We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go only if you are exclusively in the local scene!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lapa 40 Graus

Lapa 40 Graus
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Lapa Pub Crawl and Caipirinha Making Class
Ranked #4 of 137 Nightlife in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go only if you are exclusively in the local scene!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good music, but without the heavy samba beats (which is more to my liking a matter of taste I guess)
Quick entry but B$40 for cover with no drinks was steep
Couple of floors with the 1st floor being relaxed music, the 2nd being a bar and pool table, the real excitement is on the 3rd floor with what I would describe as Brazilian country music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ComeFlyWithMe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    247
    66
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Samba Forro all kind of brazilian music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lapa district is the place to be for nightlife in Rio. Lapa 40 graus is a three floor building with pool tables and one main dancing floor on the last floor.If you wanna enjoy Rio go there espcially on weekends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georges M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Crappest place ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the worst place i have ever been. Reading the reviews it sounded like we were set for an awesome night full of sweaty samba dancing locals, loud bands and great atmosphere. We went on a SATURDAY night, at about midnight and paid 70 reis (40 male 30 female) the ground floor lacked energy and people. There was DJ music so we ventured upstairs. On the second floor were just loads of pool tables and a bunch of people in their late 40s playing. We got to the top floor and there WAS a pretty good band with horns etc but seems like we caught the end of their set because they were playing american songs like bruno mars. Plus heres the weirdest thing... There were around 5 'official' dancers with black tops on (male) and an old man shouting to people down a microphone. Then what happened was basically a strange line dancing crossed with born again christian style hand clapping dancing. Everyone seemed to love it bar us!
Either we caught the end of aomething that an hour ago was booming or we just dont get it!
To us it just felt like we had stumbled across a community centre!

Helpful?
3 Thank sparkly_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio_For_Partiers, Public Relations Manager at Lapa 40 Graus, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
hi SparklyEyes,
it seems you arrived late. That causes the guest to be out of sync with the party. Saturdays we have brazilian rock until midnight, then we switch to live samba dancing. This is when Carlinho's(the old man you mentioned, coincidentally Brazils most famous samba dancer) samba show starts: he gets 5 of his best dancers to lead the floor while he rowls up the crowd to line dance to his moves. This is one form of samba partying (a carnival parade is another form and so is samba-circle).

The fact that everyone was loving it, like you said, says it all.

What I do whenever I visit different parties around the world is I keep an open mind and try to get in sync with the spirit of the event, not the other way around.
So check us out again, with different sunglasses, and we are sure you'll have a blast. And arrive early, like 9pm!
Cheers!
Cristiano
Rio for Partiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,176 reviews
795 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
“Best Club in Lapa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lapa 40 Graus its another 3 floor bar that mixes dancefloors with a bar lounge and pool tables. The club is focus in adults above 25 rather than 18 years old specially on weekends. On Fridays and Saturdays, the place is packed with locals than enjoy the occasional band and the typical brazilian funky music.

As every place in Lapa, the dresscode is not as strict as other places but you will look like a fool with flip flops and inapropiate shorts in a place like this. You need an ID of any kind and they will give you an electronic card for purchases inside that you will have to settle at the end of the night. This system is very popular now a days in Brazil but I personally hate it cause its very easy to get scam.

Still the place has a lot of style and the music is very good. The drinks are not as expensive as other places and it has a very nice environment to meet locals and have fun!! Just be careful in the area around the bar cause Lapa is not the safest place in Rio.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They card! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to let everyone know that they card here so make sure not to forget your passport! Me and my friend went and couldnt get in. Also, the dress is nice but nothing super fancy or you will look out of place. In general, i found Lapa to be pretty relaxed in dress compared to some other clubs/neighborhoods i have been to.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio_For_Partiers, Public Relations Manager at Lapa 40 Graus, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
hi Mary, yes! all clubs in Rio now card! 18 and over only!
cheers!
cristiano
rio for partiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Lapa 40 Graus also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Lapa 40 Graus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing