incredibly helpful. When you first arrive, they give you a map on which they have marked popular restaurants, all of the main sites, the buses you should use to get there, and basically all of the details you would want about Rio. We ran into a small incident in Rio where we had our IDs and credit cards stolen. Enrique was right on everything and helped us so much. Too bad he's leaving! But I can tell that Ivan will be a great replacement.
The Lighthouse is a small and friendly hostel. After just two days there, we already felt like we had a new family. I think the atmosphere of the hostel really helps to encourage that.
Sylvia is amazing and always kept us entertained when we were too hungover to move in the morning. She's a sweetheart and really treats her guests as friends.
I had absolutely no complaints about The Lighthouse. It was basically the perfect hostel and had anything you could ever need! I lived in South America for a year and have never felt compelled to write a review until this hostel came along. Stay there!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kendy_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel
Mojito Hostel
#108 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
73 reviews
Copacabana
Walk On The Beach Hostel
Walk On The Beach Hostel
#78 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
154 reviews
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Janeiro
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Ja...
#99 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#7 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
608 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure House
Adventure House
#73 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
246 reviews
Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
#35 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LightHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LightHouse

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 | Casa 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $17 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute, small and quiet place located within Ipanema, one of the most beautiful and well-known areas of Rio de Janeiro. Only 3 blocks from the beach surrounded by a wealth of restaurants, shops and of course bars and clubs. We have a gorgeous double room and 8 bed mixed dormitory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The LightHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The LightHouse Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing