We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful experience in the heart of Santa Teresa District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 274 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in the heart of Santa Teresa District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Teresa in Rio de Janeiro for 4 nights, at the beginning of May 2014. The district is among the most authentic of the city, rich in carioca history and colors. The hotel is wonderful, elegant, decorated with a unique style. Our room, located at the first floor, was impeccable, with a delicious view over the city. The Tereze restaurant, where we had dinner, serves unique dishes, both for their refinement and quality. We highly recommend the delicious steak. The pool is a little oasis of peace. It has been a dream... Congratulations to the management. We will come back, one day ...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo_Chiara_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Paolo,

Thank you so much for share your experience.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and relaxed in our hotel.
At the restaurant Térèze we served the best flavors from Brazil.

We hope to see you soon at Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa Hotel.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    228
    88
    38
    23
See reviews for
97
575
68
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just came back from World Cup in Rio.
I must say that even if the atmosphere in Rio was great my second stay at this Relais & Chateaux was "superbe"!
What was a good stay last year turned into a great one this July!
Perhaps the city and its "cariocas" helped a lot in this particular time but the staff and the service were superlative!
The Térèze Chef changed from a french to a argentinian (!) but the cuisine followed and improved!
My great obstacle to a perfect stay was the mess in the streets surrounding the hotel as the city mayor is struggling to leave Santa Teresa as a bad destination! Shame on you Mr Mayor, the Hotel Santa Teresa deserves better!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyCrane0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Danny,

Thank you for choose stay at Hotel Santa Teresa again.
Was an honor for us welcome you during the World Cup.
We were very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you in your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to hotel santa teressa on the last 3 nights of our trip in Brasil Salvador/iguacu/rio. We were amazed by the presidential suite offered to us.
This suite really amazed us we are use to five stars but the presidential suite was more like having your own apartment with a breathtaking view of rio.
We loved the craftsmanship they had in the suite for decoration from minha gerais.
The breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of Rio.
The pool was just perfect for a lazy aftenoon.
The staff was very friendly especially Akio who looked after us during our all stay.

We will comeback soon : )

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maghnia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very happy to know that you liked the upgrade we gave you as a surprise and took our presidential suite.
We always do the best for our guests and our team was very happy to receive you.
We hope to see you soon in the Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We heard how good the food was at this hotels restaurant so thought we would try it out whilst staying close by for the Football World cup. We where not disappointed. In fact, we returned the next day for breakfast. The ambiance and location are very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Gateway,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant.

We hope to see you again at our Hotel and restaurant.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great hotel, located in the charming and fashionable top-hill district of Santa Teresa.
The view from the outdoor dinner terrace is absolutely superb.
Can't think of any other places to stay in Rio...

Room Tip: The best room of all is the penthouse suite, listed among the best 100 suites in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenella_rota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
For us it was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy to know that enjoyed your time at our hotel and santa teresa.

We hope to see you in your next coming to Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am still dreaming about my time at Hotel Santa Teresa & Le Spa. What an incredible experience! I booked my spa reservation several months in advance since I was traveling during the World Cup, and Ana, the Le Spa General Manager, was incredibly helpful. From the moment of my first inquiry to hugging Ana goodbye, every detail of my experience at Hotel Santa Teresa was perfect.

The hotel is absolutely stunning, and is located in the eclectic and bohemian neighborhood of Santa Teresa, which is reminiscent of Montemarte in Paris. The breathtaking views from the hotel's luxurious pool overlook Rio and monkeys in the trees. This was my favorite neighborhood in Rio de Janiero, full of incredible art, architecture ,music, restaurants and unique shops. I bought Brazilian hand-made area rugs from the Amazon as gifts for only $5USD in a shop just down the street from the hotel!

My experience at the spa was incredibly luxurious, and I was treated like royalty from the start. Private transportation from my vacation rental apartment was provided at an additional charge which was very convenient. When I arrived, I had the spa to myself it seemed, and I loved it. Having my own private bathroom with a shower was very nice.

I booked the Signature Day Spa package which consisted of a body scrub followed by a relaxing bath in the hot tub. Next, it was the Signature massage and a facial treatment which was heavenly. Last was the mud body mask which left my skin feeling brand new. The aromatherapy bath was one of the best things I have ever experienced at a spa, so definitely do not hesitate to book this package. I ended the absolutely perfect day with an hour in the warm sun by the pool.

Hotel Santa Teresa was definitely one of the highlights of my 8 day trip to Rio, and I am looking forward to the day I get to visit again. Big thanks to Ana and the entire staff for a really wonderful experience. The hospitality of the staff, the luxurious pool, the breathtaking views and the gorgeous hotel make this one of the most wonderful places in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Melissa,

Delighted to know that you kept such beautiful memories of your stay in our hotel.
We were very happy to know that massage at the spa made ​​you so well.
The entire staff at Hotel Santa Teresa would like to see you again soon with us.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed there for only one night for a family function in the area. The hotel is beautiful, the staff attentive and the views from the bar by the swimming pool simply breathtaking. It feels very exclusive. All in all a very good hotel and stay but there's room for improvement though, especially for the very high price you pay. The room lacked ordinary glasses, there were only champagne glasses. The burger I ordered for example was no good at all as the meat felt grainy and dry. There was also an issue with taxi service, and this is aimed at the hotel. When I asked staff for a taxi to go to the nearby party we were attending they immediately said that cabs didn't like being called for short rides and "suggested" a car service for R$20, well that's more than I had paid for the ride from the downtown airport to the hotel. On the way back from the party to the hotel it did take a while to find an available taxi, but is cost us R$9!!! Unfortunately this is Rio, where people try to rip you off whenever a chance comes around...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafabozzolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our website.
We Glad that you and your family took advantage of the amazing view from our pool.
We are dedicated to offer the best to our guests and therefore always offer normal taxis and private car options.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,979 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,873 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#2 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#29 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel

Property: Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino, 660, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Santa Teresa)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Teresa M Gallery by Sofitel, in the heart of Santa Teresa neighborhood, offers direct access to the economic hubs of the city, such as Avenida Rio Branco, Botafogo beach, Marina da Gloria, only 10 minutes away from Santos Dumont Airport. It is also close to all the main tourist attractions, such as Christ the Redeemer, Sugarloaf Mountain, Lapa district, Ruins park, Selaron steps, Santa Teresa tram, plus Copacabana, Leme, Ipanema, Leblon and Barra da Tijuca beaches. It has 44 rooms beautifully decorated with Brazilian design furniture, connected to gardens filled with exotic plants and birds, Le Spa, a serenity escape in the middle of Rio de Janeiro, a pool with a breathtaking view of the city, our Bar dos Descasados, known for receiving a loyal and cool crowd , and last but not least Restaurant Tereze with its contemporary Brazilian gastronomy, ranked as one of the best hotel’s restaurants of Rio de Janeiro. Extras of this hotel Hotel Santa Teresa is a hotel boutique with only 44 apartments and suites, 2 meeting rooms allocating up to 120 people, space and advisory for weddings and social events, pool lounge area, bar, restaurant and spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais And Chateaux
Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing