We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff”
Review of The LightHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The LightHouse
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hostel is being reviewed very highly and it is in a great location and the staff are really really friendly and helpful, which is important in Rio...but, just so people are aware, this is totally a backpackers and the hostel is a little run down and the kitchen/breakfast area is tiny. We stayed in the private room and we were happy with it, a perfect place to base yourself as a backpacker, sight-seeing everyday etc. The noise from the kitchen woke us bright an early at about 7am every morning, but it was fine as we were jet lagged and awake anyway! Overall a nice place, but not amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 83 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hostel made our trip to Rio amazing! The staff is incredibly helpful. When you first arrive, they give you a map on which they have marked popular restaurants, all of the main sites, the buses you should use to get there, and basically all of the details you would want about Rio. We ran into a small incident in Rio where we had our IDs and credit cards stolen. Enrique was right on everything and helped us so much. Too bad he's leaving! But I can tell that Ivan will be a great replacement.
The Lighthouse is a small and friendly hostel. After just two days there, we already felt like we had a new family. I think the atmosphere of the hostel really helps to encourage that.
Sylvia is amazing and always kept us entertained when we were too hungover to move in the morning. She's a sweetheart and really treats her guests as friends.
I had absolutely no complaints about The Lighthouse. It was basically the perfect hostel and had anything you could ever need! I lived in South America for a year and have never felt compelled to write a review until this hostel came along. Stay there!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kendy_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Lighthouse Hostel is amazing. Bright and welcoming the Lighthouse is at the end of a quiet courtyard lined with hostels. This one truly is saving the best for last. You will be greeting by enthusiastic and helpful staff who will be able to explain fun things to do and help you book tours, see sights, etc. Enrique and Ron were extremely helpful and Ron even went out with some of the guests to a local bar.

There is an 8 bed dorm and one private room. Everything is very clean and, being at the end of the courtyard, very quiet at night. The courtyard also has a security guard to ensure safety.

I stayed in another hostel in Rio de Janeiro during my vacation and it was not even as close to being as good as this one.

Room Tip: One 8 bed dorm and one private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HamiltonTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just back from spending 4 nights at The Lighthouse hostel and it certainly lived up to my expectations. It is located in a very good , safe area in Ipanema, just 2 blocks from the beach and right beside plently of good restauarants and bars. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly, particularly Enrique and Christine and they provide excellent advice on where to go and what to do and how to go about doing it etc. Take their advice on where is good to go on particular nights out too as they know which places will be busy on particular nights. The rooms are all kept very clean. There is also a fridge stocked with drinks that you can take when you feel like and add on to your bill which is handy for being able to sit outside and have a few drinks with the other residents. I had a great time at this hostel and hopefully if I come back to Rio I will try and stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belfastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in the 8 bed mixed dorm with a shared bathroom. We arrived in Rio earlier than we had planned and so, we had to stay in another hostel for 2 nights previous to staying here, we couldn't have been more glad to move to such a great place! The hostel is located up an alleyway which has quite a few other hostels along it as well. It feels really safe as the gate at the end of the alley is locked at night and there is a night watchman in the hostel itself too. Ipanema itself felt like a great area with lots of good shopping, restaurants, bars and cinemas. Because this hostel is so small, it felt really homely and it was easy to socialise with the other guests. The room was a good size and we were able to store our big rucksacks underneath the beds. There were lockers just outside the room as well for smaller belongings. The bathroom was always kept clean and always had hot water. The staff all spoke very good English so they were able to advise us on all the great things to see in Rio. Enrique greeted us and gave us a brilliant map with everything written on it that we could possibly need, and this was invaluable to our stay here. Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of bread, cheese and fresh fruit as well as coffee and tea. The communal lounge area was really nice for just relaxing in if you neede a rest from the bustling city outside! The main attractions like Christ and Sugarloaf are easily accessible by bus with the bus stop just being one block away. Ipanema beach was also only 2 blocks away which was ideal. We really enjoyed our stay here and it was the perfect ending to our 7 month around the world trip.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I love this place. It feels like home in Rio. The staff here are amazing and so helpful, they go way beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome and to ensure you get the most from your time in Rio.

The hostel is open again after some minor renovations. It's in a very safe street in Rio. Close to lots of essential amenities. Good restaurants, bars and shops are all close by.

The subway is only a short 5 minute walk from the hostel as is a decent supermarket.

Ipanema beach front is a few blocks away. Fantastic if you fancy a lazy day on the beach or taking a splash in the sea.

This is the only place I would stay when visiting Rio.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We did lot of research for somewhere to stay in Rio as we were concerned about safety and this was our lost stop after an 18 month trip so we did not want to get robbed after all that time. After reading other reviews and personnal recomendations we stayed at the lighthouse. We could not get 3 nights so we stayed next door first and then moved. We were welcomed straight away by Enrique and given a detailed map, do's and dont's, where to go etc... which made us more relaxed and at ease. The rooms are spacious, light and the air con actually works! Its only a very small hostel so you get to know all the others staying there and we made some good friends whilst there. Lockers were provided and secruity is great on hostel row as they kick everyone off the street at 10, to make sure it's quiet so if you want to get an early night you can. We wanted to go to Lapa street party, Enrique personally came with us on the tube, took us to the best parties and bars, it was so good to have a local there. He even made us cocktails before we left! He is such a legend! We met Sylvia the morning we were due to check out but we had heard so many good things we felt we already knew her! She was sooo friendly and helpfull.Our flight was not till late but she let us keep our baggage and have showers after we came back from the beach. Anyway all in all a great, safe freindly place to stay. Just make sure you book early as its fills up quick!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel
Mojito Hostel
#118 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
80 reviews
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Janeiro
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Ja...
#92 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
15 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#3 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
224 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
516 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure House
Adventure House
#75 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LightHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LightHouse

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 | Casa 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 835 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $17 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute, small and quiet place located within Ipanema, one of the most beautiful and well-known areas of Rio de Janeiro. Only 3 blocks from the beach surrounded by a wealth of restaurants, shops and of course bars and clubs. We have a gorgeous double room and 8 bed mixed dormitory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The LightHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The LightHouse Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing